We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of Pain d'Epices

Pain d'Epices
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/19
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #3,425 of 21,781 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We trusted the TripAdvisor reviews, and it paid off again. This is a small restaurant with kind of a minimalist aesthetic in terms of atmosphere. But the owner and staff were very friendly and the food was terrific. We had lamb and duck. Both were excellent, but the duck really stood out; it had the best orange sauce either of us have ever tasted-- orangy and a bit caramelized, but very flavorful and not overly sweet. Both meals were perfectly cooked (no choice with the lamb, but we ordered the duck rare). Good and reasonably priced wine list. Delicious dessert with Berthillon ice cream.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2019

My husband and I literally stumbled upon this restaurant even whilst staying on Ile St Louis....and so glad we did.
Great food, atmosphere and the most lovely waitress even though run off her feet did a great job,
The menu was varied and all in all was tops! Will definitely return.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CherylP1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Stopped for lunch after walking across the bridge from the Notre Dame. This restaurant is a gem - truly delicious food, friendly proprietor, and a seemingly endless number of locals stopping by to eat or simply say hello to the owners. French onion soup was delicious, as were the chevre salad and eggs Benedicts with smoked salmon. Ice cream and sorbet for dessert were just the ticket. Calm, relaxed, streetfront in a very pretty part of the Île Saint-Louis. Prices were comparable to other places nearby - not cheap but not expensive.

Overall a fine experience, and easily the best meal of our trip. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ricardipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

We were in the neighbourhood and I recalled a review I had read on this place, so we sought it out. It was a perfect evening to eat outside. The server (owner?) was friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. My wife had the lamb shank and it was to die for. All in all, just one of those perfect little spots on a perfect little evening wandering around the city.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chestnut76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

As we were leaving Paris we decided to stop at this cozy little place and loved every moment. The food and service were perfect . We will definitely return there next time we are in Paris

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nancyfhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pain d'Epices also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pain d'Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing