We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #170 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small and charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

A lesson in what you need when staying in a hotel.

While the rooms was small, we weren't found wanting for too much (a hairdryer and some conditioner would have been good, but we coped.)
The service was very good - discrete, almost shy. But always helpful. Lovely breakfast, too; it was our first night in France and we noted how much better the croissants were than the imitation pastry we eat here in Australia!
The location is also hard to fault - just a couple of blocks (a quick walk) to the fabulous Luxembourg Gardens towards the back of the hotel, with lots of little boutique shops dotted along the back streets. This made us feel as though this was where natives would stay when visiting Paris.
As for eating, the restaurants in the area ensure you are spoilt for choice for a meal outside the hotel; we can highly recommend Rotunde (on the opposite side of the main intersection where this hotel's street is located.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mllane2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    154
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
448
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were on our way from New York to Budapest and wanted an upscale hotel (not a big box place near one of the airports) for our overnight connection. We checked in late afternoon, had dinner two doors away at ArchiToque (****), and a restful night in a small but lovely room overlooking the street. The Luxembourg Gardens is only three blocks away and a lovely walk in the morning. A sidewalk lunch at Cafe Vavin (about two blocks from hotel) was terrific.
Can't say enough about the outstanding service from the receptionist and porter. Having the Tablet Plus status earned us a room uipgrade (which was a larger room, but without the view) and a drink of our choice (the porter actually prepared a generous vodka martini).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Loved this little hotel! Great location, quiet and charming. The staff was delightful but before and while we were there. The complimentary macaroons were excellent. Breakfast was nicely done. The rooms were small but nicely decorated and all you need really. The lobby area is nice and the breakfast area comfortable.

We were a group of friends traveling together and they gave us two adjoining rooms which made it very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarhus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

very nice and friendly designer hotel, helpful staff and in a quiet street close to montparnasse and luxembourg garden, and lots of nice restaurants - one, just across the street, wadja, is fantastic, also close to metro

Room Tip: there is no fitness center and no restaurant, rooms are small but nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Preben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

An excellent hotel for its price, only one minor flaw: The room service food is not value for money. It comes from some other restaurant (the hotel does not have a kitchen) in plastic boxes... And more plastic: Even the sacred French red wine accompanying the food was in a plastic bottle (no wine at all in the minibar, only Champagne). Details, and I only mention this to say that the otherwise excellent management who obviously cares for every detail must have missed this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have stayed in many different places in Paris, but we really love this elegant and charming small hotel located in the chic 6th Arrondisement. The location is very convenient and the service and atmosphere are first-rate. Everytime we have been there they have taken excellent care of us and made us feel welcome and special. It's also an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Owner at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your review.
We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. All our staff does its best for our guests: helping with dinner reservations, giving insider’s tips about Paris… We also pay extra attention to every single detail in our hotel from decoration to breakfast so that our guests can feel very confortable.
It is indeed possible to walk from our hotel to lots of major touristic sites. Our guests can otherwise take a metro (lines 4, 6 and 12 are very close to our hotel).
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Came for a short break with my daughter, this is not the first or even second trip, but yet again a warm welcome in this boutique hotel. If you are looking for small in size, but huge in service then this is the place for you, 2 minutes from all the best shops in St Germain and the Luxembourg park just perfection.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#39 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#204 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
#222 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#84 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Property: Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#118 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing