We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some improvement but otherwise pretty good”
Review of A Room in Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Room in Paris
Ranked #16 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
murrieta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could use some improvement but otherwise pretty good”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights starting the 4th of June. I arrived and Peet was not there but there was a friend that was expecting us. At first when we got off at the train station the area didn't look too good but we had not problems and it was a very convient location, not only for the metro but from coming into the train station from London and going to the airport. The room was small and the first night we stayed it was very hot and there was no fan. We were shown 1 bathroom across the hall from our room that we were suppose to use, but after a few days were told there was another one we could use except at night. Also upon arrival it was my understanding that we could use the common room (the room where breakfast was served) but that wasn't true the only time you can use the dinning room is in the morning at breakfast time otherwise I was told it was "private" since Peet lived there. There is no access to tea or coffee after breakfast and they don't even want you in the kitchen to help yourself to coffee or tea. I felt as though I was invading someones home and usually when I stay at a B&B I am welcome to use the common areas and usually there is coffee and tea available for me to help myself to any time and sometimes light snacks or bottled water during the day, but not here. Anyway breakfast was great every morning and they were very accommodating about the breakfast time. I also ended up having a friend come alone and I e mailed them a week ahead of time and ask if the room could accomodate 1 other person with a seperate bed and when I got there it was 1 bed.
Overall I'd stay there again and recommend it to others but I would give them the heads up on the living situation with the owner and that there really isn't a common area available to guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taxchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aroominparis, Propriétaire at A Room in Paris, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hallo,

In Paris a square meter is really very expensive and apart from the guestrooms and the hall there are no communal areas. Our private livingroom we take back after breakfast. Having 365 days a year guests in your home, you need to protect your privacy. A part from that nearly all guests are out for the day and come home late at night with just 1 wish, to rest....The kitchen is an area where we do all our washings, and prepare breakfast. If we allow guests to use the kitchen we can not guarantee the hygiene. However it is always possible to ask us for a coffee or a tea, we're happy to provide you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
107
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lichtervelde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We cycled from Belgium to Paris in 4 days and stayed in 'a room in Paris' for 3 nights. We could use the basement to store our 2 bikes without any problem.
We were staying in the biggest room, very nice decorated.
Breakfast was ok !
Peet was very helpfull and gave us all information we needed.
Conclusion : "We enjoyed our stay !"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dixi_dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

beautiful property, lovely room, clean, great bed and that's about it. Peet was not there and the guy how looked after us, well:( . 4 of us arrived and were told there was only one room booked, even though my friend called in the morning to confirm 2 rooms and was told yes. We were waiting around for ages, not offered a cuppa or what was going on. Eventually we could check in. Breakfast he was at the table, on his lap top, not so friendly. The next morning he was speaking french and completely ignored us, which by that time was fine. We felt that we were in the way, and did not enjoy our stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FeeandStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Peet & Thierry's gorgeous home for 4 nights in April. What a beautiful home it is! Our room was the largest and decorated perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable & there was plenty of room in cupboards to hang clothes. After a long day wandering around Paris it was a comfortable room to spread out in. A small table and chairs were great to set our computer up on. Breakfast was great. There was plenty for everyone, freshly baked bread, hot croissants,home made yoghurt and fresh meats, cereal, fruit and usually a baked pie of some sort. The dining room is divine and always set with beautiful white table cloths,napkins and silverware. Candles were always lit and as it was Easter, bowls of Easter eggs! Peet is a fabulous host and full of information on how to get around Paris, restaurant suggestions etc. Unfortunately he was only there for the first morning we were there but his friend Bernadino took over and was equally helpful.
The location is very close to Gare de Nord and the subway, buses etc. It's a little far from the heart of Paris but an easy walk to most things. If I had any complaint it would be the location, but that was only because we had an injury and walking was not always an option.
I would recommend staying at A Room in Paris, Peet is fantastic, you meet other travellers and the rooms are stunning.
Would definitely go back.
Thanks Peet!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Peet's assistant helped us with metro stops, nearby restaurants. We were there for 10 days in May 2010. Next year when we return to Europe and come to Paris, we will stay at A room in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booker6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here 4 lovely nights in April(April in Paris) and a warm April it was. Peet was a great host. You feel like you are staying in someone's apartment--because you are. Peet is a fountain of information and how to do things in Paris. We have been to Paris 5 plus times and it is the first time we made massive use of the bus system per Peet recommendation. we met an expat couple on the bus and had an interesting conversation with them....We saw Thierry only occasionally. Peet is the host and baker. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The area is a fun area but it may intimidate some not use to Paris. Don't be - ask Peet. I enjoyed just walking around the neighborhood and being a local.... We basically had a different breakfast every morning that was always accompanied by great conversation. Shop the Marais. My wife bought 4 pairs of shoes there(of 6 she bought in Paris)
My wife smokes so we had the one room with a balcony. It got a little noisy on Saturday night but otherwise it was very quiet...The other rooms are quieter.
We also traveled one day to Giverny...and had a great easy trip there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sothbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Best thing about A ROOM IN PARIS is Peet. He is very helpful and knows all. Bathrooms always clean. Room price is good. Good location, within 5 min walk of Gare Du Nord station. Many restaurants in area; Peet knows which are good/bad. Excellent American style coffee. Other best things are the croissants and other baked goods. Worst thing is that the croissants are rationed.

Tiny elevator lift (2 people or 1 person plus luggage.) Rooms are dimly lit, I had to remove lamp shades for extra light.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Standiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#77 of 1,802 in Paris
212 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,802 in Paris
1,254 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#45 of 1,802 in Paris
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,802 in Paris
943 reviews
La Villa Paris
#3 of 132 in Paris
414 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#27 of 132 in Paris
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room in Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room in Paris

Property: A Room in Paris
Address: 130 rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the city centre of Paris 5 beautiful rooms, in an apartment Haussmann style, with beautyful chimneys, wooden floors and decorated ceilings. Next to de gare du Nord, with all means of transport. Simply the best way to be in Paris! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Room in Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Room In Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing