We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel !!!”
Review of Hotel De La Comete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De La Comete
Ranked #1,021 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel !!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is situated on a busy avenue (which also has a metro running above ground) but lacks the necessary sound isolation. There is no double glazing and most of the windows cannot be closed properly. This makes them useless in keeping the noise out. Since the outside noise is practically all around, it hardly makes any difference whether you have a room in the front or at the back. Also, the inside walls are too thin to keep the noise from neighbouring rooms out.
We booked this hotel for 3 nights. But after the first night we refused to stay there. The owner offered us 2 other rooms, but they all showed the same problems. So we decided to leave.
Apart from this, the owner is very unfriendly (claiming that we were exaggerating, she claimed she did not here any noise). Luckily her husband showed more understanding and quickly arranged a refund of the next 2 nights (not the full amount, though). And apparently they try to avoid taxes by implying ridiculously high credit card fees. The fact that they employ minors to clean the rooms, is not something that improves the image.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Mattias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    135
    66
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
127
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Hotel is good situated with correct rooms, it is a bit dirty though...

Thé staff, most presisely the manager is a very rude person who shouts at guests who do not understand their bills, whilst not providing proper detail. He claims a crédit card fée if you dont pay in cash and a very high tourism tax per day per person.

For a two star Hotel in Paris i wonder why thé service is that way, very poor english, and taking advantage of foreighners..

One word: there are better hotels in Paris for the price, do not go there!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Did12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Hotel De La Comete was a really nice and situated near Mc Donalds, Monoprix(Supermarket) and Jaures station. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Because the hotel was situated near a busy street and a train station it was really noisy but that didn't really bother us. The staff were really friendly though the didn't speak much english.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is good value for money-it is right by the Metro and very near the Gard du Nord. The rooms are cleaned every day and are very warm (when Jaunary temperatures are below freezing that is an important detail). Of course there was no view, and the decor was not what I would choose to have at home. But we wanted somewhere clean, welcoming and affordable and that is what we found.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackdawMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Our room smelled awfully of smoke; there was makeup on one of the pillow cases; there was no shower curtain and water sprayed everywhere. The staff was not very friendly and spoke little or no English. Even for the low price this place was awful. There are other better places for tight-budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The man operate the hotel is rude and it insisted to charge additional 20 EURO for payment using Credit Card.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QWERTYUIOPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We liked this hotel and would definitely stay again. The staff are very friendly and, though they spoke no English, were tolerant of our awful French (even waiting for me to find words in my phrase book). The room was much bigger than I expected with a huge shower and was cleaned every day, even when we left after midday. There are lovely pattiseries in the area so breakfast was sorted and it's a very short stroll to the beautiful canal. The hotel is also opposite a Jaures metro station, 3 stops from Montmartre and not far from the "central sites" so you really don't feel the distance. Excellent value in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,536 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#677 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,251 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,408 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,232 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Comete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comete

Property: Hotel De La Comete
Address: 196 boulevard de la Villette | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel De La Comete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Comete Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing