We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but under average overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Ranked #1,362 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location but under average overall”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Location is convenient, not far from Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees, views are great, especially if you get a room on the high floors. Service is average, room is small and a bit old, bathroom is ok but amenities are scarce and not replenished regularly, water pressure is low and water temperature varies a lot, making it hard to enjoy a decent shower. Breakfast is appalling, room is small and all guests are packed together, coffee or tea from a machine, no fresh fruit, very limited choice of cold cuts, yogurts or cheese, after two days, decided to buy croissants outside and enjoy a real Parisian breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurentboyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location which is near to famous attractions of Paris.

Concerning the breakfast, thank you for sharing your impressions so we can improve the quality of the food.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    672
    691
    404
    318
See reviews for
367
654
119
944
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

PROs:
- Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful
- Breakfast is decent
- Room was clean in general and view of Paris was fantastic!

CONs:
- We had to re-enable our access cards twice within the same check-in day
- Rooms are old and so are the furnitures/fixtures, broken or stained. Some walls are chipped/broken off and crasks in some tiles. We almost cut hour hands from the broken handle of the in-room safe. Sofa bed sags in the middle so my poor kids were rolling into each other.
- The bathroom floors are always wet after shower so the floors are quite slippery
- Inconsistency in towel size: some times they were small and some times large
- A/C controls don't really work and loud. Had to call the maintenance person to "manually tweak" the A/C.
- Thin walls/ceiling. Loud music from the bar on floor 34 can be heard from our room on the 29.

Breakfast: it takes 20 minutes to get two fried eggs for breakfast...

Hor d'oeuvres could have been much better! Paris is known for it's culinary but it's sub-par foods served in the Regency Club.

Fruits aren't always fresh and we found several rotten peaches. Apples were mixed of sweet and sour but we figured out the differences.

I had a rotten tomato from breakfast and that's a no-no!

It would be nice if the seatings are close to the windows so that we can enjoy the view without climbing over the sofa. Also, the staff desk shouldn't be by the window but rather next to the entrance so the window space is spared for guests. Only the limited tables in the room area has window seating.

The staff was the BEST part of this hotel. Even though I didn't get the recognition as a diamond member, their professionalism and happy faces do put cheers in our stay even when the overall hotel was so-so.

This hotel is rated Category 4 and I don't agree with the categorization of this hotel given its current state (really old rooms, furnitures and sub-par food). I understand the hotel will go through some major renovations later this year and next year but for now, the amount of points I needed to shell out for CAT4 was not worth it. I would rate this as CAT3 until I see the newly renovated Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrapenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comment about your stay at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile.

We wanted to apologise for the problems experienced during your stay.

Rest assured we will share your comment with our team, so that the situation will not happen again.

We are grateful for comment like yours as it allows us to improve our quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the "Hyatt" experience

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Manila, Phils
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my second Hyatt hotel experience in Paris. Stayed here early October last year. It was obviously not as fancy as their Park Hyatt Vendome Hotel (first Hyatt hotel I stayed at in Paris) but the service was at par, if not a tad better.

Pros:

1. Great location, near tourist spots, easy shuttle to the airport via the Air France airport shuttle
2. Great concierge, warm & alert (they immediately alerted security when we were followed by a couple of shady youth on our way to the hotel from the mall -- the hotel is connected to a fancy mall)
3, The room we got was modern and the bed was as comfy as the sleeper beds in Sheraton hotels
4. Wonderful view of the Sacre Coeur from our hotel room :)

Cons:

1. They should place some security in the connecting area between the mall and the hotel. The mall was fancy but I guess petty thieves know very well that those who go to that mall and also check in at the Hyatt are exactly the kind of people that they are looking for which is not good news at all.
2. Not all rooms have been refurbished so until all renovations are complete, you really have to ask for a refurbished/renovated room to avoid getting an old room. Ours was new so we had a great time.

Room Tip: request for the newly renovated rooms since renovation have not yet been completed for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platinumspg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comment.

We are pleased you enjoyed the service especially the Concierge.

The service is one of our priorities and we are delighted to read that our teams have offered you a quality of service that meets your expectations.


Concerning the security, comments like yours are very important to us to improve our quality.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stay there for two nights after a Europ trip

The location is good, only less than 5 mins walk to the station.
Easy to access to the Airport, Air France shuttle bus just arond the conner. 17 EUO per person
Cross the street , you have local shop to enjoy the food and aslo a supermarket near by.
No matter what you want, you will find it close by.

Good view. They have Effie Tower veiw room which can take your breath away. I am not rich enough, however, I diid enjoy the night view in the hotel sky bar.

Good service, I did requested an early check in service due to the flight arriving time, when I arrive hotel by 7AM, my room already ready for me. Thank you guys sooooo much. And friendly staff helped me booked day tours without any problem. I just got more time to do whatever I want or pehaps a late sleep in. LOL....

Yes, I saw some feedbacks regard to the hotel was old. Yes, that's true. However, for the price you paid for a room in PARIS for a 4 star hotel..... I am not compalin anything beside the benifit I mentioned above.

Room Tip: If you dont want to pay extra for the night view room, you can always go to the sky bar at 10 or 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slong1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service

The service is one of our priorities and we are delighted to read that our teams have offered you a quality of service that meets your expectations.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Not the most personal hotel I've stayed in - rooms are nothing special, service is so, so. In fact, I'd go as far as saying the rooms are snug for two people. And remember shower curtains? Yup, a bath with a shower curtain.
However, you won't get many better views of the city - in fact, from our room on the 33rd floor you realise just how low-rise the city is. And the Eiffel Tower looks fantastic day or night.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile.

We apologise for the service and the shower. For your information, the hotel will be renovated in order to offer a more unique experience to our guests.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Front foyer so nice. Take a ride in elevator the room on 7th floor. Dark and old. Room has scratched furniture, ceiling has paint chipping and you need a ladder to get in and out of bathtub. Oh yea they give you shampoo and body wash. Woo hoo. Not even a lotion. The bed sheets had rust stains and the duvet had yellow stains.

The free breakfast is not worth it. Stay away from the eggs and bacon.

The staff was very nice except for the overnight Concergie. He was not helpful. The location of hotel was in a good area of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOurist02832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comment.

We apologise for the disagreements regarding the furniture and the service.

For your information the hotel will undergo a renovation project.
Our goal is to offer a unique experience to our customers.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The positives -- good location near subway, mall and Arc. Nice view of the the Eiffel Tower. Nice neighborhood surrounding. Negatives -- Crazy small rooms and the shower felt like it was dripping. Really bad pressure, so bad that a bath (which I have taken once or twice in the last 5 years) was the only way to go. No water left in the room after Day 1. Did not feel like a Hyatt Regency. Concierge were extremely disinterested. Great bakery just across the street, which was not recommended by the hotel. Donuts to DIE FOR! Badly needs the promised 2014 refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comment.

We regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

We also want to apologise for the concierge and ensure this situation does not happen again

For your information, the hotel will soon undergo renovation work; the project includes both guestrooms and public areas.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Michel Morauw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Meridien Etoile
#627 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#266 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#237 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Hotel L'Adresse Paris
#1,182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Property: Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Address: 3 Place du General Koenig, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#483 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, formerly the renowned Hotel Concorde La Fayette, stands as one of the most impressive properties in the city, just minutes from both the Arc de Triomphe and the world-famous Champs Elysees, and within easy reach of the impressive La Defense complex. Offering so much more than a great location in this cosmopolitan city, our 34-storey hotel offers truly unique views over Paris from its 950 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde La Fayette Hotel
Concorde La Fayette Paris
Concorde Lafayette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing