We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic, genuinely boutique and cracking value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #189 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chic, genuinely boutique and cracking value”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from a short trip to paris. We stayed at this wonderful little hotel. As everyone comments the rooms/bathrooms are small but what space there is has been carefully planned. The hotel is tastefully decorated. The staff are attentive. When we arrived we were immediately handed an easy to read map of central paris with the hotel duly marked as well as the nearest metro stations, 3 of which are situated very close nearby. It is also very conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the RER station Port Royal which means you can get directly to the hotel for 9.50e from CDG.

It's the little things that count. Macrons on arrival were wonderful. We were then offered a choice of club rooms depending on what "atmosphere" we wanted. The beds are also very comfortable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QTipCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guests,
What a pleasure to read your review!
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. There are four different ambiances in the rooms. Moreover Jérome Mesnager added a personal touch in each room with his famous “white-bodies”.
Our hotel has 20 rooms with 4 different ambiances.Pictures of the rooms are to be found on our official website. Whenever we can, we show different rooms to our guests upon arrival so that they can choose the atmosphere they like the most. We indeed take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests.
The location of the hotel is very convenient with 3 metro stations (lines 4, 6 and 12) and the RER B t to get to Orly or Charles de Gaulle airport) within walking distance
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    163
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
455
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were really pleased with this hotel, it was in a great location - lots of good restaurants within walking distance and easy to get to all the attractions without needing to use the metro - and was very tastefully decorated, with a very relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. The continental breakfast was also delicious - heavenly croissants and baguettes, and I loved the little heart made of sugar balanced on the rim of the cups, a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guests,
We were very touched by your warm review!
The location of our hotel is really convenient: our guests can walk to many major attractions (Le Louvre, Musée d’Orsay…) or take a direct metro line (lines 4, 6 and 12 being close by).There are also countless restaurants and bistros within walking distance from the hotel.
Art is one of our passions. With that in mind, Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings…
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. Furthermore we pay extra attention to every single detail in our hotel: decoration, heart shaped sugar on the cup, layout in the rooms, toiletries, breakfasts…
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you in the future.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a perfect boutique hotel. The Left Bank location is perfect, the service is top-notch (they provided a ton of great sight-seeing and restaurant recommendations), the hotel's lounge area is super hip and inviting and it's just an overall cool hotel. Oh! And they have these candles burning that smell divine and are the cherry on top. Just a heads up - the most "boutique" thing about this hotel is the rooms. My husband and I had could barely fit our luggage in our room, and the bathroom is so small it was laughable. But! It was super comfortable and who's looking to sit around their hotel room in Paris?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guests,
It was such a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
We wanted to create a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
Charlotte and I, together with a nose, specially created a unique ambiance aroma for the hotel. Given the success, we created these candles which have the same fragrance.
We hope to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel on the Left Bank is ideally located near the corners of Blvd Montparnasse and Raspail with a Metro stop and a taxi stand nearby. The neighbourhood is full of nice cafes, shops and restaurants, and is just a short walk from a number of local attractions including the Jardins de Luxembourg and the Pantheon. The hotel has about 20 rooms over five floors, a breakfast room, a quaint lobby and the friendliest and most helpful staff in Paris. The rooms are small (typical for Paris hotels), but nicely decorated and comfortable (nice beds) with lots of light. The continental breakfast at 16 Euros is way too expensive, but there are several cafes and patissiers nearby, as well as a Starbucks which is open on Sundays. We stayed for four nights, and it was one of the best overall experiences we've had from Paris hotels.

Room Tip: Club rooms are the first level at which they will guarantee a queen bed. We were on the top floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank commodoredavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guests,
Many thanks for your review.
Our hotel has indeed a very nice and convenient location with several metro stations (line 4, 6 and 12) within walking distance. Moreover there are many places to discover in the area (such as the Luxembourg Garden), lots of restaurants and bistros to enjoy French cuisine…
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the level of service during your stay. Our staff is always happy to answer any questions our guests might have, so that their stay is as enjoyable as possible.
We have 3 different types of rooms in our hotel. Pictures and descriptions are to be found on our official website, together with our special offers.
All our team hopes to welcome you in our hotel again.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and just loved it. The accommodation was just outstanding. This is a quality place where no expense has been spared in getting the decoration and atmosphere perfect. The people here are committed to ensuring you are happy and that's exactly how it worked out. We would definitely stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marvin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guests,
What a delight for us to read your review!
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. There are four different ambiances in the rooms. Moreover Jérome Mesnager added a personal touch in each room with his famous “white-bodies”.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests and were thus delighted to read that you enjoyed it. Our staff is always happy to answer any questions our guests might have, so that their stay is as enjoyable as possible.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

And you thought that all Parisiens were rude and grasping? Well, think again. This smart little hotel in a side street just off the Boulevard Montparnasse is a treasure.

It's an old apartment block converted into 5 floors of 4 rooms - 20 rooms in total. We stayed in a superior room which was small enough but equipped with everything we needed for a romantic weekend - including a comfortable bed, large bath with unlimited hot water and a mini bar.

Fantastique!

Ok it wasn't cheap at nearly £500 for two nights but show me any decent hotel in Paris that is reasonably priced. That's almost impossible.

BUT the owners and staff were incredibly helpful. They organised taxis to and from Charles De Gaulle Airport (decent value for the one hour trip at 65 Euros). They sorted champagne in our room for only 60 Euros the bottle. They recommended great restaurants and all round just gave us the time of day - indulging us in our attempts to speak the lingo.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The hotel can provide continental or cooked breakfast at an extra charge. There is no bar and no res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our staff loves indeed doing their utmost to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. They can recommend places to visit in Paris or help with dinner reservations.
Our boutique hotel, located just a minute walk away from the Luxembourg Garden, has 20 rooms with 4 different ambiances. Pictures of the rooms are to be found on our official website.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We found this hotel through Mr and Mrs Smith, and what a find it is. The decor throughout is lovely and the service was consistently wonderful. This, combined with the great price, provided a very rare experience of a luxurious stay at an excellent price. The rooms are small as is normal in Paris, but they are beautifully appointed and very clean. The location near Luxembourg Gardens is superb with a metro stop conveniently located right around the corner. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guests,
What a pleasure to read your review!
Our staff always does its best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. Therefore they are always delighted to help guests with dinner reservations, recommendations…
Our hotel has indeed a very arty and unique atmosphere, thought and created by Charlotte.
Inspired by the hotel’s past and the history of the neighborhood, she worked with several artists such as Jerome Mesnager, whose famous “white-bodies” are to be seen all around the world…
The location of our hotel is really convenient: our guests can walk to many major attractions (Le Louvre, Musée d’Orsay…) or take a direct metro line (lines 4, 6 and 12 being close by).
On our official website, there are special offers depending on periods and availabilities.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#36 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#159 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#103 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#205 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#116 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#219 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Property: Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#134 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#236 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing