We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price-functional hotel-simply a place to sleep..”
Review of Hotel Picard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Picard
Ranked #1,478 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Modesto,California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great price-functional hotel-simply a place to sleep..”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

In May 2009, I stayed at the Picard for 3 nights.It was clean,it was safe and "Pierre" at the front desk was very helpful on all matters.The bed was fine, the shower adequate but it is not fancy-its simply a place to sleep.With the metro close at hand ( about 3 blocks away) and all the walking-touring of Paris-who spends the whole day in hotel room while in Paris.I thought I had lost or had stolen my slr/dig camera but the person cleaning my room found it beneath the bed and when I returned, they gave it back to me.I would stay again because the price was perfect for low cost traveler and the local bistros are cheap and friendly.Jules

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julius7716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    26
    16
    23
See reviews for
11
37
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Brace yourself that the hotel is just a place to sleep and don't expect anything fancy. The rooms are decent size but the bathroom with a shower is tiny. My toilet leaked on the bathroom floor when I got there and when I complained at reception they just put a sheet around the toilet. The shower was not clean or cleaned properly while I stayed there. The stairways are very dirty and the elevator is big enough for a normal female. Breakfast consists of a croissant and three pieces of bagette with jam and butter and tea/coffee. The staff can speak english but Phillipe is quite rude. Bring your own hairdryer with if you plan on staying here. Hotel is close to supermarkets and shops.

  • Liked — Close to supermarkets
  • Disliked — Scruffy room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Manchester (UK)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The location of the hotel is excellent but the room was not clean at all. We found a grape under the table and a cockrach! The room is very big but definitely needs renovation! The staff was friendly except the man that was working in the evenings...We haven't used the metro at all so that's the good point of the hotel: the location is very centric.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the cockroach!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I enjoyed my recent stay in Hotel Picard. The staff, who all spoke or understood English (and I encountered at least five staff members) were very friendly and helpful! I stayed in a single room with a shower and it was a rather worn, but very functional. The hotel is overall very cramped, the halls are narrow and the elevator quite an experience, the smallest one I've ever seen! Won't work if you're in a wheelchair. The renovation mentioned by previous reviewers is at a stand still it seems. Breakfast is served in the reception area. Coffee/tea/chocolate, baguette, croissant, butter, cheese, jam, and a boiled egg for 5 euros. Quite nice. If you're looking for a cheap hotel in the area I warmly recommend the Picard. It's very good value and you will feel well looked after by the staff.

  • Liked — Low price
  • Disliked — Could be cleaner
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2007

I first stayed at this hotel back in 2002 and returned recently to find a similarly pleasant experience. This hotel is fantatsic for budget travelers as the rates are slightly cheaper than comparable places in the same area, just north of the marais. Though it is a bit rough around the edges (that ground floor renovation has been going on quite awhile...) the friendly and helpful staff make up for any shortcomings and you can count on it being clean with adequately-sized rooms. I will certainly return =)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — not enough TV stations, but in Paris, should one really be watching tv in a hotel room?
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berba-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I'd recommend the hotel due to its practical location. The hotel is situated quite centrally - near the Republique and Temple metro station. Lots of eating-places and shopping-complexes around the area. Walkable distance to the Latin quarters.
The twin-room that we stayed in was fairly spacious. Clean and pleasant room. The attached bathroom and toilet was clean and functioned well throughout our stay. Cost was 72 euros per day (twin room). Reasonable price, I thought.

The ground-floor is being renovated currently. Reception's on the 1st floor.

Hotel owner was quite helpful - informed us on the metro strikes and recommended the cycling around Paris. :) Didn't try the breakfast.
Would recommend the hotel to others. Pleasantly surprised with the good service.

  • Liked — Location and good accomodation for the price
  • Disliked — No internet, renovation downstairs, tricky to find initially.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fuchsia365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Not many web reviews for this place so here goes:

We stayed here for three nights: two nights in the triple-triple room, and one night in a single room.

Location: Great. Republique Metro stop, 15 mins walks from Metro but bit tricky to find

Neighbourhood: Safe, suitable for female travellers. Close to boulangeries, boucheries, 2 major grocery stores, McDonalds and of course cafes/bars

Price: 38 euros/person for triple room, 37 euros/person single room. Continental breakfast is avaiable every morning for something like 4, 50 euros...but there's so many great places to eat or pick up something nearby, we didn't even bother

Lift: Yes, very small (only fits 3 people and 225 kg (!) of luggage)

Luggage Room: No, but the staff are OK with you leaving your luggage in reception and they will watch over it for you

Security: Not that well thought out. There is someone at the reception at all times (for the most part). The entrances are not locked and because the reception is on the 1st floor, any dubious character has already made it into the building before the staff can do anything about it.

Noise: We stayed in summer, so with the windows open (no air-con) you hear the vehicle traffic most of the night

Common Areas: Almost new foyer, but the reception, stairwells and corridors are old, dark and badly need refurbishing. I get the impression that the owner is fixing up the place a little bit at a time....slowly but surely.

The Rooms: The triple-triple room ( #307) was perfectly acceptable. It had a brand new bathroom, clean sheets, TV and brand new matresses. Also had a free safe to store your valuables. It was bright, clean with an ecclectic mix of furniture, linens and towels (brightly coloured beach towels). Not the Ritz, but then you don't come to Paris to stay in your room, right?

The single room on the other hand was terrible. The old adage, 'You get what you pay for' definitely applies here (37 euros/night + cost of shower). The matress was new, the sheets/towels were still clean, but the carpeting on the floor and the walls (?) was filthy. The lock on the door worked, but there was a hole underneath the knob covered over with some tape. (Safe? I slept with the table against the door). The room only had a sink, which I was aware of. But the shared toilet was around the corner in a dark, scary corridor right next the shared shower. The shower cost 3 Euros for 10 mins of water. The shower stall was very old (circa French Revolution) and badly needed replacing. The shower stall's cleanliness left much to be desired ( mouldy tiles and generally unkempt) I cannot recommend this particular room... I was unable to get a good night's sleep in this room.

The Staff :Friendly, helpful and accomodating, especially if you attempt to speak a bit of French. Also, remember that you are in France where they don't abide by North American rules of scheduling and punctuality. Be prepared to wait for your room to be ready....you'll have time to enjoy a coffee in the cafe next door. When in France....

I would only stay here again in the triple room and if they hurry up with the renovations. I would recommend the Hotel Picard, if you aren't keen on languishing about in your room.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#565 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,533 of 1,802 in Paris
162 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel de Roubaix
Hotel de Roubaix
#351 of 1,802 in Paris
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#866 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,314 of 1,802 in Paris
198 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel du Vieux Saule
Hotel du Vieux Saule
#1,168 of 1,802 in Paris
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picard

Property: Hotel Picard
Address: 26 rue de Picardie | 3rd Arr., 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,478 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Picard 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Picard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picard Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing