We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Gare du Nord, but Poor quality for the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Vieille France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Vieille France
Ranked #1,527 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
A TripAdvisor Member
“Close to Gare du Nord, but Poor quality for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Too expensive for such a poor quality accommodation - seat of toilet did not even match up to the toilet size. I only stayed for the night, close to Gare du Nord, for convenience to catch the train in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    8
    9
    19
See reviews for
7
8
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donauworth, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

It was a very bad hotel. Very cold rooms with too small heating. I booked a non smoker room and got a smoker room.
The douches were cold! When you have chosen the warm water the douches stopped to run!
The elevator stocked and the employees bahavior was ignorant.
Very complicated process of paying and partwise very unfriendly, apathetically and stressed employees.
Concluding I must say, that this hotel is not advisable!!!
The only positive point was the good RER-connection to the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

NSW
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in late September, 2011. The location was reasonably close to city attractions. The area was filthy with paper and cigarette butts all over the streets and a strong stench of urine in the area, in fact the urine was all over Paris (disgusting). It smells as if people pee on every wall over night, spoils the feel of Paris for us. Our room was very basic, the sheets clean but blankets and bed spread not so sure. Blanket very old and tatty with stains. No proper pillows, just a roll put under your bottom sheet - was ok for sleeping though. Bathroom clean but so small you could hardly sit on the toilet. Shower curtain would not stay in the base so water went all over the floor. No tea and coffee facilities in room. We were allowed to fill a thermos for our coffee needs. Room is fairly dated, stale smelling as if the carpets are dirty. Bed was comfortable and not old. Window opened onto extremely noisy street until early hours you could not leave it open. No fan or air conditioning so got quite hot in the night. We paid around 105 Euros per night for a twin room and would definitely not pay any more than this, you would be better putting a bit extra in and getting a little more comfort. You really did not feel as if you could come home from a busy day and relax as there was nothing but the bed to relax on and without pillows to put behind you it was impossible - also the bed would just roll out from the wall. Internet was quite good wifi so that was a positive for us using our computer for booking onward journeys and keeping in touch with family. If you can't afford anything else it will do the job but I would prefer a little more than this for my Paris stay.

Room Tip: Try to get away from busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Was near gare du nord , I had an overbooking in another hotel , so I looked for another one , Find this one, a guy told me only a triple room was free , and that I could get it for 100 euros.
At 2.00 in the night I say yes , I pay and go in the room. I find WINDOW OPENED , the room was freezing and the heating was NOT WORKING!!! I go downstairs , the guy says they were doing manteinance!!! AFTER PAYING the room , at 2.00 in the night , I was told there was NO HEATING IN OCTOBER in the room. I had to put 3 covers (from the other beds) to pass the night.... don't go there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlitocarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

I chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the Gare du Nord. I paid for a standard room upon arrival and was told it would be basic. My stay was not enjoyable. The room got very hot during the night and I was unable to have the windows open due to needing to have the curtain drawn (which caused the window to shut). The carpet was covered in crumbs and looked like it hadn't been hoovered in weeks, at best. When I woke up due to extreme heat, I turned the light on to find cockroaches on the floor...the light remained on for the rest of the night to keep them in the shadows. It felt good to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayswehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I am a repeat customer at this hotel. The staff is always very friendly and attentive, the rooms are always clean and tidy, and the overall experience is pleseant. It's a great base of operations to sightsee in Paris! This hotel will always have my buisness.

  • Liked — Friendly staff!
  • Disliked — Small shower.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFwifeinDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Just turned up looking for a single room, was upgraded to a double as part of an offer. Hotel is in need of refurbishment but is cheap and handy for the station. I didn't have breakfast there as there was a nice bakery a few yards away on the corner. Staff always pleasant and polite.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The tiny pillows
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank royalblue1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,306 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,491 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,503 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Styles Hotel Paris Gare du Nord TGV
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#838 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,555 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vieille France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vieille France

Property: Hotel La Vieille France
Address: 151 rue la Fayette | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,527 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vieille France 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Vieille France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille France Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing