We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Ranked #342 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost perfect experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed only one night for a conference. But what I saw of the hotel was very high standard. In my reservation I asked for a quiet room and when I arrived a got a room with a window towards an atrium. Really silent and the room was nicely decorated and spotless clean. I looked as new and as none ever stayed there before me. The staff in the frontdesk was extremely helpful and helped me with directions and getting around in the city. The breakfast buffet was rich and a high quality. My only complaint was that the scrambled eggs weren’t at the same standard as the rest of the dishes. It was far from being smooth and creamy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GertSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    264
    35
    21
    7
See reviews for
63
309
35
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had an Eccolo twin room on the top (6th) floor for 145 euros per night, booked and paid for some weeks in advance taking advantage of an offer on the hotel's website. We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel extremely good, one minor disappointment apart.

The room was very clean, the beds comfortable, everything (lights, plugs, etc) worked, there was adequate cupboard space and the heating system was easy to understand and very effective. Someone had thought about how to hang curtains so that they kept out the light. The bathroom was well laid out and the shower, once the hot water came through, splendid with a choice between the fixed overhead showerhead and a hand-held one.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and included some hot food as well as the usual breads, croissants, cereals, fruits, cold meat and cheese. There was also some smoked salmon and the fresh fruit salad and coffee were particularly good. The breakfast was included in our room price.

Our room was very quiet, the windows providing good sound insulation from the street (fairly quiet anyway) and there was no noise from other rooms.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially when we needed some advice on how to get some medical help.

The disappointment? Just that I had hoped for a slightly larger room and two, rather than one, easy chairs in a 4-star hotel. I suppose it is the fitness romm and wi-fi access, not used by us, that contribute to star ratings. But this was largely forgotten. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return. I'd give it four and a half stars if that was an option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very helpfull stuff, quiet neighborhood clean rooms and hot water all the time. I didn't like that the room was small and i believe they could improove the breakfast a little. 24 hours front desk willing to help you with everything,they booked tickets for moulin rouge for ourselves and they helped us to find good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been staying in this hotel with my fiancée for two nights in December 2012. We found an awesome offer, which would have been a crime not to take it! The room was cozy, clean and large enough to host the two of us. There is a TV, a telephone, a big bed (with two chocolates to greet us). Two wardrobe, one with a practical safe. Moreover, they give you confy robes with slippers and towels. The toilet has a big tub, but it lacks a bidet (yes, the old saying keeps on: why the French devised it and stop using it??! Who knows..) and an aspirator. Still, I found it confy as well.
The breakfast is amazing.. we were lucky to have it included in the offer, otherwise it is 24 euro per person (I think). But, it is so tasty with French cheeses and croissant and so on!
The staff is really nice and helpful! We also found a guy who spoke Italian fluently!
It is quite central, meaning that - if you want - you can walk from there to the Louvre, the Touileries... if you don't, however, there is a metro station 200metres away. Happily, the metro is not only close, but it is also the main line (metro 1) of the Paris Metro.
Then, I really recommend it, provided that you find the offer (which is easy, just add the hotel as friend on facebook! :D ).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I found the Hotel perfect for our short stay in Paris. The breakfast, included in the price was excellent. The art work in the brakfast area was a talking point. The staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisR509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in this lovely little boutique hotel in early October. 4 Nights in the Ecolo Room, spacious bedroom with all the amenities. Our bathroom was huge with large windows that opened up into a courtyard, The rooms were modern, boasted a comfortable and a huge bed, flat screen TV - requested an iron and board, which was sent over in a matter of minutes Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, they recommended a few restaurants to us and made bookings which made life easy. The Hotel is located approx 5-7 mins walk from the Bastille Metro Station and probably a 3-4 min taxi ride to the Gare de Lyon Train station. Great Overall exprience.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 101. Good Sized Bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've stayed here for two nights, and it was great! The hotel itself is situated in a quiet, safe residential area and is about a 5 minute walk from subway / train station Gare de Lyon. The neighborhood is not very touristy, which I personally think is a plus, and has nice shops and restaurants nearby. In particular restaurant L'Alchimiste, a small restaurant serving typical French dishes. Affordable and delicious food in a cozy atmosphere with a friendly service.
A few hundred meters from the hotel lies the district of Le Marais, where to go if you want a taste of the real Paris.

The staff of Hotel Le Marceau Bastille is friendly and helpful. They speak good English, which is not always the case in Paris hotels. It is a very nice hotel, the lobby is welcoming and it has a soothing and luxurious look to it. The rooms are of average size but nicely decorated and the bathroom was spacious. Guests receive a bathrobe and slippers and there are chocolates on the pillows, which makes you feel welcome. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the neighborhood (6th floor), the Twin Ecolo.

The hotel is within walking distance of several tourist attractions, including the Notre Dam and of course Le Bastille. But everything Paris is easily accessible by metro, so don't spend money on a hop-on-hop-off bus!

The breakfast which was included in our booking was very good: Yogurt, fresh fruits, cut meat, various French cheeses, smoked salmon, variety of breads, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, various pastries (such as croissants and pain du chocolate). You also get your own pot of coffee served with hot milk. A good way to start of your day! If you need to book the breakfast separately, it is a bit overpriced (24 EUR).

Overall it was a very good experience! Next time I'll book this hotel again and I absolutely love the neighborhood. Hotel Le Marceau Bastille is highly recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#328 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#114 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#614 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Des Trois Gares
Hotel Des Trois Gares
#1,043 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marceau Bastille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marceau Bastille Hotel

Property: Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Address: 13 rue Jules Cesar, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#296 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#307 Family Hotel in Paris
#492 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Marceau Bastille Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Marceau Bastille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marceau Bastille Paris
Hotel Le Marceau Bastille
Marceau Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing