We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Room in Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Room in Paris
Ranked #17 of 130 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

First of all, the location was very good, near the Gare du Nord, just 5 mins walk from the station. But you may have a problem that you don't reckon from the main door that you will be going to stay there. Just be sure you are going to find it with the address. The room was beautiful and somewhat artistic, with many unique decorations. The room was spacious and we just love it. The toilet was also very clean. Breakfast was okay. One little point was that we did see some dirt on those glasses. Anywayz, we really had three comfortable nights here and I would recommend this to other friends.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank monstertoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    55
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
105
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed in Room no.1 with my husband for six nights in May. This could well be the most economic room in a well located B&B in Paris. The room was small but that was expected. It had a tall window and enough movement space. There wasn't a closet but plenty of drawers and shelves. Their other two rooms are larger. There are two bathrooms, both very clean and spacious. The breakfast was more than adequate and home baked croissants were very very good. There is a small refrigerator in the passage in which the guests can keep their stuff.

Peet Verrest is a genial host and has lots of tips and advice about the city and the bus routes etc. On the whole we had a very comfortable stay in this tidy and well kept home which is just a few minutes walking distance from Gare du Nord and east.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and convenience of public transport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The place has been done up beautifully with personal touches everywhere including the bathrooms. We got a maroon themed room. It was very pretty and clean. The bathrooms especially need a mention. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. The house is 5 mins walking distance from Gare du Nord. The breakfast was ordinary but sufficient.

  • Liked — The home itself
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JammyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/FRANCE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is a beautifully, newly renovated Haussmannienne flat. The rooms are large and airy with their high ceilings and lots of natural light. Decor is very tasteful: the artwork, furniture, linens and lighting. Super comfy beds, too. Peet and Thierry are very helpful and accommodating, not to mention the place smelled wonderful walking into Peet's homemade jams simmering !

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monunisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed 5 days with my son in March. I had caught a flu in London and felt awfull upon arrival. The host truly went out of his way to help me feel better, get a doctor and even helped me get my medicin!! He saw to every detail ! I cannot thank him enough, and so does my son, who could then tour Paris on his own for the couple days I stayed "home".
The premises are spotless clean, so very spacious! and continental breakfast is great. The location is very central, very safe, and just a few stations away from most attractions. This will definitely be my choice for future visits !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cordobesaforexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

My friend and I have just returned from Paris last week. Staying in A Room in Paris made it very convenient for us to go anywhere as it's only 5 minutes walk from Gare Du Nord. The property owner was quite friendly. He also helped recommend us, first timers, nice places to visit. The hotel itself was very nice and clean and we didn't have any problem with our stay at all. I would recommend my friends to stay there if they want a nice, convenient and inexpensive place to stay in Paris.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No private bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chally39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful B&B over the New Years Holiday. The room we stayed in was very large and comfortable, and the location was just perfect. Each morning we were greeted with smiling faces and great food. The hosts were so friendly and inviting - I felt like they were family. Everyone went out of their way to help make our Paris trip spectacular. I would stay there again and I would recommend this place as a great value.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#25 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#25 of 130 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
La Villa Paris
#3 of 130 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les3chambres
Les3chambres
#1 of 130 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room in Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room in Paris

Property: A Room in Paris
Address: 130 rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the city centre of Paris 5 beautiful rooms, in an apartment Haussmann style, with beautyful chimneys, wooden floors and decorated ceilings. Next to de gare du Nord, with all means of transport. Simply the best way to be in Paris! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Room in Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Room In Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing