We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good in the Marais”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caron
Ranked #470 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“pretty good in the Marais”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This small hotel is very well located in the Marais. The rooms are small, as are most rooms in Paris, but it's very modern and sleek and has a new bathroom. Not everything worked perfectly especially the shower which had a rain shower head I could never figure out how to turn on. About fifteen steps from the hotel is a small square St. Catherine, with loads of quite good cafes and brasseries which serve good food. the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: we stayed twice during this trip and both rooms were good, with walk in showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    132
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
226
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I spended couple of days at Caron in Le Marais, nice atmosphere in this cosy hotel, very good location near a nice small square full of small restaurants. Very gentle staff, even when we ask breakfast at room out off time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolo7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel Caron, and I came back for a reason. The staff is very friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are small but very comfortable. And the location in Le Marais cannot be beat. Very cose to the metro stop. Overall, a very good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_in_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. Yes the rooms are a bit on the small side but I hear that is common in Paris. However, they were clean and comfortable and fresh. The staff are lovely, really helpful. The location is the best part. The Marais is fantastic, just love it. This hotel is so close to St Paul metro which makes it an excellent choice. The only thing that bothered me in the slightest is that when the door of the next room slammed shut it was REALLY loud. The people next to our room got in pretty late both nights we were there and the door slamming behind them was horrendous ( in the design there are two rooms very close to each other) It's jsut something that I think management could look into as it is the only thing I have to complain about. I would still stay here again though, apart from this small issue it was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Been here on a biz trip on my own (as usual, unfortunately!). I believe this is a well run and pleasant boutique hotel at a relatively good price for downtown Paris. It's located in a historical mason, nicely refurbished to offer modern rooms. The position is excellent, the staff helpful and you're just 2 minutes apart from Place de Vosges.
The room is relatively small (as you'd expect in similar hotels in Paris). Nicely organised and extremely well kept, though.
Breakfast is served in a sort of cellar in the basement. Really interesting to see how nicely it has been refurbished with the creative use of glass and mirrors.
I would definitively recommend for a romantic get away of for ones, like myself, who hate staying at branded hotels in La Defense (allow 40 minutes to get there by metro in the morning, if you really need to!).

Room Tip: I've stayed in somenwhere in the high floors overlooking the street. Noise was ok and I liked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganahal_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would have to say that this is a little goldmine for Paris, and i hope that i can still get a booking when i travel to Paris. The staff her make it pretty special. Sandra, is the most amazing hotel staff member i have ever met. Nothing is too difficult and she goes out of her way to make your stay amazing. I have since recommended a number of friends of mine to stay here and they have all had great things to say about this place. One of the airlines lost my luggage for 4 days, and let me tell you Hasum (not sure of spelling) was on the phone to them at least twice a day to track the progress as was Sandra as well. I was please to receive the call from them that the bags had arrived. The rooms are fantastic and the most comfortable beds. Would definately recommend this hotel. Best part is the mini bar is free and so are the movies.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I searched probably two dozen hotels on line and thru Trip Advisor, friends, Fodor's and Frommers before deciding on this little gem in Marais. I was trying to surprise my wife for her 50th and we had never been to Paris. She's a bit high maintenance and I probably am too. Also, we are not hugely accomplished world travelers. So, we usually like all the "safe" comforts of home. But Caron really completely exceeded our expectations!!! Perfect location off Rue de Rivoli on quiet little street right next to a small, tucked away square with about 5 or 6 little restaurants, including an Italian restaurant, asian food and a chocolatier, cozy lights in the trees and benches. It was like our own little personal square. 10 min walk to Place des Vosges and Bastille and 1 minute walk to the St. Paul metro station with lots of shopping along the way or the other way towards Louvre. Rooms were stylish/updated with rain shower head and hand shower head, wifi, in-room safe, cool lighting system, 110/220 outlet and blowdryer, etc. There was a mini bar without alcohol which was refilled daily for Free and l'occitane products n the bath. now for the best: just really incredible service from the front deck staff!!!!! there is only one person on staff and no concierge or other people around. I was a little anxious about this when I initially called to get their help in making restaurant reservations. NOT TO WORRY! Sandra made all my lunch and dinner reservations for me---all 6 days/nights!!! some of the places i requested were closed or booked and she suggested others- which were awesome. Hassan and Tahar were also helpful and even put on a friendly smile every time when I couldn't understand their French-accented English or when I was just a total helpless tourist. Sandra even translated for me (via phone) when I was trying to return some shoes I had purchased. Then she committed to take my shoes back to the store for me after I went back to the US when the store was open again. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! When has a hotel staff person ever done something like that, especially not getting paid for it??? Loved these folks and the hotel!!! They do offer breakfast every day but we never took advantage_ just didn't work out for us. I did go down to see the dining area though and it was really quaint. only negative was there wasn't a shower door, just a glass partition that didn't cover the whole shower area so water usually sprayed on the bathroom floor. no big deal though. Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#356 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#121 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#397 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#659 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#42 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caron

Property: Hotel Caron
Address: 3 rue Caron | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#258 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caron 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two steps away from Saint Catherine Square and Vosges Square, the Caron Hotel is centrally located in Paris’ renowned Marais District. Peaceful but modern, the hotel is ideal for business trips or tourist stays.Nestled in the heart of the most beautiful city in the world, the Caron Hotel throws open the gates to Parisian life. From here you can visit all of Paris’ famous sights either walking or by subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Caron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing