We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Hotel Agenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agenor
Ranked #1,325 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Do not stay here. Comfortable beds. Moldy bathroom. Staff do not speak english. No wifi on third floor. Only take cash as payment without pre warning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    29
    8
    15
See reviews for
31
45
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights...
1. We booked a non-smoking room, and upon check in were given a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. Upon complaint to the barely English speaking staff member, he eventually, and grudgingly changed our room to one that only slightly smelled of smoke. The hotel signs all say non-smoking, but have ash trays under the signs, almost as if proclaiming "please don't smoke, but here's an ashtray if you really insist." Opening the window to our room, we saw cigarette butts on the rooftop directly under the window. What made this entire episode comedic was the staff member insisting that all their rooms were non-smoking and it must have just been the last guest who had a puff and that we should just allow him to spray some deodorant in the room.
2. Shower head was at belly button height and the grout was filthy
3. Pillows needed changing in the 90's by the look and feel of them -needed 2 pillows to allow for even a modicum of head/neck support.
4. Foyer of hotel was "under renovation" and didn't look like any work had been actually done there in months if not years
5. None of the hotel staff apart from the boss who we only saw once spoke English
6. Noise levels from inside hotel carried straight through into the room, making sleep almost impossible whenever anyone walked up or down the stairs, spoke, etc.
7. Room wasn't cleaned on at least one of the days that we were there for reasons unknown

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a non-smoker or value sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days on Easter and the day after. It was exxactly what we wanted. A small, comfortable, inexpensive (by large city standards) hotel with easy acces to the Metro. The location was perfect to see all the attractions in Paris. It is very close to a large Metro station and a pleasant walk to the RER station. The neighborhood was also very interesting. A lot of resturants in the area around the Metro station and a farmers market in the square a few blocks away during the day.

The room was small (there were 3 of us) but the bathroom was large with a very good shower which was a welcome surprise. Since we only slept in the room it was perfect for what we wanted

The staff was helpful but on Easter holiday the staff didn't have a working knowledge of English. This was minor since overall everyone was pleasant and we mangement to make ourselves understood.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days. Nice and Clean property in an excellent location of Paris. Friendly staff always available for help. The main attraction was that metro station is just few steps away (200 mts).
Will love to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VinitaKunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stay here for 7 nights. The room was small - but that is expected - but clean. We had a room with private shower and toilet. I thought the bathroom was pretty roomy to the hotel we stayed at later in our trip. There is always staff at hand so that was great. They were super nice and friendly. Only thing was the building next door was having construction done on it so it did get a little loud- no fault of the hotel. It was also in walking distance of the Metro so it was really central. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leex1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was a great find for us, both students travelling on a budget. The room was large and had a decent-sized bathroom for Paris. Everything was clean and simple with a welcoming family-run feel. Excellent location, Montparnasse is lively and central, but not a tourist trap. Paid around 80 euros/night for me and my boyfriend; much nicer than a hostel! We got a discount for staying on the main floor (still decent courtyard view from window) and 12 euros off for the third night. The concierge recommended a nice bistro, though the neighbourhood is filled with restuarants, cafes, bars, creperies, and bakeries of good quality - they aren't just filled with tourists. I would certianly stay there again.

Room Tip: nothing wrong with the main floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AVLee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Agenor for five nights, while in Paris for business. The room I got was on the ground floor, just beside the entrance and the (very little) lobby and reception desk. Despite being right in front of the lobby, it was not as noisy as I was afraid of at first. The room was clean and it actually felt nice to be awaken by the noises coming from the kitchen where they were preparing the breakfast.

The only down side of my room was the incredibly small bathroom, with a tiny shower and an even smaller sink.

There are three points, however, where hotel Agenor stands out: the owner is very very friendly and he loves to chat with his guests, give suggestions on what to visit and where to go (and where not to go too). Coming from US, where everything is so anonymous, I found that point charming and refreshing. The second point is the price... the hotel itself is not luxurious, but it is a real bargain. The third point is location: being close to rue Daguerre (which is very picturesque), there are restaurants and shops where you can have a nice lunch/dinner for relatively modest prices, which in Paris is something really remarkable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jer_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,404 of 1,801 in Paris
59 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Esperance
Hotel Esperance
#1,658 of 1,801 in Paris
32 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,305 of 1,801 in Paris
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
#840 of 1,801 in Paris
269 reviews
Montparnasse
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
#1,471 of 1,801 in Paris
22 reviews
Montparnasse
Tipi Hotel
Tipi Hotel
#1,566 of 1,801 in Paris
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agenor

Property: Hotel Agenor
Address: 22 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,325 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agenor 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of PARIS, in a quiet side street of the lively Montparnasse neighborhood, the staff of the 2 Star family run Hotel AGENOR is looking forward to sharing its love of PARIS with you. Our location is ideal: 200 meters to the Metro station Gaîté and 400 meters to the Montparnasse train station and the CDG and Orly Airports Shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Agenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agenor Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing