We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Paris !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Ranked #1,223 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 24, 2013

During this autumn, my boy friend and I traveled Paris. This is our second time to Paris, and we choose Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile this time. We stayed in 32nd floor, faced to south direction. When we open the door, just walk little bit closer to the window.....Wow.....That's La Tour Eiffel ! To our surprise, we can also see the Arc de Triomphe, we pleased that we have such a beautiful view in our room. The room is good and big, well equipped and you can open the window if you like fresh air. Although at breakfast time customers crowed the cafe, however, staffs still helpful. Location of the hotel is excellent, just facing the junction of Champs-Elysees, many restaurant and shops nearby. Very closed to "M" station Porte Maillot and "RER" station Neuilly Porte Maillot, go to airport is also convenience, there is a bus stop beside the hotel for airport bus to Paris CDG International Airport with fare EUR 17.00 each. We both have good time in Paris, especially we've chosen this hotel. I thing that Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile may be one of the best hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank connietpchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear connietpchan,


Thank you kindly for your message. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The view is indeed magic and we do not get tired!

The pictures are just beautiful. We love the one with the window view at the Arc de Triomphe. The weather was nice, you were lucky ;).

Next time, you have to taste the brunch of the restaurant, with traditional French dishes so delicious. And the deserts are just so yummy.

See you very soon,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 2,620 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Considering the many negative reviews, I was apprehensive about booking this hotel. I'm happy I did not listen to the reviews. I like the Hyatt hotels and have never been disappointed with my stay at any of them.
We arrived around 12:00 noon and had no problem getting checked in early. The front desk clerk was very helpful and when I asked for a room with an Eiffel tower view she checked with her manager and we got one on the 23rd floor. The view is probably one of the best in Paris (see photos.) The room was clean and spacious with two twin beds pushed together to make a king. The bed came with two sets of covers which made my wife very happy. The bathroom is clean and modern with plenty of space for toiletries. Additionally, after we checked in, we went out for a while and when we came back the was a complimentary bottle of Evian water and a box of three macaroons. That was a nice touch.
We received coupons for a complimentary breakfast each day we were there. The breakfast included all manner of breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt and much more. Coffee was plentiful from three different machines. We never had a problem being seated.
The decor in the hallways is a little garish and the location is not ideal if you want to be in central Paris. There are many restaurants and bars in the area so you don't have to go far for food or drink. The Arc de Tiomphe is about a 20 minute walk.
I believe this hotel is a great value considering the outrageous hotel room prices in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Eiffel view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankleo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Frankleo08,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad to hear that you trust in Hyatt Hotels.

The pictures are just beautiful, mostly with the rainbow, you are lucky to have such a nice panorama.

As you were in couple, Hope that you took a drink at Bar La Vue, it’s really romantic...

The macaroons of our chief are the best, you have tasted the most traditional and famous pastry of France

See you soon,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Saturday-Sunday two-night stay. Nice location, easy access to Metro. The staff and service were mediocre - confusing messages from the concierge from one time to the next. Breakfast buffet was not what I expect from a 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors better for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear USMA

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear your feedback of the concierge. We have reviewed your comment with our team. Next time, we recommend you to taste the brunch of the hotel on Saturday and Sunday, it’s the best of Paris: creativity in the spotlight, it highlights fresh, local products without compromising on taste;

Hope to see you soon,
Best Regard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The price of the hotel was included in our dual trip (London/Paris) and the tour was doable pricewise. The rooms were european size, the bed was not too comfortable as it was somewhat hard (two small beds), but the room brought me back in time in a way........nice. Unfortunately, we didn't have a view of the Eiffel tower, but had a nice sunset with Sacre Coeur in the skyline. The spacious entrance was clean and the desk attendants were pleasant. On our "free" day, we were in walking distance to the Arch de Triumph and quite a few cafe's along the way.Taking a cab to the Louvre as well as going to the another museum (thanks to the doormen) was a pleasure. Had a pleasant trip ........ tried, on occassion ,to speak their language which helped us out a lot. We stayed in April 2010 when it was the Concorde la Lafayette.....hopefully, it has changed for the better insofar as sleeping.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with a view of the Eiffel tower, otherwise it will cost about $17.00 to view it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Alan C,

Thank you your comments. Good choice for the monuments that you visited. Louvre is the most famous and beautiful museum of Paris. The “Arc de Triomphe” is just near the hotel, hope that you did it by walk, it's really pleasant.

You came in April 2010, and from May 2013 we became Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile.

Hope to see you soon, this time to discover Hyatt hotels

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

$way overpriced at 400 a night, old room not renovated, bathroom leaked ... reported to housekeeping and they simply put a towel by the leak ... result next morning the bathroom floor was flooded ... thankfully it was my last day ... rooftop bar has great views if you want to mortgage your house for a fruit juice.

I would avoid this hotel like the plague and only stayed as clients selected it based on the Hyatt loyalty program.

The manager's comment below that "we are priced similar to other 4 star hotels" is correct EXCEPT that other 4 stars in the area are either newer or newly renovated and function!

Room Tip: choose another hotel until this place is renovated (supposedly beginning next year)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Uk-Colorado,

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good time at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

As you very precisely said we will begin rejuvenating this classic property in order to provide our unique Hyatt guest experience. Work will begin next year.

Hope however that you enjoyed the view that offers the rooms, the bar and the fitness, just unique in Paris.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

One secret that you should be aware of is the fact that this is the only high rise hotel in the center of Paris - unlike any other due to zoning restrictions (according to the guide at the Eiffel Tower). What this means is that if you are lucky enough to secure a Eiffel Tower facing room, you are guaranteed a great view at night with all the amazing lighting!

Staff was excellent and went out of their way to help and offer excellent service. The entire staff speaks excellent English as well. That is very good because that alone is enough to make one feel at home. Once you are in France, you have no idea how big a difference English speaking service staff makes to one's enjoyment of France. Also, the restaurant and bar staff were extremely polite and helpful.

As a DIAMOND member, I was treated like royalty, which is what I expect at any Hyatt property. I was personally escorted with my family to our rooms by the assistant manager. Notice that I said, "rooms". In France, much like the rest of Europe, the occupancy limit is two (2) persons per room, including children, unless you have toddlers. We are a family of four, so, we had to book two rooms and split up - one parent per room with each child since our children are still young. This "two per room" requirement is also problematic because it simply doubles the lodging cost. American travelers need to keep this in mind when traveling France and Europe because we are so used to a "four per room" family allowance as long as the kids are under 18. Otherwise, there could be a huge sticker shock.

Cost of food and water (yes, water!) is huge in Paris, which one would expect, given the already understood fact that Paris is one of the most expensive places in the world. EVIAN is the most popular, readily available and offered water and expensive - about 5 Euros for a one liter bottle at most restaurants. An alternative is to buy bottled water at a convenience store or supermarket for a lot less and there are other less known and cheaper brands available. Downside is that they may not be chilled and the hotel does not offer free ice (there are no free ice vending machines like here at home at most hotels). As I mentioned, I am a DIAMOND member, so got free breakfast at the executive lounge and that saved us a chunk of change. Light drinks and refreshments are also available at the lounge for DIAMOND members and for those who have paid access to the executive lounge floor. Otherwise, I guess one needs to budget for about 20 Euros per family member for breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, Alternatives do exist - there are restaurants nearby that one could explore and the hotel is very conveniently located on the most famous thoroughfare of Paris - the Avenue des Champs-Élysées.

Hotel is also about a mile away from the Arc de Triomphe which is a great tourist spot. It is a nice stroll from the hotel and a must see. We took the Metro to the Eiffel Tower and on the way back, actually walked back to the hotel and absolutely loved it. It is a long walk, but highly recommended since it gives one a way to experience Paris like the locals and the directions are not too terribly complicated.

Finally, on the way back to the train station (Eurostar train back to London), we found that the bus was right outside the hotel and the cheapest option. It is also a great way to see the streets of Paris on the way and highly recommended. There is no need to take a Taxi unless of course one has a lot of luggage.

I highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay unless there are budgetary constraints. Do not get alarmed by the other seemingly numerous negative reviews - this hotel was recently acquired by Hyatt and obviously went through teething troubles. We did not experience any issues or problems and although one might be tempted to chalk it up the highest status that I have at this chain, I stay at enough hotels throughout the world to know when a hotel is acting under false pretenses and I can say with absolute certainty that this hotel is clearly trying to do its best.

One last, but extremely important note - this hotel has bathrooms equipped with what is known as a BIDET - a toilet like contraption that looks like a toilet and is situated right next to the toilet but it is NOT a toilet and NOT a wash basin. I have attached a picture from the Internet (forgot to take one myself for this review), but it is very important that you understand what it is meant for and make sure that you communicate that to all family members, especially kids.

A BIDET is used to clean up right after one uses the toilet for defecating (or number 2 as some people call it). It is used to wash up with a water spray by sitting on the BIDET and used as an alternative to toilet paper. Unfortunately, most Americans and I suspect a lot of people all over the world, this is an unusual contraption and people don't know what to do with it and mistake it for a variety of things and when they find out what it is used for, people feel extremely awful and disgusted about it. I knew what a BIDET was and what it is used for, but my daughter used it to wash her hands before I had a chance to warn her about it. She thought that it was a wash basin for kids and little people! Thankfully, she did not do anything more, but stories abound all over the Internet about what other people have used the BIDET for! Save yourself a possibly upsetting experience by understanding how to use a BIDET or possibly avoid using it (the hotel does supply toilet paper).

Enjoy the hotel if you decide to stay there and enjoy France and Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MALAYAPPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Malayappan,

Thank you for taking the time to write all your feelings about your trip at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You are right; no need to take the taxi, the location of the hotel is great so you can take the bus and the metro to go to every important point of Paris. Next time we advise you to try the "city tour bus" (just near the Hotel) in summer time, it’s really nice.
Hope that you tasted the famous French pastries of our chief at the Regency Club. Just delicious….

Thank you also for your recommendation.

Your story about the “bidet” made me very laugh.

See you very soon,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A tourist hotel at the right location, one should expect only so much from a hotel in Paris and one will not be disappointed. Check-in was really slow and rooms are Paris-sized. But the views are great and a lot is within walking distance.
The place does smell a bit musty. We understand that this has recently been taken over by Hyatt, and it will hopefully get a makeover it desperately needs.

Room Tip: A higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Sanbha,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
However our sincere apologies for the delays you experimented. We do our best to speedy check in. I have reviewed your comment with the front office team.
For your information, we will begin rejuvenating this classic property in order to provide our unique Hyatt guest experience next year.

We hope to see you back soon

Best Regard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Meridien Etoile
#611 of 1,803 in Paris
629 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#267 of 1,803 in Paris
1,159 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#234 of 1,803 in Paris
337 reviews
AC Hotel Paris Porte Maillot
#356 of 1,803 in Paris
338 reviews
Hotel L'Adresse Paris
#1,330 of 1,803 in Paris
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Address: 3 Place du General Koenig, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#480 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $169 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, formerly the renowned Hotel Concorde La Fayette, stands as one of the most impressive properties in the city, just minutes from both the Arc de Triomphe and the world-famous Champs Elysees, and within easy reach of the impressive La Defense complex. Offering so much more than a great location in this cosmopolitan city, our 34-storey hotel offers truly unique views over Paris from its 950 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde La Fayette Hotel
Concorde La Fayette Paris
Concorde Lafayette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing