We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paris hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #112 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

When deciding where to stay for my 40th birthday, we perused the Trip Advisor reviews and were impressed by this hotel's ranking and the overwhelming amount of positive reviews about it. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this charming, boutique hotel. You know what they say--location, location, location. And this hotel is perfectly situated near a metro stop which we were tremendously thankful for as we used the Metro to travel almost everywhere throughout the city. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, the room (albeit small, which we expected as it's Paris!) we had (#43) was very clean, had a great shower and a lovely view of the main street outside. Also, upon arrival, there was a nice note and two delicious macaroons. I can't say enough great things about this hotel which, for the price, is one of the best I've ever stayed at in Paris (this is my third trip to the city). Definitely book a room here as you will be very happy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManhattanBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Owner at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel!

Our guests usually appreciate our location in the 6th district at a 2 minutes' walk from Luxembourg gardens, and with direct acces to 3 metro lines, which take you directly to most of Paris sites.

We are happy that you have enjoyed the decoration of the Classical room you have reserved, which are all located on the streetside with a delux shower.

Also, our Pierre Herme macarons are hopefully a nice way to welcome our guests in Paris, and we like to read that you have enjoyed them!


Hoping to welcome you again among us at Hotel des Academies et des Arts,


Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Academies et des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

After weeks of research we settled on staying here for our babymoon and we're so glad that we did. The hotel is ideally located to get to from Gare Du Nord and in a lovely part of Paris that we've stayed in before. Check in was the friendliest and most helpful I've every experienced. The man spoke excellent English, gave us all the information we needed and made it seem that nothing would be too much trouble for us. We checked in 3 hours early but our room was ready which was a lovely surprise. We enjoyed the welcome macaroons too!

The room was beautifully decorated. It was SMALL though, and this was a Club room. I knew in advance that it would be tiny, this is Paris after all, but it might be worth upgrading again if you are particularly tall or *cough* large. At 8 months pregnant I did find squeezing into the loo and shower a bit of a challenge. Another thing to bear in mind if you're English and expecting the usual tea tray is that there isn't one. We had lovely windows that opened onto the street and although we were aware of noise it wasn't enough to prevent either of us from sleeping. The bed was extremely comfy and my request for extra pillows was granted immediately.

The honesty bar in the evenings was a lovely touch. We had breakfast in the hotel once which was fine but it would be fair to say you can get more for your money if you go to a local café. That's not a criticism really as you pay for convenience.

Overall I thought this hotel was stunning. We definitely could have stayed longer and we will definitely be back, baby sitters permitting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saspip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Owner at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear guests,

We thank you for your nice review on your stay among us!

Our hotel is ideally located in the middle of 3 metro lines, one of which takes you straight to Gare du Nord in 20 minutes.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated our staff, as well as our Pierre Herme macarons as a welcome gift!

Also, our rooms come in 4 different atmospheres, and it's nice to know that you liked the decoration, to which we pay a lot of attention.

The bed should be one of the most important thing when you stay in a hotel, and the fact yhat you found it extremly comfy rejoices us.

Hoping to welcome you again among us at Hotel des Academies et des Arts,


Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent our last three days in Paris at this gem of a hotel. The interior decorating was beautiful and very chic. The room was lovely and well appointed. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We asked for a quiet room on the courtyard side and found it to be very quiet! We were greeted with macarons which were delicious! The hotel is near the Montparnasse area and right next to the metro stop Vavin. It also was a short walk to the Jardins de Luxenbourg and many restaurants. We will most definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westerfluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for this kind review.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the level of service. Our staff always tries to meet our guests’ requests.
Our hotel has indeed a very arty and unique atmosphere, thought and created by Charlotte Inchauspé.
Inspired by the hotel’s past and the history of the neighborhood, she worked with several artists such as Jerome Mesnager, whose famous “white-bodies” are to be seen all around the world…
The area the hotel is located in is really convenient (3 metro lines close by) and nice, with countless restaurants.
All our team hopes to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A warm welcome awaitEd us as we checked in ( as well as a pleasant aroma in the air) .The lovely receptionist ( she might have been the owner, not sure) was very engaging and was offering all sorts of helpful advice including a fantastic restaurant recommendation ( le Timbre) which is really close to the hotel, see separate review.
The hotel room was not massive but very well presented in a stylish way with the well documented artists figure painted on the wall. The bathroom was a little on the small side but this was not a big issue.The communal areas were lovely, with comfy sofas and plenty of art related literature to read whilst we sipped our pre-dinner wine.
We didn't actually get to explore the area much but found transport really easy and walking to the river took around 30 mins through winding streets and Luxembourg park.
Highly recommended if this area of the city appeals to you.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guests,
What a pleasure to read your review!
Our staff always does its best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. Therefore they are always delighted to help guests with dinner reservations, recommendations…
Art is one of our passions. With that in mind, Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings, books… Moreover Charlotte and Laurent, together with a nose, specially created a unique ambiance aroma for the hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient: our guests can walk to many major attractions (Le Louvre, Musée d’Orsay…) or take a direct metro line (lines 4, 6 and 12 being close by).
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel des Academies is a boutique style hotel near Montparnasse, just south of the jardin de Luxembourg. Getting there from the Eurostar was an absolute breeze on the RER line to Port-Royal which is five minutes away by foot. There are three other metro stations all within a five minute walking radius of the hotel so it would be fair to say that getting around Paris from the hotel was fairly easy.

On arrival we were given a warm welcome and we were able to check-in to our room hours earlier than the official check-in time. We were also given a choice of rooms, which are fairly sized especially for Paris hotels, where space is a premium. After checking-in the hotel provided us with some beautiful macaroons - a very nice and tasty touch.

The hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms have good facilities and free wifi, which is a nice added touch. Importantly I was able to get a good night sleep and the rooms were nice and warm, which is especially important in March in Paris when days can be chilly at times. I didn't take breakfast in the hotel but it can be added for €16 a day or on an a la carte (dish by dish) basis which seems very reasonable. The area around the hotel has lots of nice bars (some specialist wine bars, others general) and good bistros/cafes. We visited the Rue de la Gaité which is just south of the hotel and there are some nice places down there particularly Backstage Café.

The main thing I would emphasise about the hotel is that I found the place very welcoming and in a small hotel arranged over 5-6 floors this is absolutely essential. I would certainly return to the hotel and think it offered fair value for money by general standards and excellent value by Parisian standards.

Room Tip: We preferred rooms to the back of the hotel which seemed a little bit more spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emaclaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guests,
What a delight for us to read your review!
The neighborhood of our hotel is indeed really nice and convenient. There are countless restaurants and bistros close by. Moreover our hotel is very well serviced by metro and RER lines (line 4, 6, 12 and RER B for airports).
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests and were thus delighted to read that you enjoyed it. Our staff is always happy to answer any questions our guests might have, so that their stay is as enjoyable as possible.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel des Academies et des Arts for 2 nights in February 2013. My boyfriend had booked it as a surprise birthday trip for me, so we were in high spirits when we arrived, excited for our weekend away in Paris. Unfortunately within about 3 seconds of entering the hotel, that feeling had disappeared. We hadn't seen the door button that opens the automatic door when we approached the hotel, so just pushed the door open as it looked to be ajar. As soon as we walked in, the lady behind the reception desk (didn't catch her name, she was a blonde lady) barked at us to shut the door, we shouldn't have pushed it as it's automatic. After that, she'd obviously decided we weren't worth bothering with, and checked us in in a manner that suggested she couldn't have cared less about our business. This totally ruined our mood - not what you want when you're supposed to be celebrating. However, we didn't see her for the rest of our trip - the lady on the reception desk that night and the man who was there for the next couple of days were both lovely and very helpful.

As for the hotel itself, it's designed to a very high standard, and the location is fantastic. The rooms are small, but have everything you need. My only complaint would be the tiny cupboard space - you might not want to bring anything that needs to be hung up.

If it hadn't been for our encounter with the first lady on reception, I'd have given this hotel a higher rating and recommended it to friends. From the looks of the other reviews, it seems our experience was a one-off, but I believe a warm welcome to a hotel when you're spending hundreds of pounds is important, and unfortunately that's not what we got.

Room Tip: The hotel offers free wifi but you'll need a password for each device - reception are quite happ...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerberry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

We just read your review on Tripadvisor about your exprience in our hotel and feel so sorry!
We agree with you that a warm welcome in a hotel is very important and gives a first impression decisive for the rest of the stay.
This is why the relation between our staff and our guests has always been our priority and number one concern, above anything else.
Regretfully, it seems that you had a completelly different experience and we will make sure to take the necessary steps so that what you share in your review never happens again.
We will ensure that this is a first and last time.
Moreover, please get in contact with us so that we make sure to find a way to make it up to you if you give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We traveled to Paris for 3 nights with friends and wanted a hotel which was well priced, well located and lovely (don't we all?!). Using the Trip Advisor reviews I narrowed our choices and selected the Hotel des Academies et des Arts which is just off the Boulevard Montparnasse.

On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms which we had expected to be very small, this is Paris after all... However, the rooms are well designed and beautifully decorated offering everything you could need. The power shower with waterfall head and jets were a very welcome surprise in such a small space.

The rooms were a little warm, but you could open up the windows and get some fresh air, another welcome surprise!

The location is just fantastic, cafes, patisseries and restaurants all within close walking distance and there a number of Metro stops close by so getting around is very easy.

We didn't try the breakfast, as we felt it was a little pricey, we opted for the fresh crepes served on the road and coffee's instead!

This is a clean, tidy and superb hotel that we would certainly stay in again and recommend!

Room Tip: Ours was small, but very well planned out!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRedsSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
Our staff is always delighted to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible: answering questions about the neighborhood, making dinner reservations, booking tours…
Our hotel is indeed located in a nice and typically Parisian area with countless restaurants, bistros and cafés within walking distance.
We serve an excellent continental breakfast with fresh products for 16€.We also serve breakfast à la carte.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#51 of 1,804 in Paris
566 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#169 of 1,804 in Paris
705 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#118 of 1,804 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#199 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#84 of 1,804 in Paris
450 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Paris
#86 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#236 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $192 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing