We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cheap, friendly and handy for the train”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De La Comete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De La Comete
Ranked #1,041 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cheap, friendly and handy for the train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is good value for money-it is right by the Metro and very near the Gard du Nord. The rooms are cleaned every day and are very warm (when Jaunary temperatures are below freezing that is an important detail). Of course there was no view, and the decor was not what I would choose to have at home. But we wanted somewhere clean, welcoming and affordable and that is what we found.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackdawMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    135
    66
    15
    14
See reviews for
55
126
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Our room smelled awfully of smoke; there was makeup on one of the pillow cases; there was no shower curtain and water sprayed everywhere. The staff was not very friendly and spoke little or no English. Even for the low price this place was awful. There are other better places for tight-budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

The man operate the hotel is rude and it insisted to charge additional 20 EURO for payment using Credit Card.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QWERTYUIOPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We liked this hotel and would definitely stay again. The staff are very friendly and, though they spoke no English, were tolerant of our awful French (even waiting for me to find words in my phrase book). The room was much bigger than I expected with a huge shower and was cleaned every day, even when we left after midday. There are lovely pattiseries in the area so breakfast was sorted and it's a very short stroll to the beautiful canal. The hotel is also opposite a Jaures metro station, 3 stops from Montmartre and not far from the "central sites" so you really don't feel the distance. Excellent value in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

There was nothing extravagant about this hotel, but it was clean, safe, and provided the bare necessities. It is incredibly convenient because it's so close to the metro, and we didn't experience any problems due to noise that we had read about in other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peters714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

my daughter and i booked hotel de la comete for our stay in paris over the new year. the room was like a bathroom the bed was were the beth used to be! surrounded by tiles. the bed covers were old fashioned and horrible not a nice place to stay ever. we ended up moving out and checking into gare de nord terminus hotel which was fabulous,well recommended,staff & service was top-class

Helpful?
1 Thank cindy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

This hotel is literally right next to the Jaurès metro station. It isn't in the heart of Paris, but then, you'd pay easily three times as much to stay in the heart of Paris. But the metro will take you everywhere quickly anyhow.

The place seems to be family run, and we had no problem leaving our luggage and our laptop in our room.

The staff doesn't know a lot of English, but then, a lot of the French don't. :-P And they were so accomodating that it didn't matter.

There's also an internet machine in the lobby area so you can plunk a euro or two in and check your email. There's a McDonalds next door if you want a cheap place to grab a coffee.

If you want a palatial, professionally decorated place in the heart of Paris, look elsewhere. But if you want a safe, friendly and clean place that won't break your travel budget, this place might be right for you.

  • Liked — Clean and inexpensive
  • Disliked — Skimpy on the towels and there was no hotel WIFI.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank luckynenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,531 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#695 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,268 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,402 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,214 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Comete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comete

Property: Hotel De La Comete
Address: 196 boulevard de la Villette | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel De La Comete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Comete Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing