We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hideaway”
Review of The Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Five Hotel
Ranked #627 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
ireland
1 review
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

From the moment we stepped foot in the door at reception we were made to feel like VIP's. We took the suite on the ground floor which was just perfect, it had minnie living room then you stepped into your main bedroom which was all lit up with fairy lights on the walls and ceilings! you could control this too which was good, and inbetween you had bathroom which had the most amazing shower that lit up when you used it ! we had showers in the dark it was that much fun seeing the lights. Outside in the garden you had hot-tub which fitted 4 people so loads of room for just two !! overall it was very romaintic just one problem and that was leaving it to go sightsee !! it was quite expensive at £300 per night but for the whole novelty it was just perfect for one off..

Big thanks to Tanya who had perfect English and was very very helpful and friendly and made us both feel very special on our honeymoon so Thank you Tanya ..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    338
    98
    53
    25
See reviews for
45
780
95
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We picked this hotel after seeing the reviews and photos and thought it looked great. It turned out to be even better in real life.
It's a small hotel close enough to the metro to be convenient for the city sights; and very close to the interesting streets of the Latin Quarter.
The room was big enough to crash out in after sightseeing all day, was spotlessly clean and had really funky, modern fittings and decor.
We decided to have breakfast in the hotel every morning as, for 12 euros, it was great value compared to the cafes nearby. You get an extensive selection of fruit, pastries, cold meats etc and can eat as much as you like ( I did).
The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good guidance on places to eat, taxis, markets etc etc.
Only downside was that I couldn't access the supposed WiFi internet- but i didn't try too hard or ask the staff; so it might work.
A delightful experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I chose the hotel because of tripadvisor reviews. So here is my take - all in all I wouldn't return, but I should start with the positive -
most of the staff is really nice and helpful!
Much attention was given to detail, all in good taste and charm!!!
This is what I looked for - and the hotel stood up to its promise.
the problem?
room size: ok - so I took a "standard" and one should be responsible for one's choices. but I didn't realize how small "small" can be. True - the price was good, but it is depressing. If you open the window curtains - people from the opposite apartments can look at you - so the room is kept shut dark most of the time. So if you think the hotel offers a good deal for its unique design, and you are looking at a standard room price - then in my wholly subjective view - it was not worth it. If they would pull together two "standard rooms" - you would get a rather adequate (although still on the small side) room. But splitting a decent size room into two is a bit of a ...
location: a matter of personal preference. it's paris, everything is walking distance or metro. But still - it's not the place to go out of your hotel at night time and just be in the middle of it all (and there are so many venues in Paris that do qualify for that).
finally on the cons - all the "5 senses" thing: too exaggerated and too much of a marketing issue. The design is very nice!! don't need to make it into something it is not...

It is the kind of hotel for which i feel bad providing a mediocre review. They did everything right , the staff was wonderful, it is the kind of small hotels I like. But an expanded broom closet is not a room. When you get the feeling that they make money by cutting down rooms to the tiniest size possible (and it really couldn't be any smaller...) - the other goodies, attention and design just don't make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We just returned from a three night stay at The Five Hotel in Paris. Needless to say, we were very impressed with everything from the location to the style of the rooms, the service and the awesome in-room breakfast. This hotel fit the bill without a doubt. We would absolutely return when in Paris again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank France2009Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichstätt
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

it was a great experience to stay in your hotel. the staff is very friendly. when i come to paris next time, i´ll surely stay at the five hotel. even for business the hotel is a cool place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I've never taken the time to write a review of a hotel, but The Five deserves it. Yes, it is small, but the style of it and the sexy rock star design/attitude/decor is well worth it the trade off. The staff was absolutely fabulous, helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, and welcoming. The location is just what the Doctor ordered to really soak in Paris and enjoy the less touristy side of this very sexy city. If you want space, stay at The Ritz, but it doesn't hold a candle to the hot, chic, glamorous style of The Five. That disco-lit shower was fantastic, that alone is worth staying there for - woo hoo! THANK YOU !!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The staff were very efficient and friendly at this hotel. Their English was excellent and they were always happy to help. Rooms were immaculate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayder_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#280 of 1,801 in Paris
1,130 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#312 of 1,801 in Paris
261 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#242 of 1,801 in Paris
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#321 of 1,801 in Paris
706 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#245 of 1,801 in Paris
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Hotel

Property: The Five Hotel
Address: 3 Rue Flatters, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly The Five Hotel by Elegancia)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Paris
#215 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#374 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Hotel
Five Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing