We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! We even had a patio!”
Review of Agate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agate Hotel
Ranked #1,349 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel! We even had a patio!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved this hotel!! We had a great little room with a patio facing the street. We were a little outside of town but we loved it because we were just a short metro ride away from everything and I feel like we were in a less touristy spot which was really fun! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
6
34
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is really bad . Regret booking this place. Good location where nation metro its just around the corner however I think there are better hotels around. The towel given its stainted with blood. Poor bed, its like you sleeping on a bad couch. Most importantly if you are booking and attarvted by the free wifi stated. Please do not get caught with them . The wifi really bad and its not usable at all. You get disconnected every 2 min and got to watch a 30 second advertisement in order to get connect. Never book this place if internet its essential for u. Overall I think for the price you pay you have a better choice around this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XiangYi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed a night there as I wanted to stay from away usual big chains. Good pick!
Cheaper and much more friendly than the usual Holiday-in, mercure, etc... chains. I will definitely come back there!
Good atmosphere, friendly staff, small but nice room.
I reommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is exceptionally good value. The location is not right in the center, but the area is nice and friendly, with a very Parisian vibe and a lovely market right outside.
We had a family room which was small but functional. Nice and friendly staff and great for travelling with kids as they have highchairs and other equipment for kids.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here in March, 2013. The staff at the hotel was very nice and most helpful. The rooms were very clean, nice but are rather small, tight. They were serviced daily. Breakfast was a bit pricy so we skipped it - to many good foods on the street. Great street market twice a week next to hotel. Close to Metro, tram or bus. WiFi is Terrible. If you need WiFi for communications, forget this hotel. We had to use outside WiFi at times. For what the hotel is, it is over priced. We liked the location but would skip this hotel on a return visit because of the bad WiFi and high price. There are other nice places for less money with good WiFi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is not centrally located in Paris, but it's in a beautiful area, and it's only a short walk from the metro, which makes it perfect to go about in the city.
What we liked most of its location is that you can see the "real", non-touristy Paris, and it's surrounded by incredible restaurants and cafes.
The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfy and the hotel is very clean.
We asked for an early check in and were granted this free of charge, and the staff allowed us to drop our bags early without problems. All the different staff members we dealt with knew English, and were nothing but helpful.
The sleep quality is good because the street is quiet at night, but the walls are very thin, so you can hear the other rooms.Therefore I recommend being discreet and respectful at night if you stay here.
The breakfast was excellent, and it was cheaper than going out. It's an all-you-can-eat buffet, and they have great and healthy options. We specially liked the freshly squeezed orange juice.
I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Agate Hotel on Rue de Vincennes for 7 nights and loved it! We were thrilled to see that we had a room in the front of the hotel (on the 6th floor) which had a balcony. We were even MORE thrilled to see the Eiffel Tower in the distance when we stepped out on our balcony! We didn't request this room, but if you book with them, it would be worth requesting a room on the 6th floor in the front of the hotel!

The hotel offers a breakfast each day, which I think was around 12 euro, but we didn't take that since we are early birds and like to get out and explore the local cafes.instead. But, be warned, you will most likely spend the same amount (if not more) out in the local cafes for just coffee and croissants.The coffee averages between 4 and 5 euros per cup (and remember, these are FRENCH coffee cups, not the super-size American mugs!)

The hotel was very quiet, we could hear muffled voices through the walls, but there was no partying going on (despite the fact that we stayed through New Years Eve). The rooms are very tiny.(see pictures attached to this review), but they were very clean and the staff does a great job of housekeeping each day! The bathroom is too tiny to have anymore than one person in it at a time. We don't generally care about having a grand and luxurious room, since we hardly spend time in it. Our criteria is simple, comfortable bed (check!), clean (check!) and quiet (check!). If you're looking for luxury and room to stretch, then you will have to shell out some pretty big money to stay in a more luxurious hotel.

The location of this hotel is probably the best part - it is in Place de Nation, which is a major hub for the metro and RER. (both of which are extremely easy to use - I compare it to Washington DC where all lines are color-coded and mapped out very simply). The hotel is literally one block from the metro and RER stations. Also, if your stay is over a Saturday or Wednesday, directly below the hotel, when you wake, you will see a HUGE local farmer's market. It's worth taking an hour or two to stroll through it. They sell everything from cheese, to beef, bread, pastries, fresh produce and even some non-food items. It's a nice way to observe the locals in their weekend routine. Also, if you have a little time, Rue de Vincennes is a nice street to stroll and do a little shopping. Directly across the street are some clothing and shoe stores, an organic foods market, a larger supermarket (Super Marche) a department store. Another thing about Paris in general, especially the residential areas, like Place de Nation, there is a Pharmacy (Pharmacie) on almost every corner - just look for the flashing green cross (+) sign.

The staff at the Agate Hotel is English speaking. Some of the staff members are more friendly and helpful than others. One, in particular, was exceptionally friendly (I believe his name was Yuan). He was so sweet to help us find out what to do on New Years Eve. He left us a note with our room key after researching some information for us. He told us which clubs and bars we might want to check into (and which other ones we should avoid). Very helpful and thoughtful! The rest of the staff are friendly enough, not overly so, but they aren't rude and will generally answer questions you might have.

The only complaint I would have is the sketchy wifi connection. Sometimes we were able to go back to the room and use the wifi without trouble, other times, we could barely stay connected more than five minutes, before we'd have to log in all over again. There is a computer in the lobby, though, so if you really need the internet, you can always use that.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor, front of the hotel and you will get a room with a balcony and street view (and Ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Bercy / Nation
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1,264 of 1,801 in Paris
66 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
#1,489 of 1,801 in Paris
38 reviews
Hotel Le Cantal
#1,318 of 1,801 in Paris
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#494 of 1,801 in Paris
534 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
#1,205 of 1,801 in Paris
162 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Le Ruisseau
Le Ruisseau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Mande
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Hotel

Property: Agate Hotel
Address: 8 cours de Vincennes | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,349 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Paris which is completely different, this is what the Agate Hôtel offers. Beautiful sight on Paris and the Eiffel tower. As well as their professional know-how, they'll put their heart and soul into making your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Agate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing