We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the Gare de Lyon”
Review of Hotel de Reims

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Reims
Ranked #1,125 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient for the Gare de Lyon”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

As with most of our recent trips to Paris, we only needed this hotel as a convenient stop-over for a night before departing early the next morning from the Gare de Lyon. We chose this mostly because of its convenient location about 7-10 minutes walk from the station (with luggage). Although it is located at the end of a slightly insalubrious street, the hotel itself is of decent quality - the room was not claustrophobically small and most importantly for Parisien summers, we had good air-conditioning! Wifi access was also free and reasonably fast. The slightly offputting thing was that we arrived on a Sunday and the only lift had broken down, which meant that we had to haul our luggage up 4 flights of spiralling and slightly vertiginous stairs. If we had any large, check-in baggage, this would have been a serious problem but luckily we were travelling light. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because of the proliferation of good, cheap cafes nearby. It's not a bad budget hotel at all and if we have the occasion to stay near the Gare de Lyon again, we'd probably stay here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Don't expect a good view from the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    169
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
56
108
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming hotel near the Gare de Lyon and in a quiet street. I had chosen this hotel because I was leaving for the south of France by TGV the next day. I had previously emailed them to say that I would be arriving early before noon and they had my room ready, which was greatly appreciated. In fact the quality of the service here is exceptionally good. The room was small, but not untypical for Paris, comfortable and in pale yellows and greens - very calming. The continental breakfast was fine. Make sure you have a detailed map of the area. I got slightly lost leaving the Gare de Lyon metro, but the advantage in doing so is that I got to see a bit more of the area then I had intended. This proved a help when choosing a restaurant at which to eat in the evening. A few streets away there seemed to be an open air market in the mornings, but I am not sure if it is there everyday, or just on Fridays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way back from italy on the TGV. A five to seven minute trundle, if you are dragging suitcases, from Gare De Lyon.
We were met by a very nice receptionist and checked in. We were offered breakfast and initially declined as we had an early start to get across Paris for an early morning Eurostar. I explained that we would be up too early but they offered to allow us an early start breakfast so the deal was done, room and brekkie.
They offered to book a taxi for us to take us over to the Gare Du Nord, recommended a good restaurant nearby (Le Temps Moderne, try it, it's good!) and showed us to Room 1, our triple room for the night.
The room was impressively large and was well laid out, in fact almost two rooms in one with a double bed in the main room and a single (not a put-u-up) in an inner room (no door but an open archway and dividing wall between the two). The single part of the room had a skylight which we opened to let in some air (the room seemed to be above the heating room in the basement and was quite warm - not a problem as it was a cool night) That part of the room also had french doors to a small enlcosed courtyard which also leads off the main hotel foyer. A good sized 'wet room' completed our facilities.
A great room for an overnighter and good value for three. As this room is on the ground floor next to reception it does get a little nosiy when others are coming and going and operating the lift but don't let it put you off. If you enjoy Paris you'll be worn out from sight seeing and too tired to care.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshWonder47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Reception was nice and friendly. Typical of small Paris hotels only food was continental breakfast - didn't try as hotel is surrounded by cafes etc. Room was small, but immaculately clean - window looked at a wall opposite but that isn't an issue as the Seine is only a few minutes walk away. Only 2 minutes from the metro and surrounded by good restaurants and bars - and the area around Gare de lyon is very pleasant and cheaper than a lot of other Parisian areas and felt perfectly safe even late a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A small, pleasant hotel with helpful staff. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. Handily situated in a fairly quiet part of Paris although only a short walk from the buzz and close to Gare de Lyon and metro. A good place to stay - recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horseyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hector Malot is a confusing street, and Gare de Lyon is huge, so it took me more than five minutes to shlep myself to the hotel; however, check-in was painless and the room was quite clean. Bedroom part was spacious enough to maneuver around easily; bathroom was pretty tight -- fine for a slim solo traveler, but I wouldn't want to share it. It was shower-only; tiles were a peculiar wood-grain pattern, but water pressure was nice and hot and stall had plexiglass doors (not something I take for granted in cheap hotels!). Noise was usual level for small urban hotel -- some street noise, some sounds from hallway, but nothing overly disruptive. WiFi free but very slow (you have to register through a third-party service, Noodo), so that would have been a downside if staying here for business; since I was here only overnight, it was not a big deal. AMEX card didn't work the next morning, so I ended up paying cash; the clerks' tags helpfully indicate which languages they speak, and I think every one I encountered was trilingual (French, English, and Arabic).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mechaieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stopped over for one night between a late Eurostar and a mid morning TGV to Dijon. The whole hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful although the confusion over how much we should be paying in the morning was unexpected. We did panic as we walked up the street in the dark and could see no sign, especially since the view on G*maps shows the refurbishment! Once there and checked in we asked about restaurants and Le Viaduc was suggested. Even with the window open slightly the room was quiet. Breakfast was fine and reasonably quiet. Having stayed in other Paris hotels where breakfast was complete chaos this was a nice change. The hotel's leaflet about the walk along the Promenade Plantee was interesting as we had already walked this about two years before as far as the Bois de Vincennes. At our previous regular hotel on the left bank, prices seem to have shot up, so will definitely consider this one for a future long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,282 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,072 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#963 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Diderot
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Lyon Bercy
Prince Albert Lyon Bercy
#1,390 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Zazie Hotel
Zazie Hotel
#490 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Reims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Reims

Property: Hotel de Reims
Address: 26 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,125 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Reims 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Reims, a 2* hotel located at the center of Paris, in the 12th district, near to Gare de Lyon, the Opera Bastille, place des Vosges and Business quarter. L'Hotel de Reims is a nice and quiet place where you can have a personalized welcome and a team always at your disposal. With its 28 rooms, Hotel de Reims will ensure you a neat service for your business or tourist stays and will fit your needs with its services as breakfast in the room or free WIFI for example. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Reims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing