We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant”
Review of Agate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agate Hotel
Ranked #1,326 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed a night there as I wanted to stay from away usual big chains. Good pick!
Cheaper and much more friendly than the usual Holiday-in, mercure, etc... chains. I will definitely come back there!
Good atmosphere, friendly staff, small but nice room.
I reommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Agate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is exceptionally good value. The location is not right in the center, but the area is nice and friendly, with a very Parisian vibe and a lovely market right outside.
We had a family room which was small but functional. Nice and friendly staff and great for travelling with kids as they have highchairs and other equipment for kids.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent a week here in March, 2013. The staff at the hotel was very nice and most helpful. The rooms were very clean, nice but are rather small, tight. They were serviced daily. Breakfast was a bit pricy so we skipped it - to many good foods on the street. Great street market twice a week next to hotel. Close to Metro, tram or bus. WiFi is Terrible. If you need WiFi for communications, forget this hotel. We had to use outside WiFi at times. For what the hotel is, it is over priced. We liked the location but would skip this hotel on a return visit because of the bad WiFi and high price. There are other nice places for less money with good WiFi.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is not centrally located in Paris, but it's in a beautiful area, and it's only a short walk from the metro, which makes it perfect to go about in the city.
What we liked most of its location is that you can see the "real", non-touristy Paris, and it's surrounded by incredible restaurants and cafes.
The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfy and the hotel is very clean.
We asked for an early check in and were granted this free of charge, and the staff allowed us to drop our bags early without problems. All the different staff members we dealt with knew English, and were nothing but helpful.
The sleep quality is good because the street is quiet at night, but the walls are very thin, so you can hear the other rooms.Therefore I recommend being discreet and respectful at night if you stay here.
The breakfast was excellent, and it was cheaper than going out. It's an all-you-can-eat buffet, and they have great and healthy options. We specially liked the freshly squeezed orange juice.
I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Agate Hotel on Rue de Vincennes for 7 nights and loved it! We were thrilled to see that we had a room in the front of the hotel (on the 6th floor) which had a balcony. We were even MORE thrilled to see the Eiffel Tower in the distance when we stepped out on our balcony! We didn't request this room, but if you book with them, it would be worth requesting a room on the 6th floor in the front of the hotel!

The hotel offers a breakfast each day, which I think was around 12 euro, but we didn't take that since we are early birds and like to get out and explore the local cafes.instead. But, be warned, you will most likely spend the same amount (if not more) out in the local cafes for just coffee and croissants.The coffee averages between 4 and 5 euros per cup (and remember, these are FRENCH coffee cups, not the super-size American mugs!)

The hotel was very quiet, we could hear muffled voices through the walls, but there was no partying going on (despite the fact that we stayed through New Years Eve). The rooms are very tiny.(see pictures attached to this review), but they were very clean and the staff does a great job of housekeeping each day! The bathroom is too tiny to have anymore than one person in it at a time. We don't generally care about having a grand and luxurious room, since we hardly spend time in it. Our criteria is simple, comfortable bed (check!), clean (check!) and quiet (check!). If you're looking for luxury and room to stretch, then you will have to shell out some pretty big money to stay in a more luxurious hotel.

The location of this hotel is probably the best part - it is in Place de Nation, which is a major hub for the metro and RER. (both of which are extremely easy to use - I compare it to Washington DC where all lines are color-coded and mapped out very simply). The hotel is literally one block from the metro and RER stations. Also, if your stay is over a Saturday or Wednesday, directly below the hotel, when you wake, you will see a HUGE local farmer's market. It's worth taking an hour or two to stroll through it. They sell everything from cheese, to beef, bread, pastries, fresh produce and even some non-food items. It's a nice way to observe the locals in their weekend routine. Also, if you have a little time, Rue de Vincennes is a nice street to stroll and do a little shopping. Directly across the street are some clothing and shoe stores, an organic foods market, a larger supermarket (Super Marche) a department store. Another thing about Paris in general, especially the residential areas, like Place de Nation, there is a Pharmacy (Pharmacie) on almost every corner - just look for the flashing green cross (+) sign.

The staff at the Agate Hotel is English speaking. Some of the staff members are more friendly and helpful than others. One, in particular, was exceptionally friendly (I believe his name was Yuan). He was so sweet to help us find out what to do on New Years Eve. He left us a note with our room key after researching some information for us. He told us which clubs and bars we might want to check into (and which other ones we should avoid). Very helpful and thoughtful! The rest of the staff are friendly enough, not overly so, but they aren't rude and will generally answer questions you might have.

The only complaint I would have is the sketchy wifi connection. Sometimes we were able to go back to the room and use the wifi without trouble, other times, we could barely stay connected more than five minutes, before we'd have to log in all over again. There is a computer in the lobby, though, so if you really need the internet, you can always use that.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor, front of the hotel and you will get a room with a balcony and street view (and Ei...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

They are friendly and pleasant in the deal, staff speak English, did the checkin at 23:30 smoothly. The rooms are small and the bathroom, but well for Paris, which in most cases are very small and dirty, has very good communication (metro and RER Nation) 100 meters from the hotel and spend 4 bus lines. It has Wifi in the room, plasma TV with Canal + and safe. We changed the sheets every day. Did not try the breakfast. It is a peaceful and quiet for a good night's rest. There are restaurants and a burger near the hotel as well as two supermarkets. The Saturdays put a market across the street, where you can buy fresh produce and earth, and prepared food. Adequate hotel for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Better choose upper floors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11,822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Perhaps not as central as some hotels, this is still very convenient. It is very close to the Nation metro and its multiple lines. The area has lots of restaurants and stores; including a Monoprix around the corner. The rooms are clean and attractive and the breakfast buffet is a good value.
I found the staff to be kind and helpful. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front looked nice but I must admit, the courtyard view room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubagirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
#1,467 of 1,804 in Paris
40 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1,242 of 1,804 in Paris
67 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Camelia Nation
Hotel Camelia Nation
#1,635 of 1,804 in Paris
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#403 of 1,804 in Paris
595 reviews
Hotel Le Cantal
#1,342 of 1,804 in Paris
59 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
#1,217 of 1,804 in Paris
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Hotel

Address: 8 cours de Vincennes | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,326 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $90 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Paris which is completely different, this is what the Agate Hôtel offers. Beautiful sight on Paris and the Eiffel tower. As well as their professional know-how, they'll put their heart and soul into making your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Agate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing