We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Mont Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Mont Blanc
Ranked #1,225 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is located a few blocks from Notre Dame and right on one of the main streets in the Latin Quarter. I had a single room that over looked the courtyard so my room was quiet. I was traveling with friends and family and they all had double rooms that overlooked the street. The biggest complaint they had was that is was loud. You could hear the people on the street til all hours of the night. If you are a sound sleeper you shouldn't have a problem. The rooms were small but clean. The hotel has a no food in the room policy which we didn't like. Overall, I would stay there again. It was a decent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rissi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    145
    126
    38
    35
See reviews for
89
124
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back from a week in Paris and we stopped at The Hotel Du Mont Blanc. We had room 66 on the sixth floor which was actually at the top of the building. Being someone who can talk themselves out of anything I read some of the negative reviews on here after booking and wondered if we had made the right choice. I seriously concidered changing hotels. So glad I didn't believe everything I read on here.
The hotel was easy to find, located just around the corner of St Michel and Notre Dame in a 'buzzing' part of the Latin Quarter in the 5th.
Luxury it wasn't, but for 100 euros a night in such an amazing location it was just what we needed. It was very clean, small but not too small and perfect for seeing Paris. We weren't at all put off by the fact that you couldn't eat in your room, there were so many places within walking distance we were spoilt for choice. A kettle would have been nice but again step out of the hotel and there are dozens of coffee shops to choose from.
Believe me I am fussy and if this place hadn't have been clean I would be shouting it from the rooftops. The staff were friendly, the free internet was a welcome bonus and lets face it, if you come to Paris to spend more than the nighttime in your room you might as well have stayed at home and saved your money. Thank you Hotel du Mont Blanc, we would deffinitely recommend you x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

For a comparatively reasonable price for Paris, this hotel has an excellent location in the buzzing Latin quarter; 200m from the Seine and 100m from the Metro/RER station. This meant quick and easy access to the CGD airport and to all the attractions that Paris has to offer.
We asked for a quiet 3 bed room and that is what we got. All in good working order and a modern bathroom with a bath. Plenty of storage space and a good TV. Only draw back was mattress & pillow a little too hard for my liking.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which is quite nice for a reasonable-priced meal, but there are loads of other places nearby to try. We had a buffet breakfast here a couple of times and for E10 it wasn't too bad.
Some words of advice on sightseeing... There were massive queues for everything when we visited last week. I think everyone tends to arrive early to avoid queues but that didn't work for us, in fact I noticed that for several places the queue was much quieter in the early afternoon.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location was great ..our room ( no 26 ) was small with nice view to the street ..
The bathroom was less than basic and the shower the most uncomfortable ever !!!!!!!
I'm afraid this was the last time for us in the Hotel du Mont Blanc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roudi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

if you're on your honeymoon...you shouldn't stay at the MONT BLANC...'romantic' it isn't!!! that being said, this remains one of the top value-priced options in paris, where lodging prices can really put a dent in your travel budget.
i consider myself an expert on this place, having stayed there well over a dozen times, spanning some 20+ years. i've stayed here as a solo traveler, as the guide-translator for a group of twelve, and even as a tour leader for a group of students.
if i were limited to just one remark about the MONT BLANC, it would be that you won't ever
find a better-located property in paris...especially if you're into tourist stuff, historic attractions, as well as restaurants, clubs and pubs. it's all right outside the front door, in the lively latin quarter. this is the place they were thinking of when the phrase "LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION" was coined.
as an added bonus, if this is your first visit to paris, FINDING THE MONT BLANC is easy.
it sits just yards off 'place st. michel' which is a hub for METRO, RER, AND BUS, lines. you can take an inexpensive RER from charles degaulle airport, and a two-minute walk will get you there.
rooms here are just average...but...if you're in paris, especially in this part of it, and spending a lot of time in your room, then you're missing quite a lot. some of the bathrooms have been updated, some are quite small, but clean, and service was responsive. one special request was tended to in surprisingly short order. i had the opportunity to meet the woman owner...and confirm that she is concerned about providing a good guest experience. front desk staff do speak at least some english...but in france, always ask before blurting out something in english... a quick "parlez-vous anglais" will go a long way toward maying your stay in france a good one.
a couple other things worth note... even going back to my first visit, we've always been fascinated by the quaint, traditional elevator...it's like something out of an old french movie. also...do beware..."EATING IN THE ROOMS" is strictly forbidden. that shouldn't be a problem though, since the numerous, nearby, dining options, of many ethnic styles, all have sit-down
facilities. wine in the rooms is o.k., so take advantage of that, along with unbelievable low-priced and decent options available in a small 'super-market' a block or so away in the direction of the mcdonalds at the intersection of st. michel, and st. germain blvds.
so...summing up...you can't go too wrong staying at the mont blanc. as a multiple-times "around the world" traveler, i'd stay here again, anytime.

Room Tip: for max quiet, request a room (without a view) in the rear. if you can put up with a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flyingsteve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is small, but the location is very good... The young lady from the reception was unkind but did her job, nothing less, nothing more... The housekeeping was good, Restaurant as well and we had a good time there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent one night at Du Mont Blanc.
I was greeted on arrival by the charming receptionist, with a lovely smile and the key to my "triple" room. This was the last room available when i booked and Central Paris was full due to the exhibitions and trade shows taking place that week.
I had some concern about the location in terms of noise, but as my room was at the rear of the hotel it was very quiet.
The room itself was clean and quite basic. The bathroom was good with a decent shower (although the addition of a shaving mirror would be nice).
Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was a bonus.
The location is brilliant, one minute walk from the RER/metro station and three minutes from Notre Dame.
The hotel is right in the middle of a multitude of bars, cafes and restaurants...so it's quite lively outside.
Yes, i will probably return next time I'm in Paris.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#194 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#725 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#994 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#674 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#243 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Quartier Latin 2
Quartier Latin 2
#1,599 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Mont Blanc

Property: Hotel du Mont Blanc
Address: 28 rue de la Huchette, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,225 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Mont Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Mont Blanc Paris
Du Mont Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing