We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BED BUGS!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mary's Republique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mary's Republique
Ranked #1,289 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Horrible!! first they almost cancelled, by sending us an email in the middle of the night before our arrival, saying they made a mistake and that they won't have room for us then after they solved the problem, we went out and came back at night to find a matress full of bedbugs... spent the night on a chair. we left at 4am...They still charged us for the breakfast even if we didn't take it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    168
    119
    61
    59
See reviews for
99
138
54
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decided on a last minute weekend break to Paris. And this hotel offered a pretty good rate, considering it was last minute & the location is quite good. It is located at Oberkamapf which is a good base actually. You can navigate around on the metro very easily from there.

So the good thing is it was cheap for Paris. However, that's about it for the positives.

The staff didn't speak English, the room was tiny (which is ok, normal for paris), but the bed was badly made, the sheets were old, one of the towels they gave us had a hole in it. The toiletries provided were below par, for example soap was provided in a hand dispenser like you find in public toilets. That was all there was too - no shampoo.

All of this I can live with because as I say, it was a cheap price in a good location.

However, when you do a city break you want to have a good night's sleep. I didn't get that once over 3 nights. Firstly our bed, was two single beds pushed together. It didn't work at all. Secondly the hotel was the noisiest I have ever stayed in. Hardly slept over the three nights. TVs audible from down the corridor, voices from other rooms, doors banging etc.

On the Saturday morning I complained to the guy at reception, who did not want to know. Instead he called over another guest who was responsible for a group of school kids from Nigeria. She apologised profusely. But it was strange, a guest apologising to another guest and the hotel representative just washing their hands of it. There is a chance we got a particularly bad experience with all the kids staying there, but honestly the acoustics of the hotel make it a noisy, unsleepable place for a light sleeper.

Lift didn't work after something like 9pm. Ridiculous!

On a city break, a good night's sleep is more important in my opinion than other things like getting hole-less towels etc. I don't think you will get it in this place. I will avoid next time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geilstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was staying in Paris on a tight budget for 2 nights, this hotel was a good location, close enough to everywhere I needed to visit/wanted to visit and a safe location. The staff were very helpful considering I arrived early for check in and needed a area to not only store my luggage but also work! - they accomodated me and also helped me alot during my stay!
The 'hotel' is more like a budget hotel/hostel but it was fine for what I needed, a cheap, safe but clean stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel was dirty and things in the washroom fell apart. There were 3 of us and they gave us one small towel in total (to share?). There were stains and dust everywhere and we felt as though if we were going to be more dirty if we used the showers.

I would not recommend this place. You should probably pay the extra 10 euro somewhere else and get something clean.

Room Tip: I would avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a nice and affordable hotel in a great location in Paris - very nice neighborhood, close to sightseeing, cafes, restaurants, grocery stores, right by the metro.
The rooms are small and pretty dirty - stains on walls, furniture, dirt in corners, mold in the shower. The cleaners seem to be doing a very 'partial' job on cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a great budget hotel that was clean, accommodating, and closer to the city center than I expected. The area is nice, quite and charming. We stayed here while traveling through Europe. We normally stayed in Hostels, but this was decent enough price the split rooms for the 10 of us. We stayed in the two bed rooms that came with 1 queen and 1 single. The queen was big enough for two dudes to share no problem. The Bathrooms where clean as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaellcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good budget hotel for family. Clean rooms, ok beds, and bathrooms, friendly staff. I did not eat the breakfast, as there is an awesome pastry shop only a few yards away. Also Oberkamp station and Carrefore grocery store very close. Lift was broken so stair climb was long.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
#1,039 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1,047 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,531 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,407 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,390 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Metallos
Hotel des Metallos
#901 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary's Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary's Republique

Property: Hotel Mary's Republique
Address: 15 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,289 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary's Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mary's Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marys Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing