We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Helvetia-Decent hotel for a city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #1,094 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Helvetia-Decent hotel for a city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel was close to the station. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The little Juliet balcony in the room was an added bonus! Staff were friendly and helpful and recommended places for us to go when asked. It was a nice bonus that we could keep our luggage at the hotel after check-out, until traveling on later that day. Perfect for a couple of days!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon_7783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    111
    96
    18
    7
See reviews for
52
101
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here before travelling to Geneva. Like most of the review had said, the rooms n alleys are small, but overall it's clean enough. The lift so small that could prolly fit a person with 2 suitcase at a time.

Since we spent most our time exploring the city, and catching an early train on third day. This hotel is good enough for our needs.

Good locations, supermarkets n eateries around corner plus quick access to transportation. A good choice for a short stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not sure how to rate this hotel as the price was pretty good for a major city, (although I did book a fair few months in advance) and the location was great for Gare de Lyon and all other transport links, Bus, Metro, RER etc We had to change rooms on arrival as our room door required a hefty shoulder barge to open so not sure how easy our exit would have been in the event of a fire, on the other hand the bathroom/toilet door didn't close at all. The "new" room was slightly better but nothing special. The narrow corridors, dark, gloomy stairs, very worn carpets and tiny lift didn't improve the overall experience. The free WiFi would have been great but signal was at best mostly insuficient and I ended up using 3G, so not looking forward to my next phone bill. Hotel offered German and English channels but unfortunately were either not installed on our TV or we couldn't find them!! The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms although pretty basic were ok and were cleaned daily, beds made and new towels etc. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance, also a late night shop/supermarket selling almost everything.

Room Tip: don't take room nr.319, possible fire hazard as door does not open easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well located hotel, friendly staff, perfect for a couple of days in Paris, ideal if you have need to take a train from Gare de Lyon. Metro outside the door, clean, comfortable, not flashy but great. Thanks



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As everyone else has mentioned, very convenient to Gare de Lyon. The room I had was just large enough to get a suitcase either side of the bed, but I wouldn't recommend for more than 1 person. My laptop power cord was just long enough to reach from the desk to the one accessible power socket. But for one night, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian94582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

First of all it's next to Gare de Lyon. Almost as close as the Novotel. So close it's practically within the orbit of the train station. Metro entrance is right outside of the hotel. So are two supermarkets (Carrefour and Franprix). And plenty of restaurants (l'Europèen is good)

Price is reasonable. Room size is standard for Paris. Maybe a little bigger than your typical budget hotel since I could still walk around with my luggage opened. Bathroom are ensuite and clean, white and no mould marks. Doesn't smell mouldy either. Doesn't require acrobatics to get into.

The elevator is parisien sized though. Stops in between floors so beware of the need to carry your bags no matter what.

Breakfast is 8€ per person and there's a darn good boulangerie next door or for those that prefer a walk, the Gare de Lyon cafés open pretty early. I was there at 7am and everything was opened.

The airport bus Les cars stop 50m away from this hotel as well. Can't beat it for its location and reasonable price. Well recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dufffader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Helvetia in August for one night on our way to the South of France from the UK. As others have stated about 5 minutes walk the Gare de Lyon from the hotel and the Metro is right outside. We had a fab meal at the bistro next door - Killy-Jen.

The hotel is basic, but clean and staff are super friendly. Great to have free WIFI in a budjet hotel. Would definatley stay here again if travelling from Gare de Lyon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,263 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#563 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#422 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Diderot
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de Reims
Hotel de Reims
#1,037 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#918 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: 28 B boulevard Diderot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,094 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing