We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even though it is reasonable, don't go!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Ranked #1,710 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I love Paris and come to visit every two years. This year, we were bringing our two daughters for the first time and were so excited! For a change, we decided to stay in the Marais instead
of the 6th arr. and booked our stay at the Hotel Jeanne D Arc.

Our disappointment started early with the surly staff who pretty much ignores you.
Our room was dour with stained carpet, an old beaten up desk and very little storage space for four people.
The flat screen TV didn't work and it was on the old desk anyway, completely out of view for anyone sitting on the bed (the only place to sit).
But the worst was the bathroom. Black mold on the ceiling above the shower/tub.
A tiny, old shower curtain that didn't fit and let water splash all over the bathroom.
The bar holding up the shower curtain was rusted and held in place by brochures jammed in on each side!
The toilet paper holder was missing, but two ugly holes were left in the wall. The bath towels were threadbare and fraying. The shower head was broken, making it practically impossible to take a shower. It eventually broke off and had to be fixed. It was so depressing. I felt awful that this was my girls first impression of Paris.
We never ate breakfast there. We felt it was safer to venture out and go to local places instead. Would not recommend."

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhinod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

The only thing this hotel has going for it is location. It is very close to everything including restaurants and the Metro. The rooms are very small. The bathroom is so tiny the sink is directly in front of the shower. Turned out that was handy since the shower is so small I had to use the sink to prop my foot up on to shave my legs! The staff speaks almost no English and hate when they have to. We could not get ice or a working telephone for 3 days because the staff ignored us. The elevator is so small you will have to bring your luggage up separately from yourself. There are zero extras in your room, including bedside lights or a WORKING air conditioner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MilkmanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We booked the hotel tru internet and have not read the review before the booking. Felt a bit frustrated when read the review and I dont expected much from the hotel. However, we took the risk and it worth it. With the cost we paid, me my hubby and daughter Erika, had good time in Paris though the hotel may be a bit small (what do you expect in Paris anyway). We stayed in triple room but for a budget traveller like us.. we have no complaint. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. If you are budget traveller, do not hesitate to stay at the hotel. it is convenience too..near to St. Marcell train station.

Ann..Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Littleasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Pretty little hotel in the suburbs. Conveniently located close to train stations, food & shopping. Rooms small, simple & clean but perfect for a quick trip to Paris. The square behind the hotel has a nice range of restaurant options & they were all great. If you are travelling for a while, there is a self serve laundry only steps away from the hotel. Could not fault the hotel & would definately recommend staying here. We will again...

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_World_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

too much noise, the elevator was damaged, the breakfast was terrible, no wi-fi, no cable, no air conditioning, very little rooms... how do you think it was?

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank woo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We arrived on Bastille Day to be shown to a tiny smelly room, supposedly for three people. You would have had to climb over the tiny beds with thin old mattresses to get to them. The carpet was scruffy. The shower smelled, with mouldy shower curtains. The air conditioner was an ancient box sticking out of the wall that made a huge racket. The lift held one person with their luggage.
I complained and they said there were no alternative rooms and no possibility of a refund -they had asked us to pay the two nights in full before we saw the room (mistake on my part!)
In 35 degrees of heat we set off and were very lucky to find an alternative on such a busy day in Paris. The alternative was cheaper and fabulous.
There is another hotel in pariswith a similar name - Hotel Grand Jeanne D'arc -that has good reviews on trip advisor, Just don't get mixed up!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank terenure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank strazcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#388 of 1,803 in Paris
635 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#505 of 1,803 in Paris
474 reviews
Hotel Garance
#1,139 of 1,803 in Paris
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,073 of 1,803 in Paris
102 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#667 of 1,803 in Paris
677 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,202 of 1,803 in Paris
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Address: 43 boulevard Saint Marcel | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,710 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $216 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing