We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For $400 a night you would expect to be able to get a coffee at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Ranked #1,308 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For $400 a night you would expect to be able to get a coffee at breakfast”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Breakfast was chaotic. Seated at an uncleared table, wait 5 minutes before they even bring the coffee mugs, go to machine #1 not working - no sign. Helpful guy sends us to machine #2 not working either, no sign. Helpful lady takes coffee cups and order. Some time later finds me at the breakfast buffet and says will be back in 2 minutes at our table.Two becomes 10 and when she arrives it's not the right coffee!! Suddenly nobody can speak English when I want to find out what is wrong.

Now to the room. As others have commented they're a little small, but are comfortable enough except for one thing. The "queen" bed is two singles pushed together and held that way by Velcro. It's fine if all you want to do is rollover and go to sleep. But the astonishing thing is that instead of a queen douvet to maintain the illusion it has two singles which overlap. So guess where the gap is - in the middle where the bed divides. In the end you are left with the impression that it is a twin room that is so small they have to push the beds together to fit the furniture in.

Oh and the lifts are slow too. Often wait 4 or 5 minutes. Like most of Europe no iron, no tea and coffee facilities and they cram the fridge full of their minibar stuff with the move it you bought it system so struggled to even find space for my medication.

Room Tip: Ask if the Queen/King is a real one or a compromise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruiser56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bruiser56,

thank you for taking the time to share your review. The experience you described is not characteristic of the value we use to share and we are sorry for that. Your feedback was shared with our team and we look forward the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    691
    699
    406
    318
See reviews for
370
664
119
970
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel advertises itself as being next to arc de triomphe but in fact is directly connected to the convention center 10 minutes away. I stayed there in September 2013 and paid a small fortune for a horrible room (with a nice view though). Will never go here again ... If it would have been a one or two star hotel at a 10th of the price it would have been ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markuslinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear markuslinke,


Thank you for your comments. Our pricing is comparable to other four star hotels in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. But clearly this was not your experience and for that I am truly sorry.
I have shared your comments with my management team for review.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Advantages: Very good location and good quality of breakfast food.

Disadvantages: That is not 4 star hotel!
1. Very small, old fashion and poor standard rooms - totally misunderstanding!
2. The equipment ( hairdryer and ironing device) was broken down and the staff couldnt say even - "I'm sorry" or maybe "what can I hal you"
3. The staff was assuming, especially the concierges and outdor boys
4. The restaurant is serving food on a the very limited level, for ex. pomes the same like in Mc Donalds. I could recomend the Cesar salad and the only that.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay extra for the apartament what could be a litle better is better to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdalenaLiberda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear MagdalenaLiberda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I do apologize that we did not live up the usual excellent standards we use for our costumers. We will make sure this will not happen again.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is excellent with closeness to the Metro. Rooms are quiet and comfortable but not always well kept. Large facilities take care of big conference groups. Tall building means lifts can be busy.

Room Tip: 18. Floor was quiet, but lifts can be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Svein A

Thank you for your comments. The Hotel is just near the Palais des Congrés, the famous business center of Paris. Hope that you had time to take a drink at Bar La Vue, it's the best place to enjoy the view.

See you soon
Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights . the hotel location is exceptional , there is an excess to the metro and there is also an air france bus just near the hotel reaching CDG airport directly. the famous Champs Elysées is not far and can be reached by just 2 stops . all the rooms have good views ,some facing tour eiffel and the others have city views . the lobby is huge and the check in and out was done smoothly . the only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the room , it was a very big shock to me . I felt I'm entering a 2 star hotel . the furniture was so old fashioned and it is the same from the late seventies ,the carpet was the dirtiest rug I've ever seen . but to be fair the AC was cool and the bathroom was OK. I asked the receptionist during the check out whether they have better room furniture and she said that I should have booked a renovated room and that what I'm going to do next time .

Room Tip: try to get a deluxe renovated room in order to enjoy your stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mona,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. The champs Elysees is indeed just near the hotel and is the place to be to eat traditionnal dishes and enjoy shopping!
For your information, now re-branded as Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, we will begin rejuvenating this classic property in order to provide our unique Hyatt guest experience.
The project will include a renovation of the hotel’s guestrooms and refurbishment of its public areas. It will start the beginning of next year.

See you soon with us,
Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling to a lot of countries over the years and I ve stayed in a lot of hotels. When I was paying less then usual I was expecting bad conditions but never payed for a room £450 euros per night to get it with walls written all over, scratched furniture, no heating system working except for the cold one, in September where 12*C outside. Anyways I found out about french style of being very superficial when it comes to hosting in a 5* hotel now. So unfortunately , this holiday was not a good one due to the poor treatment and bad conditions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Georgiana H

Thank you for your return. We apologize that your stay was disappointing. For your information, now re-branded Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, we are going to renovate the hotel, the beginning of next year including the rooms and the public areas.

Hope to see you soon with us
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June 2013. We had 2 rooms. This has been recently taken over by Hyatt (was earlier called Concorde). We had asked for adjoining rooms. We were given a room with an adjoining annex, where a sofa cum bed was converted to a very tiny bed. we had asked for 2 separate beds, since we have 2 teenage girls. "Sorry, we are full. Next day maybe possible". We said forget adjoining rooms. no go again. So, in a tired condition we managed the first night. It was not pleasant, and the room was very shabby. We were told the hotel is upgrading. It did not say so on the website, nor any special rate was given for staying in sub standard rooms. Incidentally, I was attending a conference organised by our group in the hotel itself, and we were more than a few staying there.we were shifted the next day as we did not relent. But the worst was yet to come. While checking out, we had a very shocking experience at the front desk with a young lady, whose name I withhold in a public platform. it was marginally short of being racist. This was witnessed by her immediate senior, who was herself shocked. We did not shout back, but instead wrote to the manager, Mr Manceaux, giving all details and demanding clear visible action. We had specifically said that our self respect was in question here. I got a very polite and nice letter stating that things were little off as management had just changed. I was told that 10000 points were being added to my gold passport and rest of usual "calming" talk. But no action was mentioned or seemingly taken. I now am aware how much our Indian self respect was valued at by Hyatt. 10000 points! Thank you Hyatt, but no thank you!!

Room Tip: lower floors have been renovated and are much better. the renovation is moving from down to up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Regency_Paris, Responsable relations clients at Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ajay

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We really wanted to apologize for this incident. The Director of Accommodation, Mister Benoit Manceaux has indeed read your complaint and the measures were taken.

Hoping to once again regain your confidence

sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Meridien Etoile
#648 of 1,802 in Paris
503 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#279 of 1,802 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#224 of 1,802 in Paris
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Hotel L'Adresse Paris
#1,228 of 1,802 in Paris
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile

Property: Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile
Address: 3 Place du General Koenig, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#484 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile, formerly the renowned Hotel Concorde La Fayette, stands as one of the most impressive properties in the city, just minutes from both the Arc de Triomphe and the world-famous Champs Elysees, and within easy reach of the impressive La Defense complex. Offering so much more than a great location in this cosmopolitan city, our 34-storey hotel offers truly unique views over Paris from its 950 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde La Fayette Hotel
Concorde La Fayette Paris
Concorde Lafayette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing