We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Get what you pay for.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mary's Republique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mary's Republique
Ranked #1,285 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here in October for 1 night.
Cheap and cheerful. The room was clean, if not a little pokey. But you get what you pay for. Staff were very accomodating and friendly. They looked after our luggage for us as our room wasn't ready when we arrived. Beware if there are 2 of you staying in a room it definately feels like you are on top of each other, but not bad for 1 night. The rooms are very thin and noise goes on all night, so I would recommend ear plugs!
All in all it was ok!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naybcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    168
    119
    61
    59
See reviews for
99
138
54
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked a single room online with discounted price of 53 Euro for a day. The hotel is few metres away from Oberkampf metro line no. 5 from Gare Du Nord a major network station. They keep the luggage for the day but allow check in at 2-3 PM. I arrived early in the day and after keeping luggage went out to Republique 5 min or 1 km away. Had good breakfast at McDonald. Then tried to see L open Tour Green buses. After trying for one hour I realised these buses have stops near some of the major bus stops. I got a bus at 9.30 and took me to station 1 where you get another circuit (34 Euro for 2 days fo 4 circuits; they stop at 6 pm SO BEWARE). I went to see Eiffiel Tower. After waiting for 1 hr I went up and took great pictures. Came back to hotel and then went again. Came back 7.30 PM and slept whole night. No bugs, beds very soft 8 inches perhaps. TV in room. Toilet small but clean. Next day I went to other circuit near Gare Australitz and Gare Lyon. I saw the places in bus and came back. I packed the things in morning and things were there, they cleaned the room and did not disturb my packs which were almost open. But this is bad they should not clean wile persons have not checked out. The hotel was full. They give internet but in lobby. In room its not accessible.
Overall- highly recommedned for short stay - absolutely no problem

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are better A/c was not working but maybe not required. Book early for single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have had some last minute unexpected requests and the hotel staff handled it perfectly and helped us a lot. Very close to the metro stop, has places for food and drinks around. The room was bright, ok with space for 5 people. Very good for cheaper weekend with group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The most amasing hotel staff i've met! Hillarious Paul from the reception and the lovely owner Muhhamed! I've worked in hotels and resorts and i've stayed in 4-5* ones as well in small budget ones around the world and i can say for sure i will never forget them nor the hospitality they provide! Good english and spanish speekers in the reception, lovely room with big windows which they gave me out of their own reserves with a discount on arrival just because i was foolish enough not to check that there's two Mary's hotels in Paris which btw have nothing to do with one another apart from the name! They did everything that's possible to make me feel better and to resolve the mess i created. Im not gonna talk about any tiny flaws that every place has just because its not worth it, the whole experience is and i had an amazing one! I never, NEVER write reviews cause i find it waste of time but Cheering for those amazing people there is not! Im happy to have such an amazing memorie from Paris and from their hotel and when ever i would go back there i wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli7651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Horrible!! first they almost cancelled, by sending us an email in the middle of the night before our arrival, saying they made a mistake and that they won't have room for us then after they solved the problem, we went out and came back at night to find a matress full of bedbugs... spent the night on a chair. we left at 4am...They still charged us for the breakfast even if we didn't take it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decided on a last minute weekend break to Paris. And this hotel offered a pretty good rate, considering it was last minute & the location is quite good. It is located at Oberkamapf which is a good base actually. You can navigate around on the metro very easily from there.

So the good thing is it was cheap for Paris. However, that's about it for the positives.

The staff didn't speak English, the room was tiny (which is ok, normal for paris), but the bed was badly made, the sheets were old, one of the towels they gave us had a hole in it. The toiletries provided were below par, for example soap was provided in a hand dispenser like you find in public toilets. That was all there was too - no shampoo.

All of this I can live with because as I say, it was a cheap price in a good location.

However, when you do a city break you want to have a good night's sleep. I didn't get that once over 3 nights. Firstly our bed, was two single beds pushed together. It didn't work at all. Secondly the hotel was the noisiest I have ever stayed in. Hardly slept over the three nights. TVs audible from down the corridor, voices from other rooms, doors banging etc.

On the Saturday morning I complained to the guy at reception, who did not want to know. Instead he called over another guest who was responsible for a group of school kids from Nigeria. She apologised profusely. But it was strange, a guest apologising to another guest and the hotel representative just washing their hands of it. There is a chance we got a particularly bad experience with all the kids staying there, but honestly the acoustics of the hotel make it a noisy, unsleepable place for a light sleeper.

Lift didn't work after something like 9pm. Ridiculous!

On a city break, a good night's sleep is more important in my opinion than other things like getting hole-less towels etc. I don't think you will get it in this place. I will avoid next time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geilstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was staying in Paris on a tight budget for 2 nights, this hotel was a good location, close enough to everywhere I needed to visit/wanted to visit and a safe location. The staff were very helpful considering I arrived early for check in and needed a area to not only store my luggage but also work! - they accomodated me and also helped me alot during my stay!
The 'hotel' is more like a budget hotel/hostel but it was fine for what I needed, a cheap, safe but clean stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
#1,063 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1,046 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,539 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,408 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,385 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Metallos
Hotel des Metallos
#902 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary's Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary's Republique

Property: Hotel Mary's Republique
Address: 15 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,285 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary's Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mary's Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marys Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing