We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”
Review of Hotel de l'Aveyron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Aveyron
Ranked #1,640 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of days with spouse and the hotel room was on the 5th floor there was no elevator in the hotel and the room was not well maintianed, the sheets were not clean. We did not have access to wi-fi on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor rooms, location is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Uday_k_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    47
    69
    47
    39
See reviews for
40
78
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Location and price were big factors when looking for a place to stay for our honeymoon, but this place is just terrible. All the pictures on booking.com are taken in the foyer, and create a false sense of security and our expectations have definitely not been met.

1. Stairs to the rooms are small, cramped, dirty, slanting to one side and rickety.
2. Our room reeks of smoke, though we booked a non-smoking room.
3. The bedcover has numerous cigarette burns.
4. The bedding wasn't changed during our stay, though the pillows, blanket and duvet cover smell of smoke.
5. The bathroom has a tile missing on the corner of the shower, so all manner of bugs can crawl in.
6. Walls are paper thin, thus noise from adjoining rooms are quite bothersome.

If the hotel didn't already have my card details, we would've left and taken our chances somewhere else. Please, pay more and stay somewhere else. This place is the centre of Dodgeville.

Helpful?
2 Thank catterflyworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Bad hotel, dirty and full of mold. even.. the sheets are dirty!! The reception is restored and pleasant, but if you climb the stairs.. the "dream" ends! i cant forget.. the stairs were full of dust and the waitress had put the sheets on the floor, indifferent to the customers! the bathroom was painful, and very very small.
Listen to me.. better to spend more and avoid similar dives!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We paid 140 Euro for a room for 4 people including breakfast. Room was clean, functional, but basic. There was no A/C but the fan was welcome and the temperature was not a problem despite the hot weather in Paris that week. The breakfast was small but good. Location was the biggest plus for us- we wanted to be near Gare du Lyon. This was the main factor in deciding on this hotel for our last minute booking. We probably could have done better, but for a last-minute ( 1 week ahead of arrival) find, it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

- Easy to find
- Close to Gare de Lyon
- Slightly unfriendly welcome but we were able to leave our bags there for the day
- Staircase leading up to rooms very dark and dingy
- Room OK but oddly decorated
- Bathroom very cramped and a bit mouldy
- Bed quite uncomfortable
- Very thin walls so very noisy resulting in a very bad night's sleep
- Didn't stay for breakfast but didn't look very appealing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in May 2009, solo traveler on his way home from several weeks of touring Turkey and Balkans. Price for Paris, about 65 euro, is hard to beat. A very small room, pretty dark. I remember while climbing the narrow stairway thinkig that if there was a fire I would be in deep trouble.
Located in what felt like more of an alley than a real street. OK location. If you can afford better I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Service: No complaints, staff were friendly enough. Wouldn't hurt to be a tad more accommodating to English speakers seeing as they run a hotel and all.

Room: No way were they two star rooms. looked like a renovation in progress in some parts. No control for the heating, woke up sweating the first night, slept with the window open from then on (which didnt help with the noise). Upon flushing the toilet the room would be filled with the smell of sewerage.

Beds were uncomfortable and the pillow had the faint smell of cigarettes. Whilst fluffing my pillow (which was like a loose bag of feathers) I had a small bug fall from it and crawl off my bed (gross)

Bathroom was dirtier than I'd keep my own (let alone a hotel bathroom) and the shower was ill designed and broken.

The location is fantastic. Right around the corner from Gare Du Lyon. nearby restaurants were reasonably priced and it was a short walk to the river, metro and Bastille. Free fast wifi was also a plus.

Dont bother with breakfast. Options and quantity is limited. Was expecting better coffee for a parisian hotel. Better off going to a local patisserie and buying a croissant there!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbrightside88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
#1,346 of 1,800 in Paris
93 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#942 of 1,800 in Paris
222 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,089 of 1,800 in Paris
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#995 of 1,800 in Paris
241 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,362 of 1,800 in Paris
227 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,118 of 1,800 in Paris
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Aveyron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Aveyron

Property: Hotel de l'Aveyron
Address: 5 rue d Austerlitz | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,640 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de l'Aveyron 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilled, recently renovated Paris 2 star hotel combining modern facilities with traditional decor located in a laid-back corner of the pulsating 12th district of Paris, just a 2 minutes' walk from Gare d'Austerlitz rail station and a few steps from the River Seine. Lively urban area offering a wide range of attractions and excellent public transport links to Paris. good choice of cafés, bars and restaurants ranging from Indian, Chinese and Japanese to traditional French brasseries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de l'Aveyron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Aveyron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing