We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #616 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb find”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Viator after a long journey and a difficult confusion over an online booking that had left my wife, a friend and I with no room for two nights. Having arrived at the Gare de Lyon - approximately 100 metres away - we walked into the Hotel Viator and were welcomed with open arms by a friendly receptionist and this was to set the tone for an excellent two days. Excellent positioning of the hotel, which is very clean, and very helpful staff with superb advice for how to make the best of our long weekend there. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOREANDRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    151
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
97
51
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing wrong with this place, ideal walking distance to Gare De Lyon train Station (within 5 min) pleasant room with with a lovely breakfast. Shop opposite for drinks ect, about a 20 min walk though, to catch the BatuBus which takes you to all the main sights along the River Seine, (also highly recommended)

Room Tip: the Bar a few doors up is very expensive for the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
575 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hotel Viator is a very good option for those arriving to Paris at the Gare de Lyon. It’s just a short walk from the front of the station and is conveniently located on an intersection with plenty of enarby restaurants and brasseries. When you first step in, the lobby isn’t very impressive—in fact, it seems a little seedy. But, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were larger, cleaner, and more comfortable that we expected. The air conditioning worked well, and the room was amazingly quiet given its location. They’ve obviously invested in some new windows and insulation because we slept quite well without interruption—important since we were just stopping in for the night after a two-week tour of France and were departing early the next morning for the airport.
The staff arranged reasonable taxi service to CDG, too, and were helpful in every way. All spoke excellent English, too. The bathroom in our room (104) looked recently redone and it, too, was spacious and clean. The 12me isn’t exactly the tourist hub of Paris, but given the proximity to the Gare de Lyon, easy access to the airport (taxi or Air France bus from GdL), and reasonable price, we’d definitely recommend the Hotel Viator again!

Room Tip: We were only on the second floor (premiere etage) on the street corner and the room was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

100 metres north of the Gare de Lyon and on the 65 bus route from Gare de Nord, the hotel was ideally situated for us. It also proved ideally suited - clean, comfortable, quiet and reasonably priced with friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Lots of local shops including a Monoprix, restaurants and other transport links.
We did not have breakfast at all but, from afar, it looked fine.
With no obvious drawbacks we were more than happy - even the early morning noise of the infamous Paris bin clearance and street clean was missing from our two night stay, even though we had the windows open.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are obviously further away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Observer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

For those you are transiting from Hostels to Hotel, this is a really nice start hotel. The price was Ok for Paris and location. In less then 5 minutes you can reach Gare de Lyon. Theres some shops where you can buy sandwiches, bread, cookies, fruits, pizza, snacks in general, coffee, drinks... everyting, and they are open from 08h30 until 24h00. There some cheap/nice fast food restaurants, chinese, arab, etc all around. People in the Hotel are nice, but we where going out at 09h00 and coming back at 22h00 so we didn't pass so many time in the hotel. Breakfast is not included in the price, and a little bit expansive(normal for Paris) but with a few euros you can buy anywhere some french bread and french pastry and enjoy the breakfast in a nice garden our in the borders of the river :) The temperature of the room was Ok, the towels, bed cheats and room, always clean. I will return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are quieter Wifi dosent work very well on the 7th floor, but who cares about wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Was a great place to stay before our early morning train ride to Rome. Being so close to Gare de Lyon makes this a great affordable place to stay. Rooms are clean and sufficient the staff are very friendly. It's close to anything you would want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 293davec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Being a less than 5 minute walk from one of the biggest train stations in Paris makes this hotel a very suitable option for tourists. The rooms have everything you need plus a few extras if you ask the staff (i.e. iron etc) who do their best to attend to your needs. Although there was an air conditioner present in our rooms its effect was marginal at best thus we preferred to open the windows a bit despite the loud traffic below. For breakfast there are many options of varying quality and freshness. I would certainly consider this hotel again if I'm lucky enough to return to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#946 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#508 of 1,802 in Paris
887 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#573 of 1,802 in Paris
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#544 of 1,802 in Paris
609 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 1 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viator Paris Welcome to the Hotel Viator Paris The hotel Viator Paris, in the 12th district of Paris, is located just a few steps from << Gare de Lyon>> and just a few minutes walk from "Bastille" square, an ideal location, wether for a business trip or a leisure stay. The hotel Viator Paris, welcomes you in a beautiful Haussmann building whose architecture with stone facades and balconies missed the second and the fifth floor, his style contributes to the image of Paris. The hotel Viator Paris, offers you a spacious lobby open to the living room, elegant and bright, where you can enjoy a relaxing time. Nestled in a comfortable chair, you will have the opportunity to view our newspapers, available in several languages, just as you can enjoy a business center space where a computer is available, with Wi-Fi free in the entire hotel. You will be seduced by the charm of typically Parisian hotel with attentive staff at your convenience, will offer the opportunity to spend an unforgettable stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viator Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing