We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Hotel
Ranked #254 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location, small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was a charming hotel with a great location. We stayed in May of 2013 for four days and really enjoyed the close proximity to the metro stations, the Eiffel Tower and shops and restaurants. My only complaint would be that the rooms are quite small, with very little space for luggage or clothing. It would be perfect for a solo traveler, but for my husband and I it was quite cramped. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and always ready with a quick recommendation. The rooms were very clean and stylish, with nice amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_n_byrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    389
    100
    22
    26
See reviews for
147
600
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Brilliant hotel, great location and lovely staff.
My partner and I were very impressed with this quirky boutique hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel accomodated and welcome in Paris. Zoca who checked us in, gave us the warmest welcome and was very helpful with ideas and recommendations for Paris.
The rooms are small but enough for 2, the bathroom lovely with a great power shower.

The Eiffel Tower room is definitely worth it, waking up every morning and looking outside the window to such a beautiful view is priceless!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobaccoNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is ideal for relaxing in Paris, me and my partner enjoy to walk everywhere but you do have the convenience of an underground station across the road if you prefer. The station is well connected to most of the main lines, saves a lot of train hopping. The hotel its self is lovely, staff were great and the rooms where clean, would defiantly stay here again when I return to Paris.
PS, beautiful parisian bakery only 100yards away, first stop every morning for a fresh croissant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peezzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is part of a row of shops. The room is quite small and facing a metro station. The hotel is overpriced and does not come with breakfast and there is no coffee making facilities in the room. However they gave me a kettle to come down and take hot water anytime. The breakfast area can only accommodate 10 people.The room is equally small.

Eiffel Tower is just 3 stations away. The hotel is just outside the cambronne metro stop. The whole hotel has a black and white color concept which actually makes the rooms and pathway look gloomy.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nermala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear Customer,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Bénédicte Cahuzac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Loved the look of this hotel online especially the super cute top hat lights and the sleek black colour scheme, it was a nice break from all the 'pretty french' accommodation we had been enjoying but... it has some faults and should be cheaper than it is.
The room although non smoking smelt like cigarettes and cigars and the planter box out the window showed all the evidence
The size of the room was good, the bathroom very nice and a great size to spread out but...
there was no water left the first night of the stay and the next night very little hot water, no one seemed to care, and we were told there were no other rooms available to move to, after a full day of walking around Paris all we wanted was a nice hot shower!!!
Then when you do finally fall into slumber a fire alarm at 1am when you are on the top floor is not ideal, and again no assistance from staff.
We paid extra for an Eiffle tower view which was lovely but you had to really hang out the window a but to appreciate it, plus it was a little further away than we thought it would be
Directly out the front of the hotel is the train metro line and station, great for convenience and I must admit not as loud as you would think, with the window closed we heard nothing.
We found the neighbourhood a little quiet and ethnic, we were glad we had heaps of activities planned (Tennis, Disneyland, Museum tours) and we were only really using the hotel as a base to sleep.
Wouldn't really recommend to people looking for great food or the 'French experience', much prefer arr. 5&6 but... in saying that there is a great bakery out the front and to the left

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcakebows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear Customer,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Bénédicte Cahuzac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

After setting out our ideals with Flight Centre for our anniversary weekend we were very much pressurised by FC to select First Hotel Paris. Quotes used were "only one room left" "very few seats on flight", in hindsight i now recognise as great tactics to get you to commit. When booking I had limited time to research and decided to trust a professional in the market, I had a quick look at reviews and on the face of it the plan seemed ok. In reality ALL WAS NOT OK.
In short all but one staff members were very cold and abrupt. When we sent a request for minor adjustments they were either ignored or lame excuses were used as to why we could not be helped. The rooms are barely big enough to walk around. You literally have enough space to open your wallet on the floor that is it! The rooms are not very well insulated. We had a night of disrupted sleep due to this. We called reception to see if they could ask the room above to limit the jumping around in the early hours, after 30 mins or so we had a call from reception with an update saying " the man in the room is a big black man, I cannot tell him what to do" what!? Needless to say we tried leaving after the first night and were told by Flight Centre the only option we have is to pay for business class flights (£800) and try to claim back on our return. However this was not guaranteed and so we thought this was reckless and endured another terrible night.
Since returning I have given both companies the opportunity to rectify the situation but neither have any interest in valuing their customers satisfaction.
With this in mind we WILL NEVER use Flight Centre for any travel arrangements and most definitely WILL NOT be returning to First Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bénédicte C, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear John W.,

First of all, thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor about our First Hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, we would to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

But as we explained by e-mail, we could not refund your all stay because you never told us that you wanted to leave, and during your check out you never mentioned a problem.
We already made apologize about the noise made by other customers, but we cannot control every customer.

Every day, we try to improve our service and make all the best for our customer. I am very sorry that you did enjoy your stay at the First Hotel.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so we have the chance to provide you an unforgettable experience !

Kind regards
Bénédicte Cahuzac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I really rely on tips and reviews on Tripadvisor when choosing a hotel. I really loved this hotel. The location is perfect. If you want something in a cute little neighborhood with yummy bakeries, little cafes and right next to the metro this is your hotel. It literally is right off the metro Cambronne stop. We took RER B directly from Charles De Gaulle Airport, you change lines at Denfert-Rochereau (direction Etoile) directly to Cambronne, just a few stops after Denfert-Rochereau. Then from Cambronne you can go anywhere the location is central and a perfect starting off point. We arrived earlier than check in time, there were 4 of us in two rooms. Our room was ready which was just fine we put all our stuff in it and took off. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 101, it faced the Metro but I never heard it. One of our favorite parts was the heated towel bar in the bathroom, so nice to have warm towels after a shower. The bakery next to the hotel (exit and head left 2 doors down) was amazing! The croissants were the best I've ever had. Some staff at the hotel was nicer than other, The only negative thing I would say is when we left on the last day the guy at desk (Indian I think) was all put out we wanted to pay our room taxes on two cards. Two separate rooms, two cards right? It's not like each room is traveling with another room in the hotel, finally I just put both rooms on my charge card. This was also the guy who was not nice to my Mom (which I will explain)
That being said I liked our stay and would stay here again.

But if my Mom was to write a review it would go something like this:
We got to hotel early and our room was not ready, no big deal my daughter's was ready and we put our stuff in her room. We were fine with this, we were the ones there early. When we returned at 6pm and went to our room the girl who we just saw go in the elevator just before us was cleaning our room. Like she JUST started cleaning it when we got back to hotel. It was 6 pm and check in time is 3pm. The worst part is it was NOT ready until 7:30 pm. Then when finally done our key would not work and we had to go back down to have it re-keyed. Finally we get in our room. On our 3rd day I realized I forgot some important travel documents that needed printed, they front desk man (Indian guy) said email then to him. He made us sit for an hour waiting for them, while we kept asking if he got them, he would not even respond. Emails are sent immediately. He was just being mean for some reason. I mean he would not even respond to us. We just sat in the lobby for an hour. On our final day then same man would not let us pay our tax for our own room on our own card. He put up a big stink about it. Finally we put in on one card. So absurd, each and every single room staying there had to pay the tax and use their own card right? He again was just being mean to us for some reason.

We loved the location and for the most part the staff. But they need to keep in mind that even small things make a difference to their paying customers who have a big big pot to choose from in hotel choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshandJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#342 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hotel Le Marquis
#95 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Villa Saxe Eiffel
Hotel Villa Saxe Eiffel
#111 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tourisme Avenue
#160 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Hotel Ares Paris
#46 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Duquesne Eiffel
Hotel Duquesne Eiffel
#175 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Property: First Hotel
Address: 2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#164 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#225 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#263 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ideally located in the middle of the business and the pleasure districts close to eiffel-tower many rooms with exceptionnal view, invalides, unesco.Hotel completly renovated one years for the renovation openning first september 2010 HIGH STANDING HOTEL UNLIMITED WIFI CONNECTION Near to the porte de versailles exhibition hallAwarm welcomand quality know-how are the trump cards that will help make your stay in the capital a successful one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing