We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more after reading the reviews here”
Review of The Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Five Hotel
Ranked #628 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I was expecting more after reading the reviews here”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Overall, the hotel is just OK, but in a city full of hotels I would keep looking and book somewhere else. After reading reviews here and seeing this hotel featured on tablethotels.com I was expecting more and I was disappointed.

As has been written before the rooms are tiny. They are really tiny and I felt like the modern decor was a little hokey and it's purpose was to distract the guest from the fact that he's in a so so hotel. The lobby and common areas looked a bit worn definitely did not give me a good impression when I first walked in.

If you're getting a great deal on the rate then it's fine, but keep looking and I'm sure you'll find something better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    338
    99
    53
    25
See reviews for
45
782
95
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Don't have much more to say. It's very funky, with hip staff, and about 3-4 minutes (unique underpass- hard to see on googlemaps) from the wonderfully Parisian and never-ending mouffetard lane. The rooms are tiny indeed, but who's in Paris to be nestled in a room? --- Love is meant to be displayed while strolling along les rues de Paris...

Room Tip: 7 minute walk to the RER to the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed at the Five Hotel for the weekend of the 7th and 8th of May. The first issue we had was finding the place, the taxi driver had never heard of the street and this was the case for the rest of the weekend - even to the extent of being dumped about a mile from the hotel on Saturday night with the taxi driver saying that he had got us to the hotel!!!!

Check in was 4pm which we felt was quite late, but we were able to freshen up in the toilets, not ideal but OK. Got some good advice from the reception in terms of how to get around town etc - where was the nearest metro.

When we finally got to the room, I was surprised by the size of the room. Not much space other than the bed, girls there is no dressing table to do your make up on as my wife discovered and the bathroom was small but clean. The room was decorated in a nice way but the size just put us off slightly.

The bad bit about the service was when I asked for an iron and ironing board ont he first night, they bought an iron but said they did not know where the ironing board was. I had to make do using a towel on a table - which I do not mind, but when I am paying what this hotel costs I expect to get at least that. They said that they would get me an ironing board for the next night, but when I rung down they just bought up another iron and my request for the board was met with a shrug of shoulders. Annoyed me a lot really.

There was also some work being done in the reception area during our stay - not really disruptive but again when paying the money I just expected a bit better.

The general location is quite good near the Pantheon, but hardly what I would call in the heart of the latin quarter.

To sum up I would say that yes it is small but knowing Paris I reckon that is par for the course. I would say get a hotel a bit more in the heart of the Latin Quarter if you want to go to this area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshlegs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I have stayed all over the world. This hotel is unique.
The rooms are small, but very well appointed. I loved the lighting, and decor....great! The best thing about this funky, frisky spot is the staff. They are simply the nicest, most helpful, in Paris....I felt like I was staying with my best friends...

I feel like I should not reccommend it, so I can keep it to myself, but The Five Hotel will make your stay in Paris better.....absolutely....

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awesleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed in the One by the Five for two nights and had a lovely romantic break from the rest of life. The suite is part of a hotel however it is in a separate building and so you are completely left to your own devices - your only interruption will be your breakfast being delivered at a time of your convenience (TIP: Make sure you have already unwrapped the bath robes for when the door-bell rings as they will keep ringing and you will end up fighting with your bath-robe) :)

One by the Five is designed to make you think about just the two of you and it really does achieve that well. From the champagne in the fridge, to your own private dance floor, to the cocktail receipes, to Edith Piaf and Barry White on the ipod (they have a really great selection of music tracks), to the bedroom and rain shower - it really is fabulous....and great fun.

It is expensive at 940 Euros per night (includes breakfast, the champagne, the fresh fruit in the fridge, the spirits and bottles of water) but it was really worth it and if you want to treat your spouse/partner/partner to be to something special then this is something they won't forget.

The staff were great, extremely welcoming and have great recommendations for local places in the Latin Quarter - they really help to make your visit perfect (thanks to all for such a great stay).

.....and on final note, the bed is probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in...you never want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JenMcTBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Five Hotel for two nights in March and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The value for money at the hotel was terrific and the location superb. Additionally, the staff were really helpful and kind and the rooms (while small) were modern, clean, and charming. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoPiaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed here in February 2011 for my fiance's christmas present. We chose it based on price (it was half term) location and appearance.

The hotel is in the 13th arrondissement, and near to Les Gobelins metro. It looks like it is far out on a map, but the metro line that the hotel is near is actually pretty good for getting to places including Gare de Nord.

The hotel itself is on a side street, off a main road which has several restaurants and convenience stores on it. The front of house lady, Paulina was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, recommending an excellent restaurant nearby and answering any queries we had.

The room itself was small, but we expected this. Most rooms in Paris are small unless you pay hundreds of pounds. It was only big enough to fit in the bed and a wardrobe. On the plus side, the bed was comfy and strewn with petals on our arrival. There was a bathroom with shower cubicle and fairy lights in both the bathroom and bedroom. It was clean yet dimly lit, boutique style.

Despite being small, the hotel ticked all the boxes for us - near a metro stop, clean & comfy, and not too expensive. Not sure I'd stay here again though as I would try a different area of Paris, but we had a pleasant stay at the Five Hotel with no complaints

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#286 of 1,800 in Paris
1,152 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#347 of 1,800 in Paris
721 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#239 of 1,800 in Paris
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#351 of 1,800 in Paris
269 reviews
Platine Hotel
#265 of 1,800 in Paris
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Hotel

Property: The Five Hotel
Address: 3 Rue Flatters, 75005 Paris, France (Formerly The Five Hotel by Elegancia)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Paris
#215 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#374 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Hotel
Five Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing