We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Voltaire Republique
Ranked #1,676 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was not at all clean. Bathroom smelled weired. There were weird stains on the wall and in the bathtub. The showercurtain was dirty and the heating almost fell off. The room was smelly (cigarettesmoke and other things...)

For its location though in the Marais a very cheap deal and that's what we went for. But especially the bathroom needs some urgent updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Niek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joan v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I visited Paris for the first time with two friends, so we booked a room for three. I must say that we only wanted a cheap hotel for the night and that's what this hotel is. The carpet and the beds weren't clean so I would recommend to bring your slippers and even a pillowcase. There were only two towels in the bathroom which was clean and there were not enough sockets. The stuff was friendly and the location is the best. We were allowed to leave our luggages after the check out and we took them when we left for the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELENI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Liubov L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hvr-paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Voltaire Republique, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris
11
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Met our needs. Affordable, near main sights, easy walk from train station. Old and unkept (no shower curtain, slower drained slow, walls needed some patch work). Staff were nice and helpful. Only there to sleep at night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The location and the staff of the hotel are the best things that you'll find if you stay in this hotel. What I didn't liked was that the rooms looked very old, the lift is really very small (2 people are too many to get into it) and where you have breakfast is not big enough to feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Edmundo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fab C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,265 of 1,803 in Paris
492 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#1,298 of 1,803 in Paris
36 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#498 of 1,803 in Paris
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#799 of 1,803 in Paris
136 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
#1,105 of 1,803 in Paris
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voltaire Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voltaire Republique

Address: 10 boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,676 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $59 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Voltaire Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Voltaire Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voltaire Republique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing