We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Ranked #635 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel definitely is in a great location. It was so quick and easy to get to the Metro, many cafes and Luxembourg Gardens. The room was very basic and small, and the floor sloped badly. It wasn't unclean but wasn't super clean either. The bathroom was good and there were nice French door windows to open up and enjoy the view. The walls are thin and there was noise from the hall, elevator as well as outside. I recommend trying to get a room away from the stairs and on the Place d'Odeon side (not the street side). Although we weren't thrilled with the hotel, it was a bargain and such a great location. The staff was nice, although not very knowledgeable. We didn't get the breakfast--it looked underwhelming, and there are many options within a couple of blocks. If you're looking for a basic hotel in a central location, this might be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jggeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 362 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Three visits now to the Hotel Michelet Odeon. It's very good value and convenient. An easy walk wheeling luggage from the metro and walking distance to various sights (including one night back from an organ recital at Notre Dame). Rooms are small, and on my first visit with my husband it was tight with luggage open but the windows help to ensure one doesn't feel closed in.
Last time I had a corner room, which was even better for a sense of space, light, air and that great sense of being in Paris.
I noticed that it was all women at breakfast last time (I think I was the only non academic judging by the conversations). That suggests a neighbourhood and place that a woman feels relatively safe in.
I think it's very good value and after our first stay (more than 10 years ago), I've never bothered considering anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The main attraction of this small hotel is its location. It is situated right next to the Theatre de Odeon, a block away from the Jardin du Luxembourg and a short walk to the shops and restaurants down by Boulevard St. Germain. There is not much vehicle traffic so it is relatively quiet at night (apart from the occasional drunken revelers). There is a bike share rack conveniently located behind the hotel. The hotel itself is petite with a small lobby and elevator. Our room with a double bed was cute and tiny. For 10 euros more you can get a bigger room with twin beds. The hotel is clean and simple and front desk staff are helpful when asked about something. Breakfast is available in the small dining room but we opted for the nearby "Au Petit Suisse" for morning croissants and coffee. If you are a jogger, you might like this hotel since you can go running in the beautiful Jardin du Luxembourg.

Room Tip: Pay the 10 Euro extra for a bigger room with two twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrM1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great price for clean room in excellent location. Concerned about the lack of air conditioning but turns out the evenings were as promised - cool even in July. Opened windows and used existing fans so non issue. Staff is very accommodating. Worked with Mustapha at the front desk in advance to help with booking restaurants, museums and transfers. He worked hard to get us the best deals and followed up promptly. What this place lacks in luxury it makes up for in charm and efficiency. Preferred saving money on sleeping so we could spend it on food, shopping, experiences!! Hotel is seconds from hip and bohemian St Germain area.

Room Tip: Only hotel we can find where we could put four people in one room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Michelet Odeon has small but very nicely decorated rooms (Scandinavian style), very comfortable beds and ultra modern baths (shower in our case). The July 2012 price for a double room was under 100 euros a night. The staff was extremely helpful to us in arranging airport transportation, Metro itineraries, etc. Breakfast is at extra cost and not worth it. But you can walk about 50 meters to the Cafe Petit Suisse and get a great continental petit dejeuner for 7 euros. The hotel's neighborhood is full of good restaurants and shops. Directly across the small Place Odeon is Le Mediterraneo, with an interior designed by Jean Cocteau and good menu.
A tip: ask for a room on the upper floors of the hotel as there is a bit of noisy street life most nights that can disburb sleepers lower down. (This is partly the result of laws that put smokers out of bars and restaurants to light up.)
Fine hotel that we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

...above all, location makes this hotel. It takes 3 or 4 mins to walk down to the centre of the Latin Quarter around St Michel.

This area of bistros, bookshops, arcades and old restaurants, focussed on the fabulous fountain showing the archangel St Michael killing the devil (why, despite the clear evidence to the contrary, with Gabriel and Michael as examples, are angels so often depicted as pinkfaced curly-haired women?) is the intellectual hub, the Soho, the Greenwich Village of Paris.

Taking the same walk southward, one is immediately walking in the delightful Luxembourg Gardens where we encountered a sleeping young man in DJ stretched along a bench: what sort of party night had he enjoyed?

Apart from the location, the hotel is what one would expect for a city 2-star, clean, comfortable, helpful reception. No restaurant and rather primitive breakfast space, but a good breakfast. Super hot water, nice fluffy towels.

For those who arrive in Paris with their car, nervously wondering if they can ever manage to get anywhere with all those one-way streets (ALL in Paris are one-way), there is a bonus to this hotel. There is plenty of street parking around. It is not cheap, about 7.50/hr if I remember correctly, but free in the evening and weekend. Our visit was a long weekend at Easter and our car was always within 3mins walk, it cost 15€ in the first two hours of Friday evening and that was the total. For the whole weekend, we mastered the mysteries of the Paris Metro, which is more than just a Metro, as it encompasses three railway systems with many interchanges available. Buying a 3-day ticket meant unlimited travel on that system and the bus system as well, but we will handle the buses on our next visit.

No hotel is really cheap inside the peripherique in Paris, and 140/night was top of our price bracket, but it was surprisingly quiet at night and you could not beat it for...

Location, location, location.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK, there are also family suites which our friends took and they were very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeptimusFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there 2 night end of June 2012. It is a nice hotel clean and comfortable. Very good location close to Odéon subway and St Michel RER station. Staff gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#586 of 1,809 in Paris
571 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#357 of 1,809 in Paris
486 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#567 of 1,809 in Paris
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#535 of 1,809 in Paris
215 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#278 of 1,809 in Paris
567 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelet Odeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelet Odeon

Address: 6 Place de l Odeon | Saint Germain des Prés, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $117 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Michelet Odeon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres, in a pleasing decor and at a very reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Michelet Odeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelet Odeon Hotel
Michelet Odeon Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing