We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money, but . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta
Ranked #1,025 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, but . . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just got back from 3 night stay and perfectly satisfied. Hotel, internally is clean and smart if a little small but service very good. On 1st night we got booked into a horrible ground floor room, very dark and overlooked an alley with the back entrance to a restaurant, bins etc.. However the following morning were moved up to 3rd floor. No problem at all. Room was small but fine as a base for exploring Paris. Nice touch with tea making facilities. Windows are not d/glazed so can be very noisy with main boulevard about 75 yards away. Location great with easy access to Nord and L'Est stations, but area isn't great with strong smells of urine on many of side streets!
Breakfast was fine, good variety, tip is to get down before 8.00am as can get rather cramped if later!
If on a budget would definitely come back but may try to go to a slightly nicer, more central area next time!

Room Tip: Avoid 501/502 on Ground Floor, choose upper floors if poss. Breakfast early for better comfort and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_ShoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    211
    128
    53
    43
See reviews for
65
136
82
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night with a friend and have to say its fine as a base for exploring Paris with both positive and negative points.
Positives:
The hotel is close to the Gare du Nord around a five minute walk.
If you're arriving into Paris early and leaving late then the hotel has a room for your luggage at no extra charge which is great for getting the most our of your trip.
The hotel is only small which is reflected in the room size but you're not going to Paris to spend your time in a hotel room..... the city has far too much for you to see !!
There is an additional charge for breakfast and this is worth every euro with a good choice including hams, cheese, hot options, fruit and of course French pastries.

Negatives:
I guess the main negative of this hotel is in its location, be prepared for a lot of street noise. I would also say that if you are travelling as a female party then walking the streets around the hotel at night after dark can feel a little intimidating .

Would I stay at the Mecure again ?? Yes with my husband I would not think twice about it, however staying with a girlfriend perhaps not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stgeorge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is a good and convenient location if you need to stay the night close to gare de l'est or gare du nord stations. a short taxi drive to the major attractions or about an hours walk. Metro station is also closeby. Room was small and cozy, good for one night. The breakfast was sub-par and could be much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepe0071969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night in August as we had a train from Gare de L'Est the following morning.

The reception staff were great, check in was easy and the staff were friendly and efficient, even putting up with my poor French. The room was tucked away on the 3rd floor, but was clean. Small for more than a single night, but the nespresso machine was good, although I think a single bottle of water was a bit mean and I wasn't sure what was 'privilege' about the room. The air conditioning was very dusty which led to a bad nights sleep and lots of coughing.

We went to Church in the morning and so breakfasted around 9:45 - lots of food available and a very good breakfast all round. Checking out was easy and efficient.

For one night, all you expect from a chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here from the 9th to the 12th August for my friend's birthday and got a great rate through Travel Republic. We had a twin corner room on the second floor - no bath, but a decent shower, good air conditioning, comfortable beds and no traffic noise whatsoever. You can't really ask for anything more! Breakfast was good although it seemed like the hot stuff was gone at least an hour before breakfast finished. We only managed to get to the eggs and pancakes once. Otherwise though there's plenty of juice, yoghurt, cereal, croissants and coffee. Staff were friendly and it was only a 5 minute walk from the Gare du Nord and de l'Est.
As for the area, we didn't encounter any homeless people in the vicinity as I've seen in some reviews and felt perfectly safe - there aren't many restaurants but it's not far to the Place de la Republique where there is loads of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potnoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
#701 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#413 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Styles Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta

Property: Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta
Address: Entree 1 1 Cour de la Ferme Saint Lazare | Angle 79 boulevard Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,025 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel comprises 45 air-conditioned rooms, all renovated in July 2010. The Mercure Paris Gare de l'Est Magenta is located 437 yards (400 m) from the Gare du Nord and offers direct access via the RER train line to the Villepinte Exhibition Center and Roissy Charles de Gaulle Airport. Conveniently situated, the hotel is just 219 yards (200 m) from the Gare de l'Est and 15 minutes from Montmartre and the banks of the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gare De l`Est Magenta Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing