We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading photos!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexandrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexandrie
Ranked #1,071 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Misleading photos!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel on a short trip to Paris. I found the hotel to be disappointing and wished we had reviewed other options before choosing to settle for it. The photos posted here are misleading. The hotel is actually quite run down, and not in a charming way. The rooms are cramped and there was a major issue with the cleanliness; the carpet in our room had brown stains (I wished I had slippers to walk around in!), the washroom had a smell, the AC had a smell, and the table had a fine layer of dust the first day. The noise from other rooms carried through the walls easily. The good points about the hotel are the location since it is a few minutes walk away from Gare De Lyon, the staff was also helpful (although a bit pushy), the internet was free (but intermittent).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    114
    54
    16
    14
See reviews for
44
81
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozel, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were only in Paris for one night and the hotel's proximity to Gare de Lyon was perfect. This was within walking distance of Bastille and Marais. Gare de Lyon has excellent links to the rest of the city. The hotel is charming, windows that open, air con if that is your preference. Room size was moderate, bathroom was large and room had tea and coffee making facilities. There is also free wi-fi which is perfect when travelling. Two great vegetarian restaurants for lunch within 2 km's. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclegirlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed two nights at this little hotel so close to Gare de Lyon railway station. Staff were very helpful. The exterior of the hotel is charming and the patisserie nearby great, as well as many inexpensive restaurants including excellent couscous. The room was small but reasonably clean, good bed and a window you could open for fresh air. Checked out the breakfast but declined as the little cafes close by looked so much better. Traffic noise was hectic but there was a music school opposite and we had the delight of hearing operatic arias floating through the air! Location to the railway and metro is the key to this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were staying for one night before heading off across Europe on the train . So we chose this on the basis of location and budget . We chose after looking at some of the previous Trip Advisor comments and thought we might be lucky but expected the worse on the basis that it was only for one night . What a great surprise then to find ourselves in a very good hotel ( for the price and location ) . Nicely turned out place . Warm and welcoming . Really helpful and cheery staff . Room was great although an interesting choice of colours ! We didn't have time to stop for breakfast so can't comment on this but in all other aspects I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

A charming, familiar hotel in a quiet area near Gare de Lyon. There are many
hotels and restaurants in this quiet corner of Paris. A big bonus with this
hotel is the friendly and extremely helpful manager Lauren who truly
makes you feel welcomed. Have stayed there twice.

The adapted room is good, but the bathroom could have been better.
It's not ideal for lifting from the wheelchair.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zizu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I just wanted a decent hotel for a Paris tour. Everything about this hotel is average: rooms are not very clean, but one can't call them dirty neither. The bathroom was quite small, but what is large in Paris? A renovation couldn't harm. The staff was nice.
It is pretty well located, subway and train stations are minutes away.
If you intend to spend most of your day visiting and don't intend to spend more then a week i strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritipiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Remember... you're paying for a room, a private bathroom and a clean environment to sleep in. In that case, this is just perfect.
Location is pretty central, short walk to Gare de Lyon, Place de la Bastille (Metro: Bastille), Gare Austerlitz (Trains out to Chateau Versailles). Can even walk to Marais in about 10-15 minutes. So it's just a stones throw away, and you're paying about half of what people are paying in the Marais.
There are no services that come with the room. They clean the room, and that's that. The paint in the bathroom was peeling in the room I stayed in, but I was in the room only to sleep. Who cares about the paint in the bathroom in Paris?
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, I had a private bathroom. My biggest issue was that the walls were paper thin and I could hear the people in the next room when they were just having a regular conversation.
They do offer breakfast at 12Euros per day, but I fared much better and with lots of variety during my walks in the mornings. When in Paris, make sure to try out different cafes etc.
The people at the front desk are friendly and helpful with any questions, but they do not have any room service.
I would recommend this to anybody who's going to Paris, and wants to see the town rather than spend too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bnaturl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#931 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#545 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN Aurore
BEST WESTERN Aurore
#1,294 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,352 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandrie

Property: Hotel Alexandrie
Address: 19 rue d Austerlitz | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,071 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandrie 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alexandrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandrie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing