We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay during sightseeing trip in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Voltaire Republique
Ranked #1,651 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    42
    67
    49
    68
See reviews for
47
75
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

As a poor college student studying abroad, I found HVR on hostelbookers. It really did the job for my friends and I who needed to stay on a budget and visit Paris. It has a great location, 5 minute walk from two different metro stations which made it very easy to get to the city. Linens were free and towels were restocked everyday. We stayed in a private 6 person room which to our surprise (and happiness) actually included a small kitchen with supplies. Had a decent sized bathroom, 4 twin beds, and a double that two of us shared. It wasn't super clean in the hotel but for 20 euro a night it was great and did the job for us. Only complaints were that wifi was not free (and when you do buy it, it doesn't work very well) and that the rooms were very cold (given we stayed in January) but we also had a small balcony which was a nice touch. People we saw staying seemed to be nice and in the same boat, not creepy. Overall it's great for the price as long as you aren't expecting too much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorcollegekids2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

we booked this hotel on price and location, and the fact that being disabled it had a lift. we arrived at 6pm and were put on the fourth floor but with the lift that would not be a problem as no stairs for me to do, the receptionist took our details and quickly asked us to pay for the room up front, having been travelling for many hours we paid up, for our two night stay, she clearly saw that i have walking problem, yet at no point did she say that from the next morning the lift would not be working (yearly maintenance). nor did she say anything after we unpacketed and went out for food. when we returned the night porter informed us that it was not working. 09.30pm woken up with the fire alarm ringing. had to walk down four floors inorder to be told it was a test. the gentleman on reception, says that we need to move rooms, we believe this was dew to my disability. we had to repack and move down to the 1st floor. the lift was never fixed durring our stay. day two fire alarm ringing yet again, never found out why. had we been told on arrival that the lift would not be working, i would have insisted on a 1st floor room, and been able to enjoy our city break at this hotel, however we felt they had had our money and stopped caring. the gentleman later said that someone would have moved our bags later, but this was only after we took them down to reception area in order to get the other room key as he would not give us the other key without getting the other one back. in both rooms things were broken ie lamp shades, or bulbs missing. in the first room i got bitten all over my legs. the 2nd room was cleaner but still broken lights.
the reception staff were very un helpfull, never happy and apart from the gentleman who we believe was the owner even he was not happy, in the two days we never saw the same member of staff twice.
we have been travelling to france for years and this was the first hotel that has ever asked for cash or payment before you stay, it is normally on check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank twoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was in à perfect location close to everything,the room was clean the service was good .close to god restaurangs to Metro end very service maindid personal so yes we are going to book again with easytobook.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, very good location, but poor rooms, dirty, unconfortable beds. Strange smell. Not good value for money...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your comments.
We are sorry about your feelings. Concerning the comfort of the beds it is a very subjective point. Any way the characteristic of our beds corresponds to the standard of 2 star hotels. For the strange smell that you mentioned, we were not aware. You could have informed us in order to solve it during the presence of the waitress. Respectfully yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is horrible!!!!!!! I've booked a double room for the first night and a twin for the following 3 nights.. On the first night, I simply couldn't sleep! The room was so moldy and dusty and I am asthmatic and have allergy to dust mite!
The pillows are unbelievably uncomfortable. They are long and hard and very smelly!
I got desperate after the night night and tried to cancel the rest of my booking but of course the receptionist, very rude by the way, argued that I should've cancelled it 48 hours before my arrival, so I managed to cancel only the last night, which was spent in a much better hotel!
It was a nightmare and the staff were not helpful at all and had that "I don't care" attitude throughout my whole stay!
I don't recommend anyone staying at Voltaire Republique, not even my worst enemy!

Room Tip: Don't ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your comments but I am sorry to tell that you do not tell the truth.
I understand that you wanted to cancel lately your booking. This can happen, but you must follow the cancellation policy. It is not a good reason to say wrong things about our property.
Using the words that you used is absolutely not encouraging our the teams who are at the service of our customers.
But to transform your remark in a positive and pro active manner, we promise that we will be more careful to the feelings of our customers during their trip in our property. Respectfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

great location, good value for money, didn't say it has a kitchenette. All round good value for money for central Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for having shared your experience with us.
By your compliment you encourage our team to be more and more efficient.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Paris in our property.
Respectfully yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,303 of 1,798 in Paris
470 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,215 of 1,798 in Paris
700 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,532 of 1,798 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,496 of 1,798 in Paris
101 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,472 of 1,798 in Paris
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voltaire Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voltaire Republique

Property: Hotel Voltaire Republique
Address: 10 boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,651 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Voltaire Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Voltaire Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voltaire Republique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing