We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak”
Review of Hotel Bastille

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bastille
Ranked #1,741 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Weak”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a business trip first time in Paris, I could not choose where to stay, only looking at pictures on website. The reality is far from the ideal world of photo. They wanted to put me first in a tiny but musty room on groundfloor without windows. When demanded, I had to wait for other guest to live, and was provided with an even smaller room on 5th floor: even tinyer but at least light and with fresh air. Carpet with stains, bedclothes old, staircase dirty, narrow and creaks. Seemingly it is a former living house rebuilt into hotel. I had a look: some rooms are OK, it depends on your good luck, what you get. The only plus is here: the black receptionist is a nice guy, has a good word to everyone. I could take a shower and I could sleep: if you have no other demands, it will be OK for you. I myself will try to avoid it in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utaz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    10
    17
    39
See reviews for
14
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a small and comfortable hotel in the heart of Paris. We used the hotel as a rest-stop only for our walking tour of Paris. It is located well for most of the sights to see around Paris. We visited the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame etc. The rooms are compact and should you require something spacious, this is not for you. If you however just need to put your head down somewhere clean and safe, this is what you are looking for. It is a good three star sort of place.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruynst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I would recommend this hotel. It was situated where it was convenient to catch the bus and go to the Louvre. The staff was exceptional very helpful in assisting with directions. The breakfast was very good every morning. Room was cleaned daily.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103 good room if you appreciate the noise from the street. It really didn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Travelled Europe for 5 weeks, stayed in some shared dorms in hostels, and this was among the worst. Room was incredibly small, not to mention the bathroom, barely had room to open my suitcase. Bit of a joke really. Pictures to not depict reality. I pretty much stayed out in Paris as long as I could as I dreaded returning to this hotel. On the bright side, the hotel is insanely close to Bastille metro station, literally across the street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

New Delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unclean, smelling, soiled carpets and curtains, no basic furniture, dingy, dark.....dangerous stair case and lift ....., Checked in and vacated it very next morning..... could not sleep due to bad smell, noise from the next rooms .... very very bad as compared to the pictures shown on website.

should not be online booking list...

Not recommended for anyone. should be removed from the list of online booking hotels ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarojdhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is infested with bed bugs!!! We woke up with 30 bites all over our bodies. We switched the room and woke up next day with another 30 bites. No money back nothing. We were told they have changed the sheets and that should solve the problem. I would never ever stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not the best but what do you expect for the money, fantastic location,near Metro and every other amenity you could need- would love to get hold of this place and give it a full refurbishment as it is a goldmine waiting to happen, the owners need to get a grip or do they like it this way as it's cheap and got a steady stream of customers- who knows?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Royal Bastille
Royal Bastille
#1,584 of 1,802 in Paris
121 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Daval
Hotel Daval
#1,299 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#725 of 1,802 in Paris
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Sans Culottes
Hotel des Sans Culottes
#1,385 of 1,802 in Paris
17 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#350 of 1,802 in Paris
381 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#120 of 1,802 in Paris
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastille

Property: Hotel Bastille
Address: 24 rue de la Roquette, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,741 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bastille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing