We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le M

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le M
Ranked #366 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfect boutique hotel for a Parisian weekend. The location is very central in Montparnasse, If I'm being picky I would have preferred somewhere more central but the metro is great value and by the second day I was used to jumping on and off to get everywhere. On the plus side you get to see a part of Paris that is slightly off the main tourist areas and the cafes in Montparnasse are truly authentic - great for sitting on the pavement and people watching over breakfast. The catacombs are also worth a visit and are 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are small but this is Paris and so what would you expect. Worth shopping around for a deal as the price of the hotel varies by supplier. There are a number of sex shops nearby but don't let that put you off. Soho in London has the same and if you've been you'll know that its similarly a great place to visit.
In the room you get the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay and the staff were great in getting anything else we needed. All in all a great base for exploring Paris. M best tip -get a guide book and just take a walk around. We had a lovely 1 hour walk from the hotel up to the Louvre on the first day. Also worth booking at Bistrotters restaurant .At the time it was the no.1 rated restaurant on tripadvisor and well worth the great reviews!

In terms of Paris itself you cannot beat dinner at the top of the tower - a once in a lifetime experience we won't forget.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for an upgraded room. The larger bed and extra space are very useful if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzauk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine S, Directeur général at Hotel Le M, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,
Thnak you so much for taking time writing this review. Your opinion is very important for us and you are giving very good advices to other guests !
I would add the following advice : for your next trip, don't hesitate to book directly on our official website because we offer the best rates on it !
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Sandrine Soyer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    334
    85
    26
    8
See reviews for
76
355
36
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

At the check-in we received a warm welcome and were upgrated to a Cosy room! Nice surprise! The room was indeed very cosy, clean, tastefully decorated. Personally, it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I really loved the quality of bedding, pillows especially (very comfy) and I was able to locate a spare one. The bathroom had a decent size bathtub, good bathroom amenities (even the body lotion, but not the hair conditioner).
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well: great coffee (served individually at a table), 3 sorts of pancakes freshly prepared and the fruit salad...really lots of choice.
Making reservation through the Hotel's website you can get a better deal, with breakfast inclusive and 2 welcome drink tickets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine S, Directeur général at Hotel Le M, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time writing this comment in order to share your experience with other web users !
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again when you come back to Paris !
Best regards
Sandrine Soyer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
561 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and i stayed at Hotel Le M for one night.

Location: close to Bobino Theatre - famous with Parisians, shops and restaurants.

The hotel: modern deco with lift and a small bar on the ground floor.

The room: ok size for Paris, comfortable bed, quiet, clean, shower over bath tub, free tea coffee and water

Service: polite, efficient and friendly.

Breakfast: buffet style, good selection of cold cuts and some hot dishes. Fresh orange juice!

We would return to this hotel given the comfort of the room, location and great service.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel as the street where the hotel is located is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a small hotel in Montparnasse area, close to the Montparnasse train station, metro and Lafayette shopping centre. It is surrounded by many restaurants. The bus to Charles de Gaulle airport is near the train station and leaves every 30 minutes, it is a 1 hour and 15 minutes ride. The hotel is lovely, everything looks brand new, it seems it was re-done recently. The rooms are small but very nicely furnished, in a modern way. The room had air-conditioning, a big flat-screen TV and a fridge. Although in a relatively busy area, there is no noise from the outside. The staff are very nice and efficient. The breakfast was great. I did not find the hotel expensive, it is good value for the money.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a double-bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackSparrow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

As I always disclose I am a Travel Agent, however the trip was booked at market rate and the hotel was not aware I am a travel agent.

Location: Before detailed specifics one must consider the location. Having traveled to Paris a few times I am comfortable exploring new neighborhoods. The location within 5 minutes of Montparnasse Station and the theater district is probably better suited for a visitor who has been to Paris prior. For a first-time visitor, I believe they would be better suited closer to the Eiffel Tower, the Marias or the areas between the Arch and Place de la Concorde. If still interested read on.

With the location close to Montparnesse Station, one can easily access the hotel via Metro, RER and the Air France bus from the airport (Route 4). With the many office buildings in the area, for business a prime location. For theater lovers, definitely one of neighborhoods for smaller theater productions catering to the local population. Also for those who desire an authentic Paris neighborhood, beyond the station and the shopping areas, there is a 2x/weelk open-air market (on Rue Edgar Quinet) as well as charming side streets. Even on Rue Gaite (the hotel’s street) businesses include restaurants of varied ethnicity, a travel book/model store, theaters, bakeries and a few upscale adult shops. There are also small neighborhood grocer as well as a larger Monoprix close to the train station. A true Paris variety.

If you plan to tour Paris, there is the major metro stop at Montparnasse as well as a local stop. Most tourist attractions are within 3-5 metro stops and shopping along the Blvd. St-Germaine is a pleasurable 15 minute walk along Blvd Raspial from the hotel.

The Hotel: A true boutique orientation. The public entry suggests “boutique” immediately from the use of black marble, art and furniture design. The check-in is efficient and the staff speaks multiple languages. Beyond reception is a seating area for a bar which also serves tea and coffee, very inviting and relaxing. One level below is the breakfast room where a buffet is served daily (19 euros/pp) including eggs, bacon, French toast, crepes, cereals, breads, meats, cheeses and unlimited coffee and juices. Breakfast is served from 7A-10A and to 11A on weekends. Even through lower level, windows above provide light and perfect place to read the paper in the AM (free including Intl NY Times, Le Monde and others). Adjacent is a small library and a computer with printer, perfect for boarding pass print-out. Of note, the rooms and the whole hotel is “non-smoking”.


With 5 floors there are 3 elevators. Personally I used the stairs as the elevators in general throughout Paris are smaller and slow. Also the stairs are surrounded by windows and offer great views of the neighborhood.


The Room: We were in Room 302 which is a standard classic. While many US based travelers will find it small, truly typical of Paris. While physically small, truly designed to take advantage of the size. Unique window placements allow light and views, central air, comfortable bed with built-in reading lamps, small closet including built-in drawers and safe. Writing deck with multiple electrical sockets, halogen lighting, luggage rack and wall-mounted pants press and flat-screen with easily 40 channels. There is a small well-stocked mini-refrigerator. Windows do open which for those who like fresh air, invaluable. Of note, windows are sound-proof.



Bathroom: Spacious by Paris standards and well designed. The tub a standard 5’ is deep and can be considered a soaking tub with Grohe fixtures. Powerful spray and ample water pressure. Between bathtub and room is a glass divider with shade, provides illusion of additional size and seems to be the design standard as I have seen this throughout the world. Large sink with excellent shelf space, make-up magnifying mirror, built-in blow dryer, ample towels, heated towel rack and dual-flush toilet all with excellent lighting.

Surrounding Rooms: While the hotel seemed busy and I believe the rooms adjacent were occupied due to housekeeping, never hear any noise adjacent. Concerning street noise, the street is a minor one-way neighborhood street. There is some noise (as there is in all of Paris), however with the windows closed it is silent. I would assume rooms facing the interior would even be quieter.

The Hotel Le M is truly a French boutique hotel with comfortable rooms, nice public areas and excellent service. For those who may desire more traditional lodging options, within a few yards are a TimHotel, a Mercure and a Holiday Inn. A large convention style Pullman brand is across from the train station.

If your tastes are towards locally sourced and designed boutique hotels, this is one you will appreciate. If you are looking for early 20th century charm, fabrics and overall typical Parisian décor, this hotel will probably disappoint. However if you are into contemporary art/design/architecture and like a more intimate scaled hotel, you will enjoy.

Room Tip: The Classic Rooms are the economical choice, easily sleeps two persons in style and comfort. While w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe-Concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine S, Directeur général at Hotel Le M, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to warmly thank you for taking so much time writing this detailed review about our hotel. I have read that you are a travel agent (and we did'nt know that during your stay), that means for us that your review is very intersting as it reflects the point of view of a real professional !
Thank you also for adding so many photos that show all the areas and details of the hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future !
Best regards
Sandrine Soyer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly staff and very claen and looked after.
Staff would go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

I also received the below information after emailing the hotel directly before leaving the UK which was very helpful indeed and made our arrival/departure stress free and enabled us to relax alot more for the 2 days we stayed. I will include this for other guests to use.

Quote
Thank you for having chosen the M Paris Hotel.

Further to your request, please be informed that we do not organise Shuttles from the Airport to the Hotel.

Nevertheless we can do it in order to go back to the airport upon your departure depending on the availability of the shuttle company.

The price is between 34 € and 40 € for 2 persons. In order to book the shuttle, please just inform the front desk 24 hours before your departure.

In order to come to the Hotel you have the following possibilities:

By metro:

From the station “Charles de Gaulle Airport” you just need to take the "RER B" (Blue train line) up to the station "Denfert Rochereau ".

At this station, switch on the metro line 6 direction “Charles de Gaulle Etoile” up to the station “Edgar Quinet”.

Take the Exit to “Rue de la Gaité”. The hotel is just 100 meters away of the metro station, Rue de la Gaité number 20 BIS.

The ticket from the airport will cost you roughly 9.50 €.

By Taxi:

Costs: Approximately between 50 € and 60 € (depending on the traffic)

Adress: Hôtel Le M**** (anciennement Hôtel Abba Montparnasse)
20 bis, rue de la Gaîté
75014 Paris - FRANCE

By “Cars Air France”- Air France Busses:

Costs: Approximately 15 € per person.

Leaving every 20 to 30 minutes from the Airport to Montparnasse Bienvenue Train station which is 5 minutes walk from the Hotel.

Please also know that some shuttle services are available directly at the airport.

We hope this information finds you well,

From our side we remain at your entire disposal should you have any other question or request,

Best regards,

Cendrars
Unquote

To top it all off my girlfriend became my fiancée

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daztame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Getting from Charles de Gaulle airport by taxi is 65 euros give or take. They don't tend to take a credit card but will obviously offer to take you to a cash point. The Hotel is well situated and served by the metro. I like the area as it has many eating establishments and bar and has a good feel about the area. The hotel is just as expected quite chic and comfortable. The reception is friendly and efficient and very helpful with advice and assistance. Book on line if you can direct as you will get a better deal. My first night was 99 euros, the second 150 as it was a week day. The elevator requires a card swipe to summon it though the first floor is as quick to walk. The room is well decorated and comfortable for the area with a modern look and feel combined with a decent sized flat screen TV, a funky bathroom with a large borrowed window sharing the bedroom though for modesty you can close the blinds. A trouser press and fridge as well as extra bedding are also in the room, climate control, beverage making facilities. Comfortable and enjoyable I will come back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#533 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#578 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#271 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le M

Property: Hotel Le M
Address: 20 B rue de la Gaite | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#263 Business Hotel in Paris
#401 Family Hotel in Paris
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le M 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le M reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abba Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing