We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and in a great spot.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Standard Design

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Standard Design
Ranked #504 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and in a great spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our first visit to Paris and this was for our anniversary and wanted to do the full tourist thing and needed a hotel fairly central and not too expensive and the Design hotel fitted the bill. We chose it from an on line provider. The location is very close to Place De La Bastille and the Metro which we did not use preferring to go on foot/river boat. The hotel is surrounded by lots of excellent bars, cafe's and restaurants, all very busy in the evenings which made the whole area very vibrant but it was not noisy and our sleep was not disturbed by late night revealers. The only real noise was from within the hotel as it appeared to us that some guests simply do not understand the need for 'quiet' after hours and this included a French couple who arrived in the small hours and had a blinding row for about an hour which we could all hear ! The only other noise complaint was the fire alarm going off one morning at 5am but how can you complain about safety. We were given a 1st floor double en-suite which was perfectly adequate for our needs as all we needed was a place to rest and shower. Safe in the room and it was cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. 24 hr reception with Wi Fi if needed or free use of the reception computer for the internet. There is breakfast, Continental for about 13 Euro's per head but we preferred to use a local cafe bar which provided things like scramble eggs, salmon, salad, bread, lovely coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice with a wide range of English & Continental breakfast from friendly waiters. There is a shuttle service which we booked on line for 18 Euro's each, each way, which failed to turn up at CDG airport so in desperation we ended up being ripped off by a private hire taxi however, our return to the airport was with a private hire local cab at 45 Euro's which was fair considering the distance. Cab's to the Champs Elysees in the evening is about 20 Euro's which is fair but having said that we got a cab back and it was only 11 Euro's so a bit of a lottery. You can easily walk to the Seine from the hotel down various roads and then pick up the Batobus which takes you from the Hotel De Ville where we picked it up and then to the Louvre, Champs-Elysees, Eiffel Tower, Musee D'Orsay, Sain-Germain-Des-Pres, Notre Dame and finally Jardin Des Plantes before returning to the Hotel De Ville, for 15 Euro's a day per person you can jump on and off at will until 7pm. A great service. You can walk to the Champs Elysees if your feeling energetic and we did doing a big loop back around to the Bastille taking all day but well worth it. Anyway, we would stay again as we enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and the vibrant location. Watch out for the vagrants which abound in the area but were no trouble for us, all of Paris has this problem so its not just around the Design hotel. Finally, if you like horses, take a walk down King Henry IV st at around 9.30/10am, you will find half way down on your left, the Police Mounted Branch Accedamy and we were lucky enough to see the Officers exercising their beautiful horses to the music of their band, you can walk in and stand and watch, there is also a small museum there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannerman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, General Manager at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your so nice comment about Standard Hotel.

We thank you also for your understanding about the fire alarm at 5 a.m. due to some work from the bar next door, we can understand it was a cause for concern and a big inconvenience.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon and have the chance to make your next stay better than this one.

Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    264
    89
    28
    17
See reviews for
72
251
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel wasin a great position walking distance to Bastile metro and many otherattractionsinclusing the Seine River. Rooms were very large, but bathrooms tiny. Free wifi. Lift only goes up to 3rd floor (and is very small) and breakfast is on 4th floor. Breakfast very good with range of bread and pastries, cheeses, ham, tea coffee, cereals, as well as boil you own egg.

Windows open but noise from street a bit loud first night, so used air con instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about our services.

Your satisfaction is always very important to us and your comments are very helpful in order to improve our services. Bastille is a very lively area so it's some noisy what could be sometimes an inconvenient.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon to Standard Hotel .

Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm not sure what this building was originally but it certainly was not a hotel. We went on a deal and were prepared for just about anything. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was large for Paris, and the black and white theme was carried throughout the hotel. Stairs and halls all carpeted in black, including the room. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the showeroom very up to date and there was a flat screen tv together with free wifi.

An oddity was breakfast being served on the top floor, within the attic. It was self service, not outstanding in any way but adequate.

Finally a word about the location. It's in the Bastille quarter which is VERY French. There are few tourists yet it's only a five minute walk to the Metro which takes one cheaply anywhere in the city. The pavements abound with cafes and the hotel itself sits atop of one such cafe. Our room was directly over the bar area which did create a noise problem on the Saturday night. However on other nights all noise ceased at midnight and we were often only just in ourselves so it wasn't a problem.

I would say this is an adult only hotel, I can't really see children fitting in here. If you are looking for a reasonably priced Paris hotel in a mainly French area, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxurylover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about our services.

Your satisfaction is always very important to us and your comments are very helpful in order to improve our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon to Standard Hotel .

Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a deal and so didnt "choose" this hotel so to speak. Having read a few reviews on here after booking, we were a little bit worried - as we read about noisy hotels with tiny rooms. So I did contact the hotel prior to arrival and requested that we have a larger room on a higher floor. This we got - but the room wasn't huge. It was fine for what we were after - just sleeping as we were out and about during the day and evenings. It was clean and tidy. The walls ARE thin and you can hear people in the corridoors however we were lucky and no-one was overly loud. There is another thing. A church. Right next door. Now if you dont like wake up calls at 8am then I wouldnt recommend staying here because we had bells waking us up in the mornings - they werent your usual hourly ;bongs' - more like hourly, plus various jingles which went on and on and on. A bit annoying but then again we were fine with early mornings as we were only there for a couple of days. But if you love your sleep then I'd avoid staying here.

Location wise it's perfect. A 2 min walk to Bastille Metro which takes you direct to Louvre and Champs Elysees - very easy to use and very convenient. Also plenty of cafes, bistros and bars surrounding the hotel.

We checked out at 12pm and needed somewhere to store our bags for a couple of hours before our train home. Unfortunately the hotel doesnt have a lockable room and so luggage has to be kept out in the lobby/reception area next to the toilets. In my mind it'd be easy for anyone to walk in, take a bag into the toilet and have a good rummage around. We said we werent happy with this and left our two small bags behind reception. Would be nice if the hotel could arrange for bags to be kept somewhere safer.

I dont think we'd stay at this hotel again but the time we did spend here was fine. Not amazing. But ok.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor - and take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about our services.

We are sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Your satisfaction is always important to us and your comments are very helpful to improve our services. We are planning to solve the problem of the storage of the luggages but , as you can imagine, we won't be able to do anything about the church.

If you change your mind, we would be very happy to welcome you back in Standard Hotel.

Best regards,

Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in the standard design hotel for 1 night while in Paris celebrating my birthday.

The location is good, only being a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro station and the Marais area area the hotel has an infinite number of restaurants and bars to enjoy. You can also walk to the centre of Paris in 30/40 minutes if you have more time to spare.

Our room was small, but well designed and had all that we needed, it wasn't somewhere you'd want to spend a day hanging out in as it was quite cramped with 2 people, but for our needs it was fine. The shower was powerful and the bed was comfortable and clean.

Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but found a lovely patisserie on the walk to the metro which we each had 2 pastries and a coffee for 5 Euro.

There was a good restaurant 1 minute from the hotel which served chinese food which you picked the ingredients yourself, which was a quick and cheap option when we were desperate for food!

Would recommend as a reasonably price option as a base for exploring Paris by foot and public transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I went to Paris for 10 days and we stayed at the Standard Design the whole time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but we were out most of the day so all we really needed was a bed and a bathroom. We were on the third floor so maybe the noise was blocked from us some, but we did not have a problem with noise from the street or the restaurant down below. Having been to Paris before we loved the Bastille neighborhood and chose to stay there again. Yes, there were a lot of homeless on the street walking from the metro to the hotel, but we saw that all over the whole city. We came and went all hours of the day and night and I never felt uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and if I am lucky enough to get back to Paris I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your so nice comment about Standard Hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Centrally located hotel in the heart of the bustling Bastille. Outside of the building was a little disappointing although some renovation work was taking place on the premises below my room whilst I was there. Very pleasant staff with good command of English language. Room was spotlessly clean, and although fairly small, (even by Paris standards) it was however adequate, met most requirements and was very competitively priced. Was not usually serviced until late afternoon. The wardrobe was a shelved area in an alcove. On arrival, there were no coathangers on the rails and there was no remote control for the TV. However on requesting these from Reception , they were promptly delivered. Only downside was that website advertised individual room safes. My room had none, but when I enquired I was told they were only in double rooms and i had booked a single and there was not a safe deposit box at Reception where I could leave valuables. (I suggested this should be made clear on the website). I therefore had to keep them in my locked suitcase, which was not ideal. I did not take breakfast at the hotel as it was fairly expensive and there are a few cafes nearby providing a breakfast for half the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quiter whereas the front and side lead on to streets around Basti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernlad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flopyk, Directeur général at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about our services.

We are sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Safety boxes are now in single rooms.

Your satisfaction is always important for us and your comments are very helpful in order to improve our services.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Standard Hotel to have the opportunity to offer a better stay .

Best regards,

Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#817 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#356 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#103 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Opera / Bourse
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
#574 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Standard Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Standard Design

Property: Hotel Standard Design
Address: 29 rue des Taillandiers, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#640 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Standard Design 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Standard Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standard Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing