We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and Unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette
Ranked #1,045 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by a neighboring hotel that we'd reserved and then had a flood. We were taken to a room that was dirty and smelly with shredded carpets, pillows that were thin and lumpy and a bathroom up a short flight of stairs. We were only going to be there one night so we thought we'd just make the most of it since we were leaving early in the morning on a train from the Gare du Nord. Then we closed the door to the room. When we tried to get out the door stuck and wouldn't open. After several minutes we got it unstuck and went to the desk to get another room. We were told there were no other rooms, but "there is nothing wrong with the lock on the door." Finally got the girl at the desk to come upstairs and she couldn't open the room from the inside, either. She told me that it was ok, we'd get out if we had to. I told her it was unsafe and we would not stay. We walked down the street to another hotel--the Hotel Eurostar Panorama and were given a clean, lovely room that was quite large for Paris standards for the same price as the awful Comfort Hotel. SInce the hotel we'd booked was a three star accommodation, I asked how many stars the Comfort Hotel had and was told two....it didn't deserve any. Don't stay there. Paris has enough nice hotels that this one isn't worth going to even for one night.

Room Tip: Saw two rooms and neither was a decent place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barweb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

For two stars and if you get it for a decent price this place is excellent. Reception are friendly (Although coffee is Euro4.50) and the reception area is clean and modern. The rooms are modern and my room and bathroom were super clean. The room had tv with mostly French channels and the aircon was good. Only problem was the internet didn't work in the rooms. There is a pc downstairs in reception which is free to use if you are really stuck.
The hotel is off the main road down a quiet street so no noise at night. The area is excellent and there's a good supermarket one minutes walk on the left. I would stay again and really enjoyed my time there.
Hotels in Paris are wildly expensive, I found this place excellent and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone not one bit was pleasant. Day reception staff not hospitable towards us, I must say the young girl on the afternoon shift was lovely towards us. Stayed for 4nights and we regretted our decision to chose this hotel as soon as we entered, found dirty used tissues on the floor by the door...so not happy from the moment we opened the door. Next we found room hot stuffy and smelly so tried to open window but found it nailed shut. The room did have Airconditioning which is rare in Paris but we are Aussie's we love fresh air.
I think you get the picture in regards to size....small small small....I knew that coming into it but I was hoping that the bed was going to be okay but me and my partner did not have any sleep over those 4nights. This did hinder our enjoyment for Paris in all aspects as we were sleep deprived and grumpy and having a rude receptionist every morning to deal with just took out trip to a real low. We chose this place due to good reviews and close location to Gare du nord and reasonable price but I wish now we had of paid double to have more comfortable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wife and I stayed for 4 nights in May. Room was clean but small, only big enough to contain the double bed. Bathroom was also clean, and the housekeeping did a thorough job. Elevator was very small. Breakfast was great with a lot of variety. Wifi only worked at the lobby. Hotel location was convenient for nearby restaurants and mini-market, and very close to metro stop for getting around the city, and not very noisy at night except for drunk pedestrians on Friday late night. For the price, it was a fine choice for us. Would return again for the nice staff. In particular, Najet at the reception was very helpful in orienting us and answering questions about facilities and sightseeing. She was the highlight.

Room Tip: Top-floor rooms facing the interior would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vk_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is in a good location,10-15 mins from Gare du Nord,and really close to a metro station,there are shops,and cafes around,but not too noisy.The staff was really nice and helpful,room & bathroom wasn't huge but Ok for a couple of days.Cleanliness could be a bit better,but it was acceptable.Breakfast was good with quite a lot of choice,pastries,ham,cheese,cereals, joghurt ,egg etc...on the weekend we had to fight for the ham,and joghurt,but the rest of the days they were re stocked quite often.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent two nights in this really worn down small hotel. The room was extremely small (but not surprising for Paris), had the oddest selection of old dirty furniture and, most annoyingly, was quite dirty. The sheets had been changed as wel as the linnen and the toiled had been cleaned but that was about it. Bathroom and toilet floors were dusty, the think carpet had all sorts of crums and even the walls were somewhat dirty (spots and stains). The bathrom wall was full of someone else's hair (yuck!) and the drain was clogedd. Windows were extremely dirty. Probably had'n been washed for years and the blind were not much better. Serves the purpose of sleeping but the price (over 100/ night) was totally off.
On the positive side: the staff was nice, the location is great and the hotel was surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laupau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Easy downhill walk from Gare du Nord. Metro, markets, and restaurants convenient. Receptionist, Weni, was extremely pleasant and helpful, the most pleasant part of the hotel. Very basic room, beds a bit too firm, street a bit noisy, bathroom also small, but hotel was okay for a few nights. Price was right for Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TravelGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Eurostars Panorama Hotel
#907 of 1,804 in Paris
473 reviews
Art Hotel
#797 of 1,804 in Paris
409 reviews
Montmartre
Comfort Hotel Lamarck
Comfort Hotel Lamarck
#980 of 1,804 in Paris
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence du Pre
#632 of 1,804 in Paris
235 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#942 of 1,804 in Paris
583 reviews
Relais du Pre
#982 of 1,804 in Paris
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette

Address: 23 rue des Messageries | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,045 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $77 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And contemporary design, the Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette is no shortage of style! Completely renovated, modern and colorful features: - 48 comfortable rooms (single, double and triple) - 8 studios of 28 m² fully equipped (Capacity: 4 people) - 2 reception rooms (capacity: 60 persons) Quiet and bright, the hotel is ideally located in the 10th arrondissement of Paris, just minutes from North Station and East and a few meters from the metro stop fishmongers (line 7). The hotel is the ideal base for sightseeing, such as Montmartre, Notre Dame de Paris or the Louvre. Open all year, it's in a warm atmosphere that we welcome you as either short or long trips. Many services are also available such as free wifi, air conditioning, cable television or print free service. You can also relax in our lounge area which features a pool table or at the counter of the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing