We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bijoux ... small is beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Five Hotel
Ranked #485 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
london england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“bijoux ... small is beautiful”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Cute little button of a room…. It is without doubt small (like NYC small!) but it is compact, clever and chi chi! Great décor, lovely styling, blissful lighting, comfortable bed and beautifully clean and well kept…. Looks modern and new. Not sure how cramped it would be for 2 people or for a longer stay … for a weekend for one was fine. Delightful in fact. The hotel is stylish and slick - great colours, textures and finishes and the limited space is definitely optimised, every inch is thought through. The staff the staff are friendly helpful and approachable. Location great ….. a few minutes’ walk to plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and the metro . Lovely. Lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noplacelikehomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05senses, Directeur général at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear noplacelikehomegril,

Thank you so much for your nice words!

The Five is "compact, clever and chi chi", I definitely agree with you!
The staff is also hear to make your stay the most pleasant as it is very important to us that you feel like home.

We hope we will have the please to welcome you soon for another "chi chi" Experience!

Kind regards of Paris!

Tanya Maziul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    333
    93
    52
    21
See reviews for
45
764
95
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff are all very friendly. But the environment of the hotel is more party driven. I couldn`t concentrate in a 2 hour of work I had to do. The rooms are small, but not a big deal if you just want to sleep and go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Helpful?
Thank Rarefeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon. On arrival, we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff and given half a bottle of champagne to celebrate.

Although our room was small (one of the glimmering rooms), it was really well-equipped with good storage, TV and excellent bathroom. The starlight effect over the bed and in the shower really makes the room feel very romantic and special, as do the scented petals scattered on the bed.

In terms of location, the hotel is a about 5 minutes walk from Les Gobelins metro station (line 7) - very easy to get to and from all the wonderful sights that Paris has to offer. Moreover, there are lots of things to see and do within walking distance of the hotel: the Latin quarter, Rue Mouffetard etc.

Wonderful service - had a very special time there.

Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALandVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05senses, Directeur général at The Five Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello ALandVICTORIA,

What a pleasure to read you!

We are very happy see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel for your honeymoon!

You have chosen the perfect city, Paris, to enjoy it even more!

We thank you already for the recomendations made for our hotel, and we hope to welcome you very soon again,

All the best!!

Kind regards,

Tanya Maziul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Amazing hotel, the photos definitely don't reflect what the rooms actually look like but they're still really beautiful and so clean, lots of little extra touches made it very romantic and the view was lovely, do bare in mind that it's very petite but not at all an issue just adds to the comfort! the staff couldn't have done more for us or been more friendly, the bed was unbelievably comfortable i didn't even notice it was two pushed together until pointed out to me by my boyfriend, the metro direct to the eiffel tower is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the staff are more than happy to give you directions and a map, overall really wonderful and romantic!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Almost every reviewer refers to the insignificant size of the rooms. So does this one, except that they are even tinier, perhaps a suitcase made for two, or maybe only one and one half persons. With that out of the way what can be said that's good? Not a great deal more unfortunately,but here are the good bits. The room was clean (what's to clean in such a small room one asks?) Beginning with the garish hotel entry, (is it a hotel or another kind of house?) The mad mix of very hot colors are odd indeed, but perhaps the designers are just having fun, so what's the harm. No room for a soap tray in the toothpaste tube masquerading as the bath (really) so personal toiletries go on the floor that's where. Location not all that central either; it's rather empty out there. And the price is high for what is delivered. So why even give 3 stars? Because one star is reserved for the outstanding front desk who do all possible (and succeed) in nearly making a virtue out of a not so good deal.

Room Tip: Get two rooms; one for each. It will be needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There seems to be a bit of debate about the quality of The Five, but I thought it was outstanding ... as long as you understand what you are booking and how much you are paying.

The room we occupied was extremely small, but we knew that when we booked and we were only staying for one night. However, the style and comfort made up for the small size. The little lights above the bed were neat (maybe a bit too bright!), the 'canopy' on the bed amused my wife, the shower was fantastic, and the mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable. Our room faced the street but was still quiet (except for ambulance sirens: be warned that the hotel is near several hospitals). The room was also extremely clean and in very good condition.

The room in which we stayed is one that is shown on the hotel website, and I can say the photo is accurate. I do not think the photo would have misled anyone as to the size of the room.

As we were only there for an evening and we know Paris well, we did not ask for much from the front desk staff. However, I am confident that they would have been happy to recommend restaurants, arrange tours, etc., and done everything with charm and a big smile. Tanya in particular was fantastic; we arrived rather early in the morning, but she managed to let us check in early to freshen up and change clothes before a day of shopping.

I also liked the location of the hotel. Sometimes, we prefer to stay in a hotel that is a little further away from the tourist areas. The Five is on a nice quiet street and the area has a feel of a part of Paris where people actually live. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby, and it is only about a five-minute walk to the Les Gobelins metro stop, which is on a line that will take you to the Marais, the Louvre and the Opera/Galleries Lafayette. Very handy! It's only a 10-minute stroll to the food shops/restaurants on Rue Mouffetard.

You may not want to stay in a rather small room for a week, but for a night or two, it was great. I also got a very good deal on the rate as part of a Eurostar holiday, so I thought the Five was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter than those facing the street, but we still slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iskaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was the people that made the difference for me during a recent stay. Tanya and Manon looked after me when I had a sore leg, and made sure I was as comfortable as possible. The hotel was fun too, and comfortable, and located in a great part of Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#270 of 1,798 in Paris
1,083 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#161 of 1,798 in Paris
228 reviews
Hotel Vice Versa
#301 of 1,798 in Paris
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#197 of 1,798 in Paris
645 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#300 of 1,798 in Paris
677 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#227 of 1,798 in Paris
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Hotel

Property: The Five Hotel
Address: 3, rue Flatters, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly The Five Hotel by Elegancia)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Paris
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#375 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Hotel
Five Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing