We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome boutique hotel”
Review of Le Placide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Placide
Ranked #532 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Great location & excellent service by the people who work there, very friendly and attentive! Very small and quaint. Near many cool bistros and good shopping. Walking distance to everything (and metro). Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great location for true French culture and away from the commercial areas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    88
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
137
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Well - difficult to write a review of this hotel as we didn't actually get to stay there! Their cancellation policy is 5 days before your stay - which I did know when booking. However, excactly five days before our stay fell on a Sunday and I had booked through Mr and Mrs Smith which is closed on Sundays and so I sent an e-mail saying we needed to amend our booking and then called Mr and Mrs Smith as soon as they opened on Monday. I was told that the hotel had a very strict cancellation policy and that no matter what I would have to pay the full £345 for a room I wasn't going to stay in despite the fact they had 5 full working days to sell the room again. I asked if it was possible just change the date to still stay at that hotel - no flexibility there either. Also, I asked if they sold the room again whether I could then get a refund but no chance of that either. I was simply advised to try my travel insurance. Not impressed by either Le Placide or Mrs and Mrs Smith.

Yes, I knew there was a 5 day cancellation policy so I do take responsibility for that but the fact that I couldn't contact the booking agent on a Sunday made it impossible for me to give the required notice.

Big thumbs down for the hotel and Mr and Mrs Smith. They won't be getting my business again.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel if there's any chance at all that you might have to change or cancel y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A very small, personal, perfectly located hotel in St. Germain, Paris.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The staff were helpful and nice.
The room it self was very nicely decorated. We got the room with the balcony and that was very nice treat to sit out on in the evenings and enjoy a glass a wine.
Although the room is on the small side it did suit our needs. The bathroom was large and the bathtub was amazing. I would enjoy a soak in the tub every evening.

The area was beautiful - close to the subway - close to a grocery store and there is a Italian restaurant just across the rue that was friendly and yummy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We spent three days in this hotel. We had a room on the top floor which was very nice and clean. The bathroom was Incredibly spacious, the bed very confortable and the small balcony very romantic. We had also found a good deal on internet, thereefore the price was very convenient. The breakfast could be improved expecially for what room is concerned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela187801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our family just spent a week in Paris. We found hotel Le Placide on line. We loved this hotel. It is in a great location (across the street from Bon Marche and the Rue de Bac and very close to 2 metro stops). The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. They made great restaurant and museum recommendations that were off the beaten path. The rooms are small as most Paris hotel rooms are but they are well designed and very comfortable. The only knock I have is that it can be a little loud with noise from the room above and/or the street. That said we will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on a higher floor to reduce noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Le Placide is a small, quaint boutique hotel with just 18 rooms. Apparently, each room has a different color theme and mine was red.

The room and bathroom were huge by Paris standards, with a window that opens into the street below. As it was a side road, I didn't find it noisy. The room was so spacious it easily fit a double bed, a couch and 2 cabinets for clothes and other stuff and still leave space to walk around.

The bathroom was easily two-thirds the size of the bedroom. Due to the design of the bath nozzle, it wasn't easy to keep the floor dry. A fatal design flaw was the faucet knob. There were completely no grooves so forget about trying to turn it with your soapy wet hands.

Unlike a large impersonal hotel chain, the advantage of staying in a small boutique is the personalized touch. At 11pm, the concierge managed to dig up a tube of sample toothpaste for my emergency use. Needless to say, they were also very helpful with maps and directions.

Situated in between 2 metro stations and just opposite Le Bon Marche, it's a great location on the south bank to explore Paris from.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#134 of 1,801 in Paris
506 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#170 of 1,801 in Paris
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#92 of 1,801 in Paris
437 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#107 of 1,801 in Paris
648 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#546 of 1,801 in Paris
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Placide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Placide

Property: Le Placide
Address: 6 rue Saint Placide, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#308 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#345 Family Hotel in Paris
#449 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Placide 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New design Boutique-hotel in Saint-Germain. 11 Rooms. Some with balcony. Free internet connections, air conditioned, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Placide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Placide Paris
Le Placide Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing