We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by all the negative reviews ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Angleterre
Ranked #1,585 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Villefranche du Perigord
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by all the negative reviews ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is great value for money. The location is very convenient for the metro, lively, multi-ethnic, and no more or less threatening than much of Paris. I found the staff very helpful, and sure the interior of the hotel is a little 'tired', but better than you might reasonably expect given that the hotel is rated just the one star. I had a twin room at the front of the hotel that was a reasonable size, clean, with an effective shower, plenty of hot water, lots of natural light and double-glazed windows that did a good job of keeping out traffic noise. The hotel appears to be very popular with student groups, and why not ? Sure they can be a bit noisy at times, but if that's going to be a problem for you perhaps you should stay somewhere more expensive. Next time I'm in Paris I'll be going back to the Angleterre.

Room Tip: Street noise really isn't an issue. I took a room on the first floor and it meant that I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    75
    28
    57
See reviews for
36
67
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a room with 3 single beds but the hotel gave us a room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed. in exchange they gave us free breakfast.
Ok with wifi. we had to ask 2 times for bigger towels and only the first night we found soap in the bathroom. The hotel is very near to the metro station, but it is not very nice location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Linz
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Almost everything wrong with this hotel:
Water not warm enough, telephone not working, unclean toilets, unclean linen, no soap, limited towels, paint peeling off the walls and sometimes the lift does not work (imagine climbing 6 floors)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rayomand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

You really need a detailed map to find the hotel but it is only about 200 yards from the Metro (one stop from Gare du Nord) past loitering men who might be intimidating to some. Saw one urinating on street corner. Staff friendly and welcoming. Some spoke English and all were forgiving of badly spoken French. Small lift had maximum payload of 225 kg and signs indicated that the permitted load was 2 people or one person plus luggage. Or you could use the stairs which had wooden spiraling steps. The corridors had wooden floors and no carpet. The door to our room had a good lock and could be locked from the inside for security. We had a largish room which had 2 single beds and adequate wardrobe space and there was a carpet on the floor. There was also a small table, a single chair and a TV with no remote control. There were no coffee or tea making facilities and food was not allowed in the room but presumably take aways could be eaten in the breakfast room. The beds were well below Goldilocks standard - about the standard of an old hostel. Each had 2 blankets plus a bed cover but there was no pillow, only a low bolster tucked into the lower sheet. The sheets themselves were not quite big enough for the bed so by the end of the night everything was untucked and tangled. One of us got bites. Back home we researched this on the Internet and concluded that they were caused by bed bugs. We advised the hotel of our concerns about this so that they could take appropriate action. We found we had to sleep with extra clothing as the bedding did not give enough warmth and the small elaborately decorated radiator gave no heat as the central heating was turned off (we stayed in a rather cold May). The lack of warmth in the room was not helped by the fact that when we arrived the bathroom window was jammed open and it took 4 requests before the staff came to fix it. There was no air conditioning. The whole room had a rather dowdy feel and look to it. We were not told whether there was wi-fi and we could not pick up any signal. The bathroom door was too big for the jamb and so did not close. The sink had no plug. The only light in the bathroom came from the shaver light over the sink. The shower was about half the size of the lift so there was a battle with the shower curtain when you showered. Supplies of soap and shower gel were rather mean. Also the 2 towels we were given were little more than hand towels and also rather thin. The bathroom itself was clean enough. The one mirror in the room was over the sink. A hair dryer could be borrowed from reception. Breakfast was available at extra cost but was basic - a piece of baguette with butter and jam, plus orange juice and a cup of tea or coffee. It is expensive to stay in Paris so if you choose from the cheaper end of the market you must expect a lower standard. Nevertheless overall the feeling was one of disappointment at how low it was. We did consider changing hotel immediately but decided to tough it out. We would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m1000c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I agree with Maria M, that I was pleasantly surprised to find this kind of friendlyness in a neighborhood like this. The room was large, clean. And the wifi worked. I changed to this hotel from the one next door and this one gave much more value for money. There is even a SMALL lift and it is 200 meters to the Metro. Mind you we are in an area where a woman should not stand still on a corner for too long... but since I used the night to sleep, and was lucky to get a room away from the street, I had a good night.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, then get a room up and away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nils n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,551 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,596 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,262 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Hotel Les Chansonniers
Hotel Les Chansonniers
#1,377 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Gofen
#1,570 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angleterre

Property: Hotel Angleterre
Address: 6 rue Bervic | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,585 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Angleterre 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing