We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Choice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mary's Republique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mary's Republique to your Saves list
Hotel Mary's Republique
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,284 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Choice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Do not, I repeat DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. First off they tried to scam us into staying at the "other" Mary's Hotel which is worse than this one. Then they would not let us get any phone calls from my son or daughter in law who live in France, the front desk man was quite interested in the fact that my daughter in law is a French citizen. Even though she had called to check on us, they never gave us the message. A mouse jumped out at me from the bed. We spent a wonderful evening in Paris and when we returned to our room about midnight, I could not sleep and when I got up we found bedbugs, not a few...........a swarm! The night deskman insisted they were not bedbugs, I have photos to prove it. We had to leave in the middle of the night and take an early train to my son's wedding in Tours instead of spending the next day in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    162
    114
    57
    59
See reviews for
94
134
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's not a great hotel, as you might imagine by its prices. But it's still beter than a hostel!

I stayed there with a group of friends, we booked a 4-bed Room and a Triple Room. It's a 1/2 star hotel, with a small but clean private bathroom, TV with plenty of channels, etc etc. The rooms aren't big but are not really small too. They'd clean it daily but my friends complained they weren't cleaning it really well. The building was a bit old but the rooms were warm (sometimes a bit too hot!).

The staff was kind and cool, and they let us warm up some food in a microwave. Good if you're on a budget and want to save for museums and stuff.

Location was perfect, near Republique. There's a metro station right next to the hotel, and many restaurants and shops around.

Good if you're with friends, don't want to spend a lot of money, and if don't like shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axadrezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at Mary's Hotel in September and I found the staff and Management very friendly and professional and I would recommend the hotel to anybody..The Location of hotel is excellent,as you are only ten minutes from Guarde De Norde and Bastille...Also there is an amazing cafe/bar just a stone's throw from the hotel and they serve excellent food at an amazing price...I have no problems about staying at Mary's Hotel in the future,as for an inexpensive place to stay in Paris it is hard to beat....:))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I previously wrote a glowing review of this hotel but deleted it due to the extensive amount of bedbug bites all over my body that appeared a week after staying there. My body has been seriously feasted on, so this hotel must have a serious issue with them.

If you aren't allergic to bedbug's and they don't bother you then by all means stay at this hotel. If, like me, you end up covered in red itchy lumps, do not!

30 + bedbug bites and counting...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrawntobeWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here in October for 1 night.
Cheap and cheerful. The room was clean, if not a little pokey. But you get what you pay for. Staff were very accomodating and friendly. They looked after our luggage for us as our room wasn't ready when we arrived. Beware if there are 2 of you staying in a room it definately feels like you are on top of each other, but not bad for 1 night. The rooms are very thin and noise goes on all night, so I would recommend ear plugs!
All in all it was ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naybcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked a single room online with discounted price of 53 Euro for a day. The hotel is few metres away from Oberkampf metro line no. 5 from Gare Du Nord a major network station. They keep the luggage for the day but allow check in at 2-3 PM. I arrived early in the day and after keeping luggage went out to Republique 5 min or 1 km away. Had good breakfast at McDonald. Then tried to see L open Tour Green buses. After trying for one hour I realised these buses have stops near some of the major bus stops. I got a bus at 9.30 and took me to station 1 where you get another circuit (34 Euro for 2 days fo 4 circuits; they stop at 6 pm SO BEWARE). I went to see Eiffiel Tower. After waiting for 1 hr I went up and took great pictures. Came back to hotel and then went again. Came back 7.30 PM and slept whole night. No bugs, beds very soft 8 inches perhaps. TV in room. Toilet small but clean. Next day I went to other circuit near Gare Australitz and Gare Lyon. I saw the places in bus and came back. I packed the things in morning and things were there, they cleaned the room and did not disturb my packs which were almost open. But this is bad they should not clean wile persons have not checked out. The hotel was full. They give internet but in lobby. In room its not accessible.
Overall- highly recommedned for short stay - absolutely no problem

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are better A/c was not working but maybe not required. Book early for single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have had some last minute unexpected requests and the hotel staff handled it perfectly and helped us a lot. Very close to the metro stop, has places for food and drinks around. The room was bright, ok with space for 5 people. Very good for cheaper weekend with group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#697 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#681 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
#1,013 of 1,811 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,443 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Saint Martin Bastille
République
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Hotel des Arts Bastille
#1,205 of 1,811 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary's Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary's Republique

Property: Hotel Mary's Republique
Address: 15, Rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,284 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary's Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mary's Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marys Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing