We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Room in Paris
Nearby Hotels
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$345
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$404
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$232
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$282
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$1,780
$1,273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$283
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$280
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
136
56
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
56
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgare duother guestsshared bathroomevery morningcroissantsprepared breakfastleaving earlystayed nights herehome away from homewatch tvrooms are spaciousstreet noisesmall roommetro stationlocation is excellenteiffel towerpeet
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 213 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 3 nights at A room in Paris after 8 day trip Hiking Tour of Mont Blanc in the Alps. Peet met us at the door and welcomed us into his special place. We read all the reviews of this place and yes the lift(elevator) is exceptionally small to but only to us Americans who travel with too much stuff. If you look at the architecture the lift was designed to preserve the wonderful spiral staircase. Our host served a home baked fruit tart and a cheese treat along with croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, cheese,bread meat ,eggs and delicious coffee and homemade yogurt. Peet's tip to get us on the right bus to visit Eiffel tower was great. We would definetly return to a room in Paris, perhaps in fall or spring. We stayed in room 4 facing the courtyard. It was very large and quiet at night, with refrig and microwave. We dined at places suggested to us and all were exactly what we were looking for. We were even offered a little breakfast "travel" bag the morning we left for airport.

Room Tip: Room 4 is largest room facing courtyard. Quieter at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TMBeurope2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was the third time we returned to stay at a Room in Paris and the hospitality we received from Peet was just a reminder why we would never stay anywhere else! Our room was large, airy and beautifully decorated in that art nouveau style that just reminds you of the beauty of the city. The beds were so comfortable after a long day of sightseeing, and now the room includes a refrigerator so you can have wine and cheese at the end of the day. The location near Gare Du Nord is perfect for taking the metro into the city or catching a train to Giverny, Rouen or a number of sites for day trips. There is also a grocer and pharmacy just around the corner. Breakfast in the dining room, with 15 feet ceilings and large windows, and lovely antique furnishings serves as a relaxing and beautiful way to start your day. On the overcast days candles are lit at the breakfast table which creates a lovely ambiance.The breakfasts are delicious – he makes the best croissant and French toast. The coffee is to die for and the conversation is always interesting. Peet and Thierry are the most gracious hosts, making sure that everyone’s needs are met and they are multilingual so they speak with everyone in their native language, putting each visitor at ease. During our most recent visit we were hoping to make a day trip out of the city and Thierry gave us wonderful suggestions on what to see in Rouen which allowed us to make good use of our time and spend a day without being hurried. A Room in Paris is an oasis because of their kindness and hospitality and is as unique as the finds you will discover in Paris. In fact, it is the best treasure we’ve found in the City and this is why we will always return. It is like coming home.

Room Tip: A Room in Paris is located just up the Street from Gare Du Nord which makes travel in and around Paris that much accessible.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 343LisaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am loathe to write this review as we found a little gem that we don't necessarily want the world to know about but as it would do a great disservice to the hosts I am going to write the truth!!

We had a great stay at A Room in Paris. To our delight it was no more than a 3 mins walk from Gare du Nord (5 mins with having to wait to cross the streets!!) and had a lift if we required it.

Peet the host is lovely, very helpful and a great cook too!

Our room was big and airy and we had plenty of room. It was not ensuite but it really didn't bother us too much as there were a couple of bathrooms we were able to use when required. We were slightly worried about the noise on Rue Lafayette as with the windows open it was quite noisy, well it is a major street, however when the windows were closed at night we heard nothing.

Breakfast was the usual array of fresh croissants, ham, cheese, cereal, orange juice, coffee/tea but Peet cooked a delicious 'surprise' for us each morning. Our favourite was definitely the French toast and if you are lucky enough to have it while you stay you won't be disappointed!

Gare du Nord is a major transport hub in Paris and from there any attraction in Paris is easily accessible. It really isn't a problem getting to anywhere from here.

There is a Leader Price supermarket on the corner of Rue Lafayette however we didn't find this supermarket in any way useful except for bottles of water. We did find a Carrefour City on the block up (between Gare du Nord and Leader Price - A Room in Paris is a couple of doors the other side of Leader Price) which had everything we could have possibly wanted. We'd recommend going there if you need anything.

We all agreed we would highly recommend staying at A Room in Paris - Peet is a great host, the location can not be beaten and we were truly comfortable during our stay here.

We wouldn't hesitate in going back to stay and will certainly be hoping there is availability for our next trip!

All in all highly recommended and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Don't be worried if your room is on Rue Lafayette....with the windows closed at night you can't heard the traffic
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rettoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We rented the apartment that does not include breakfast. It is in the same building complex and has a nice elevator to get you up the 6 flights of stairs. We are a family of 4 with a 13 and 15yr olds and this place was cozy. It had everything you need but you have to really get along. The bed and sofa bed are comfortable and the bathroom has a nice shower. The kitchenette is a great bonus - very good use of space. The owners left us alone but were available if we needed them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dahlia1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Peet was a great host! He provided recommendations and advice on getting around the city - using buses instead of the metro in order to sight see.
The breakfast was the best we had while in France - homemade yogurt, croissants, fruit/cheese.
We stayed in one room for two nights at the beginning of our trip with shared facilities and a private room for three nights at the end of our trip. Both were super charming!
Would most certainly return any time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobrien8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews