We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable!”
other travelers have booked this property
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment. 17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment.
17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Antique hand-carved bed, with new high quality mattress, 100% cotton sheets.
The charming, well-equipped kitchen.
Modern appliances, plenty of space for cooking wonderful meals.
View from the kitchen to front door, windows, French doors.
Elegant, modern bath.
Large bathtub w/hand shower wand, and separate luxurious overhead shower.
View from courtyard toward apartment door (open) and windows.
Rare 17th c. 'colombage' in the courtyard -- the way all of Paris once looked!
Just around the corner from the apartment...
The splendid Picasso Museum, just steps away.
The Rue Charlot, a narrow street in the Marais full of interesting shops.
A few doors down, the oldest open air market in Paris! A real treat.
Your local boulangerie -- so good, there's sometimes a line out the door.
In the window of the same boulangerie on another day.
Romantic! This famous fountain is less than ten minutes walk from the apartment.
3 minutes walk from the apt! Ask me about accessing the secret gardens here.
Inside the fabulous cheese shop, right on the corner. One of the best in Paris.
Lunch inside the Marche des Enfants Rouges, a vibrant spot!
Organic bread stand, Marche des Enfants Rouges.
One of 17 (yes, 17!) gardens within a few 100m of the apt. Several are secret!
The convivial Cafe Charlot. There are many other cafes on the same street.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sharon S
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable!”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Marais Cottage in November of 2015. The apartment is clean, cozy, and comfortable, and has a lot of character. It is also very quiet, being situated on the interior courtyard of the building. The kitchen and bathroom have all that you need, including a washer and dryer. All of the appliances work, and work well! The shower has great water pressure and there is ample hot water (not always the case when I've stayed at other rentals in Europe). There is a large, clean bathtub, if you enjoy taking a bath after a long day of walking around Paris.

The neighborhood in which the apartment is situated has beautiful small shops, galleries, and cafes, as well as restaurants and markets. Again, all one needs for a comfortable, enjoyable stay is just around the corner.

Arriving from London, the apartment is an easy commute from Gare du Nord.

The owner is a pleasure to work with and was very accommodating when I arrived several hours later than planned, due to an error on my part in the transfer of information regarding my arrival time. Chris was gracious and hospitable, despite the inconvenience that I caused.

I would definitely recommend this apartment to others and I would be happy to stay again!

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locationj
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Compnovic...
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment.”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are just finishing 5 nights in this lovely ground floor apartment that has much to offer. No stairs for those with mobility issues or just to avoid that common problem of hoisting luggage up steep narrow stairways. Spacious even with the foldout bed open. We didn't bother collapsing the foldout during our visit because there was still plenty of room. Fully equiped kitchen and 2 supermarkets within a block and numerous produce shops meant cheaper eating for one on a budget. A bath as well as shower which is not common in Paris apartments. Plenty of storage options so suitcases could be put away. Almost like living at home. The apartment was comfortable, beautifully decorated and contained all those extras that make a stay special. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy. Very quiet.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ntaher
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely....”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Chris' lovely cottage in Paris with my husband and 8 year old daughter. We had an amazing stay. The cottage is so adorable with the structure and interior decorated in such a cozy and relaxing manner. Everything was spottless, I could move here any day! Chris was so gracious with the information he provided leading up to and during our stay, there were no surprises, delays, etc. Everything happened as expected as far as meetup, keys, interior and we had a fabulous and relaxing time. The cottage opens onto a little courtyard which is like a little haven in the city, quite cute! Also, we were able to explore the area(le Marais) in addition to venturing out into other areas of the city easily. Lots of great options for food nearby, in addition to touristy and non-touristy destinations alike. Thanks again Chris! Definitely recommend to all :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage setup, cleanliness, location!
Liked least: Nothing, we loved our stay!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed & constructed, this small Marais apartment has it all.”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, attentive owner with helpful insights into how to live among Parisians, comfortable bed, attractive furnishings, full bath (washer & dryer) & kitchen (stovetop & oven), comfy couch, books on France& Paris. A lovely combination of old --beamed ceiling, stone walls -- & new -- appliances, dishes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmbean
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Marais Cottage in Paris”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Marais cottage was absolutely wonderful. It was our first trip to Europe and staying in an apartment. The arrangements to get keys for the apartment was seamless. The neighborhood was quiet and wonderful with nice eateries, shops and 5-10 minute walk to the Metra (two options for stations). Chris has left no questions unanswered about the apartment, places to shop, eat and visit. Three of us were traveling and the accommodations were just right. Comfortable beds, cabinets/closets for our belongings, fully stocked kitchen, laundry facilities and a tub (which my daughter loved). Chris has had many return visitors to his apartment who are all very happy to return again and again. I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Paris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, I was on vacation in a beautiful apartment!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryEvert...
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvelous third stay in the Marais at 25 rue Charlot!”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From February 22-March 4, 2015, my husband and I enjoyed our third wonderful stay in the Marais Cottage, 25, rue Charlot. Chris the owner is so pleasant to work with! He has created a little "Normandy cottage" with a flowering courtyard in front that is peaceful and quiet yet in the heart of the upper Marais, a lively Parisian neighborhood. Chris has thought of everything one needs to have a comfortable stay--a full kitchen complete with apron for the cook, free calls abroad, WiFi, TV, an umbrella for Paris showers, a flower bouquet on arrival, a policy of guests leaving non-perishables for guests who follow, which is a big help. All this in a tastefully decorated apartment with beamed ceiling, stone walls, and elegant decor. 25 rue Charlot has become our home away from home. We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything-the full kitchen was amazing!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing