We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Russian language in the most intelligent place in Paris.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #61 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Russian language in the most intelligent place in Paris.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when I learned that the hotel manager is fluent in Russian.
The hotel is located in the heart of the main filming locations of French New Wave cinema.
Very nice and quite area. Jean-Paul Sartre was pleased.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anton_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    226
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
168
267
45
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very good value. Small room, but nicely renovated. Staircase might be challenging for some (but not for these two sixty-somethings!) A charming courtyard for relaxing. Great neighbourhood. Close to the Metro (Montparnasse)--still the best way to get around in Paris. Although we arrived at Gard de Lyon and took a taxi to the hotel. Not expensive. Service efficient and pleasant. It helps to have some French. Simone de Beauvoir and Jean Paul Sartre lived here 1937 to 1939! (Well, we were impressed).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloiseBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Small, cosy hotel situated on a quiet street. Just loved the shops/restuarants/hairdressers nearby. The only disappointment was that my "economy-priced" room was situated on the 5th floor and the hotel had no elevators!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortynineplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in a twin room on the top floor. It was a decent size, clean and comfortable with a basin in the room. It faced the back so was lovely and quiet. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The room we booked has the toilet just outside (only we used it) and a shared shower on the floor below which was always clean with pleny of hot water.

We didn't have the breakfast but the staff were welcoming in letting us know we could use the microwave and fridge in the breakfast room. This was lovely to make light suppers if we wanted to. There is also a sunny courtyard with chairs and tables. Also downstairs there was a computer and guests could use the internet for a bit each day.

Nearby there are different metro stations, Montparnasse station (trains to Versailles for example) but to be honest we enjoyed walking to the sights from the hotel. The Orlybus stops nearby. There is also a massive Monoprix (supermarket) just down the street with a hot food counter as well as all the usual and a street nearby of resturants, pizza places etc.

For us this was perfect. A clean, central, friendly, quiet and comfortable hotel to spend a week in while exploring Paris.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenhatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hotel Mistral is very nice hotel to stay. We had spent 4 nights here and it was absolutly fine. Yes, it is true the rooms are tiny, but you spend only the night there, you don't live there. And for sleeping and having shower, it was great and worth the money. We had room facing the street, the street was quiet and completly closed on Sunday, so no traffic came through. We had a nice room at the second floor with a tiny shower and even a television. Even it is 1 star hotel, it was very clean and the rooms were cleaned every day. You can have breakfast in the hotel, cost 8 euros, never had so I don't know what they serve. We always go something from the bakery or the night before from the supermarket { 3 minutes walk}
Hotel Mistral is very easy to find and reach. From CDG airport {RER line B} to Denfert Rochereau station took around 45 minutes. From here it is 10 minutes walk. Or you can take a direct bus which stops near Gare Montparnasse and it is 10 minutes walk as well. But I prefer the RER trains because it was much cheaper then the bus. I took the RER train back to CDG - solo traveler {because my friends left Paris day before I did}, and it was safe, no problems at all.
The area where Hotel Mistral stands is very nice, shops, restaurants, cafes and on Sunday there was a nice artist market.
If I ever travel to Paris again, I definetly stay in this hotel, now i know where the hotel is, i know the area and I know how to get from here to all the famous attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We happened to buy very cheap air tickets to Paris, and we needed some hotel to match them. At the same time, we were not ready to sacrifice our comfort completely, as we are three ladies in their early fifties. So, after looking through tons of descriptions, we found this hotel, and it turned out to be even better than we had expected. Firstly, there are several Metro stations quite near to it, one is max. 100 m away. Secondly, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and one person even spoke Russian! The room was not big, but it was spacious enough for three people, and the same was the bathroom. We got a pile of fresh towels every day, the room maid made the beds every day, but we never saw her. An extra bed for the third person was a REAL bed, not some folding bed. The breakfasts are served in a nice room with a view to the small pretty courtyard full of flowers. It was nothing special, but they had excellent coffee and fresh croissants every day. There are a lot of small cafes and mini-markets around there, and the area is pretty safe. And now the big question: how much did it cost - you won't believe it - 102 euros per night for THREE people, which means 34 euros for each person for a night!
The negative thing is, that their triple rooms are located on the third and the fourth floors and there is no elevator, so I wouldn't recommend them for older or disabled people.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beriozka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

The rooms are dark and too small. If you have a shared bathroom, you share it with about 18 other people. Yuck.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Fabe Hotel
#99 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#62 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#123 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#47 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#92 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: 24 rue Cels | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#42 Business Hotel in Paris
#163 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing