We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
127
229
91
31
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
229
91
31
34
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 512 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

We booked a 4 night stay which was almost 600 euros,
We paid online and as usual the money was debited from our account at the moment we arrived in Paris.
The manager was a mature man who told us we had to pay again because the transaction didn’t go through and his excuse was that he ‘cancelled our transaction’.
Well, it was very strange. However we had to pay again which was very infuriating.

When we got to the room we decided to check our bank statement as we knew the manager was strange and we found out that he had charged us twice.
We go down and tell the manager that he had charged us twice.
He get very angry and said that he refunded but obviously he did not.
As far as I know you can’t refund. Surely this matter should be taken into consideration straight away and refund the money if a mistake has happened.

He told us abruptly that he is the manger here and ‘I know what I am doing and is not my problem if you bank did not give you the money’.

Any way, We had to call the bank and explain to them what has happened and they resolved the problem instantly. (Surely a hotel should resolve a problem. My wife and I wanted to enjoy our stay, we were on our honeymoon!).

I am sorry dear manager it is your problem.
because you charge us twice and we are your guest and as guest we deserve respect and you as a manager should find out first with the account department if the transaction when through or not and come back to us in a polite manner and everything would have been resolved.
Your hospitality is terrible and your attitude was worst than the lowest rank in the hotel administration.

In terms of the interior of the hotel, it is too old it and it definitely needs renovating. The money value is not there. The bed was old and had bed bugs!! It was our honeymoon! This made us both feel so uncomfortable! The Bathroom was dirty and awful!
No mini bar too! We couldn’t order a beer or glass of wine!!

Dear manager focus on the hotel staff and increase revenue to your share holders and treat your guest with respect as remember every euro that your guest bring to your hotel pay your salary.

Thanks and regards
David

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 287jesusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mourad k, Directeur général at Hotel Prince Albert Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing back to us. We just wanted to clarify something, that whenever we receive a booking, we automatically check the validity of the credit card. Many people do a virtual booking with an invalid credit card and never show up. Checking the credit card may lead to blocking the amount on your account, for sure it's not a charge, it's just a pre-authorisation and we cannot refund this amount blocked since we never charged it. We can though, unblock/ release back that amount on your bank account. and that's what my colleague did.
Our sole puropse is to satisfy our guests and let their Paris experience be memorable and really enjoyable. In no way we charge our guests twice and if we know that we did a mistake, we simply reimburse the guests.
Please accept our sincere apologies if the inconvenience wasn't solved properly or at least the explanation wasn't enough and didn't satisfy you.
We were pleased, though receiving you in our hotel and hope to see you again soon between us.
Book directly with us next time and we'll offer you the best booking options.

Best Regards,
Hajer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Prince Albert is always our hotel of choice when in Paris. The hotel and neighborhood are part of our enjoyment. We have stayed 10 times for at least a week each time, September being our most recent visit. We have never had one disappointment. The staff is now like our family. Very helpful, kind and fun! The location is perfect in all ways. The hotel is always clean, in good condition and has all we need to be comfortable. What more can be said? We love the Prince Albert and its wonderful staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe and Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mourad k, Responsable réception at Hotel Prince Albert Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear Escape
All the staff is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
We hope to see you soon

With our warmest regards

Mourad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This was my third time to Paris and this cute little hotel fit all the criteria I was looking for in a hotel. It was an easy walk to the Louvre and the Metro. It had classic skeleton key on a tassle key! The door to the room was a bit thin and takes a jiggle to get the door unlocked. It does lock automatically. My mom left her sweater in the armoire when we left for London, so make sure you check everything before leaving!
The bathroom was about the size I was expecting but it was updated and had a soaking tub! It was a little odd to step from a classic French hotel to super sleek modern bathroom, but that tub was a great thing to sink into after walking all day around the city.
The elevator was a tight fit for one person and one suitcase. Beware the elevator as my mom got stuck twice in it.
Housekeeping was great. The staff were amazing and so helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank inthepursuitofbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mourad k, Directeur général at Hotel Prince Albert Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Sir/ Madam,

We are so glad reading from you. Thank you for your precious feedback.
We were pleased receiving you in our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Paris is known to be expensive and especially staying in the 1st arrondissement. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of our room but we did get upgraded accidentally after a muck up of being assigned a twin room at a late hour. Rooms as other reviews pointed out are old but clean and can do with a facelift but we had a new bathroom. There’s a supermarket and launderette round the corner from the hotel and surrounded by plenty of eateries and bars. The best thing is the location- walking distance to Tuileries station, Musée d’Orsay, Louvre, Musée l’Orangerie, Palais Garner and Lafayette. This hotel is an excellent option and value for this compared to other hotels around the same district. The manager also helped us break a 500Euro to small change. All staff were friendly and helpful to us during our week stay there.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Summerkisses2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mourad k, Directeur général at Hotel Prince Albert Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for sharing your precious feedback with us. It was a great pleasure receiving you too in our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

I found the hotel staff v helpful and friendly
The location was excellent, vv close to tuileries gardens, musee d’orsay and louvre.
My single room quite small and the air con didnt work and it was 29 degreesbut luckily with window open and breeze it was fine
The bathroom tiny for australian standards but nice and also v clean
As solo traveller great bc many cafes v close too
I guess i’m just used to bigger rooms
The staff couldnt have been more helpful mostly

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank janemX9660HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mourad k, Directeur général at Hotel Prince Albert Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018


Dear Sir/ Madam,

We were pleased reading feedback from you. we totally agree that the hotel is in an unbeatable location and that the single rooms are small but that's the standard size for most single rooms in central Paris hotels. All Prince Albert staff hopes you got back safely home and wishes to see you again soon in the hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Hajer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews