We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Relais Montmartre
Ranked #58 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We loved this hotel. I took my husband for his 30th Birthday and we were not disappointed. The staff were so friendly and even though we didn't speak that much French they were happy for us to try.

The hotel has a lovely feel to it. Its decorated to a very typical Parisian feel, very tasteful and the continental breakfast which had a great selection was perfect. You can even cook your own boiled eggs.

The location of the hotel is amazing, right up the road from the Moulin Rouge, within a few minutes Metro ride to the centre of Paris and a few minutes walk to the Sacre Coeur that offers amazing views of Paris.

When we do come back to Paris we will most definitely stay here again without question.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apollo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Le Relais Montmartre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 930 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and the rooms clean and nice. The hotel has a great location in the middle of Montmartre, and close to the metro, shops, short walk to Sacrecoeur. The Wi-Fi worked very well.

1  Thank Sesilie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a delightful place, off a quite side-street, but within a stone's throw of Rue des Abesses.
No in-room kettle, which seems to be the norm for Parisian hotels, but which is a bugbear at these prices (185 euros/night, discounted through Booking.com). The bed was a bit soft for my taste.
There were some last-minute problems over the card I used to book the reservation: even though the reservation was made 2 months before arrival, I received an email 5 days before our trip to say that the booking was not confirmed because there was a problem with my card. Numerous emails and two calls to Booking.com (who were excellent) ended up with me having to arrange an international credit transfer, which (unsurprisingly) hadn't cleared by the time we arrived. I then had to pay the first night and get this money refunded once the credit transfer cleared. Through all this it became apparent that there is a problem with the hotel's bank connection. BE WARNED
The staff, during all this, were the model of courtesy, and it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wondersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais-Montmartre, Directeur général at Le Relais Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

,Monsieur
I understand how stressful it is when payment gets difficult but I am afraid there is nothing else we could have done that morning. Let me take a moment to explain you because I feel so sorry that you left our hotel with a negative feeling although you liked it so much.

When we receive a reservation, we enter the reservation straight away so that the room is yours and cannot be booked anymore by somebody else.

The room is supposed to be secured with the credit card you put in with your other details but we need to make sure this credit card is fine because there are more and more problems with credit cards : people use stolen credit cards to reserve hotels or they give on purpose a wrong credit card number because they just want to become through internet reservation’s systems an automatic confirmation they can print and use to get their visa or – this is the most often – they just make a tipping mistake on the number itself, or on the expiration date.

Anyhow, if the card is not fine, it cannot secure the reservation because we won’t be able to use it in case of a late cancellation or a no-show.

In order to check a credit card, we contact the credit card centre and ask for what they call a “pre-authorization”: this is not a debit, just a number we could use if necessary. Those pre-authorizations are valid only during a week and this is why we call for these pre-authorization just 5 days prior the arrival. In fact, if we did it on the day you sent your booking, we’d have to do it again a few days before you arrive and this could be problem for you because the bank “holds” the concerned amounts for a few days.

In your case this pre-authorization was refused and this does not depend on us but only on YOUR bank (sometimes it is because the bank blocks any kind of authorization arriving from a foreign country in order to protect you, or your card can not be used in a foreign country or you use a Maestro credit card that cannot be used as a guaranty etc…). We contacted straight BOOKING.COM according to their procedure but within those 5 days left before your arrival, we were never able to get a new card with a valid authorization so that the only way left to secure the reservation was a deposit. On your check in day, that deposit had still not arrived on our account so that again we had no other way than taking the full amount until the deposit arrived and as soon as we had it we credited your credit card straight away.

I know all this sounds complicated but in Paris, good and well located hotels are almost always full and this is why they cannot keep any reservation that are not secured. If a guest does not show up and we can’t debit the card, his room has been refused to other clients and that night is definitely lost for the hotel.

Anyhow I shall thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again soon in our hotel!
Kind regards
Samia Mobarek .Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in one of twin comfort rooms overlooking the street. It was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean and had a decent size bathroom. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Le Relais is in a fantastic location, Abbesses and Blanche metro stations are within walking distance. We often headed into central Paris for a day out then returned to Montmartre for the evening as there are lots of interesting cafes and restaurants just around the corner. The area has a great atmosphere and wasn't too touristy at all. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CElizabeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a really nice place to stay. All of the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, and our room was plenty big and very quiet. I really enjoyed the free use of the computer and the free newspapers. I don't think we've ever stayed anywhere else with so many excellent and interesting restaurants (French, African, Italian, Vietnamese, etc.) nearby. The lady who served us breakfast was very sweet, but we thought the buffet was a bit overpriced with so many different options nearby. We combined this stay with a stay in the very nice Hotel Parc Luxembourg, a nice way to explore two very different neighborhoods in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend city-trip and it was utterly enjoyable. We were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and the check-in was fast and hassle-free. Our room was located on the 3rd floor overlooking a central courtyard which meant, very quiet and no street noise, very nice for busy bustling Paris! The room was small (but this is Paris) and romantically decorated with pastel colours and a touch of Laura Ashley. TV, wifi, all worked perfectly. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we preferred to try the nearby cafés (of which there are many, incl the one of famous Amelie Poulin film) for coffee and croissants.
The location was excellent as well, close to metro stations Abbesses and Blanche, you could easily reach any corner of Paris.
Very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I used Le Relais Montmartre for the first three nights of our honeymoon, primarily because it had gotten such great reviews. We were not disappointed. The location was a very short distance from a very easy to use train station, and the surrounding area was far more quaint and romantic than I had imagined. The small streets and local shops make you feel like you're in Paris, and not just another tourist district. The concierge, Vincent, whom I assume is still there (I'm writing this a year late), has stood out as the one of the best I have ever dealt with, and made our first visit to the city of lights a fantastic experience. If you want to 'be a tourist' and only see the sites of Paris, you might be better off paying more and staying by the river, but if you want a true Paris experience, I recommend Le Relais Montmarte.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#76 of 1,804 in Paris
789 reviews
B Montmartre Hotel
#66 of 1,804 in Paris
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,804 in Paris
1,033 reviews
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Montmartre

Address: 6 rue Constance, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#47 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#267 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $135 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Montmartre 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DE CHARME ideal en couple ou en famille au coeur du village le plus pittoresque et romantique de Paris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Relais Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Montmartre Paris
Le Relais Montmartre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing