We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying by the canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin
Ranked #404 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
trowbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“staying by the canal”
Reviewed March 18, 2007

we stayed at the libertel canal saint martin for just 2 nights as we could only get a short leave from work, but we enjoyed it very much and will defintely return to this hotel in the future when we have more time. the hotel was pleasant, the staff did speak english so we had no problems with comunication. just beware if you havent paid for breakfast in with your booking, as they dont tell you its an extra charge, they just tell you where the breakfast room is and what time and then they charge you 8 euro, so seeing as there is a macdonalds directly opposite, we ate there, for 57p you can get an egg and bacon mcmuffin, (much better deal we thought)

the reception has a coffe machine which for a euro you get a really decent cup of coffee.
our room was directly on the street which we wanted so we could watch what was going on outside while we sat on our (very small window ledge) and sipped our coffee,
the metro stop is a small stroll on the corner and a big supermarket next door to hotel which sells everything.
we cant really fault this room or hotel. and we will return.

room was quiet, clean (small buy hey who needs more room)
and beds very comfy and clean.
bathroom had little bath so was lovely to just relax for a little bit at the end all the walking for the day.

all in all we had a fantastic time.
the canal just round the corner and the butts parc right at the end of the road is defently worth a visit, its free to get it and has so many interesting things to see. including the famour suicide bridge. very tall and elegant.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank shopgirl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    477
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
85
556
73
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

At the Libertel Canal Saint Martin we got what we paid for. The room was small, although there was not much storage space but lots of hanging space, and the shower door leaked, other than that the room was good.

The staff were all very friendly, and appreciated you when you tried to speak in french. The hotel only did breakfast which were good (continental) lots of choice but no cooked. No lunch or evening meals though.

The hotel was about 20 minutes walk from Gard-du-Nord and about 50 metres from the nearest metro station. We bought a 2 day (2 jours) Paris Visite ticket , 13.95 euros each, which you could use on metro, buses and RER trains in Zones 1-3. Ideal if you are staying for only a few days and need to use the public transport alot.

  • Liked — Staff are friendly
  • Disliked — No restaurant or bar
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weareallvampires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

stayed there rooms were poky unhelpful staff would not go back there again

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gx1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

i was looking forward to staying at this hotel having read the reviews on tripadvisor.

what i found was distinctly average. For a budget hotel this does exactly what it says on the tin - reasonable.

The room was clean but i have never stayed in a hotel with such a small bathroom. there was no room to move and the toilet was practically in the shower.

we had booked a twin room (for myself and my mother!) - however when we arrived we found a double bed (made from two single beds). when we asked to be moved, the receptionist told us to "pull the two beds apart" although there wasn't really enough room to.

The hotel was also advertised as Montmartre by our tour operator - it's not, it's in the North East, at least four metro stops away. very handy for the gare du nord though if u are taking the eurostar. in fact just far enough away from the (not very nice) gare du nord (!) but no more than a 5 or 10 minute metro ride.

but overall if u r looking for a cheap, clean option i would probably recommend it. i've not stayed in many hotels in paris (i used to live there) but if this is "good in comparison" i dread to think what the others are like!

breakfast was a help-yourself buffet of various pastries, yoghurts, cereals. nothing fancy..

it is very close to a monoprix and 2 seconds from the metro so u can't really complain that much!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

I visited Paris, with my partner & young daughter for three nights staying from the 21st December to the 24th December at the Libertel Canal Saint Martin hotel.

Living in Wanstead London but working often in areas such as Hackney, London my observation was that the area around Canal St-Martin was safe & experienced no problems. Having a young child (15 months) with us , and although we brought supplies with us, thoughts drift towards – where can we get nappies, wipes and so on if we need them ?

A few yards to the left there is a monoprix which is an average size UK supermarket Sainsbury’s. Also local there are Brasseries, & bakers. We used both the metro & buses to get around, but if we had stayed longer we would probably use the bus more. The metro was tricky at times even with a light pushchair. The pass through barriers (the insert ticket, take ticket, & barrier open ones) we found narrower than in the UK. When we found the wide access door points we couldn’t see any staff to let us through.

The number 26 bus stops just outside the hotel, and was about 15-20 minutes from Gare Du Nord.

Being a pest controller & Entomologist the first thing I look for in a hotel room is for Bed Bug infestation- that’s not dust mites but (Cimex lectularius). We stayed in room 1004 which was on the first floor. We encountered no current Bed Bug infestation. We were happy enough with the room size, heating, washing facilities. The room was at the rear & I found it pleasingly quiet.

Staffs were courteous and helpful. Continental breakfast was fine. One thing the hotel doesn’t have is a bar, but that’s no problem since there’s a brasserie just round the corner.

I would say it was good for a two star.


andy brookes BSc(Biol),FRES

  • Liked — the fact that we had no problems
  • Disliked — bar would have been useful
  • Tips/Secrets — take bus from Gare Du Nord, dont bother with taxi or metro.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank andybrookestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

The Hotel rooms are very similar to a Travel Inn, clean, compact but everything you need for a short stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The buffet breakfast was amazing there was such a large variety of food and pastries you were really spolt for choice.

On the map this place seems along way out of the centre but in reality it is very close and ideal for getting to all places of interest as there is 3 metro stops within a few minutes walking distance of the Hotel. Gard De Nord is only a couple of stops away, so journey to and from the airport is very easy.

We would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — It was clean & tidy
  • Disliked — The very tiny bath, but a shower is good anyway
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Finimore-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Terminus Orleans
#403 of 1,800 in Paris
619 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#420 of 1,800 in Paris
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home MODERNE
#276 of 1,800 in Paris
1,062 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#175 of 1,800 in Paris
1,256 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#219 of 1,800 in Paris
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Canal Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Property: Libertel Canal Saint-Martin
Address: 5 avenue Secretan, 75019 Paris, France (Formerly Libertel La Villette)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#363 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Canal Saint-Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's 69 rooms, entirely renovated and air-conditioned, are contained in 3 small typical Parisian buildings joined by a courtyard and a garden. The largest building has 38 rooms overlooking the main street. Some, named "Paris Comfort" offers a balcony with stunning views of the Butte Montmartre and the Sacre-Coeur. The 25 rooms of the second building, called "Privilege" as is peacefully located in the yard and garden. Warm tones married to white duvets give their charm and intimacy. The 6 remaining rooms, named "Villa Cosi", renovated in warm colors are located in a charming town house, surprisingly quiet for the middle of Paris. The approach of our architects was to rethink the rooms as comfortable cocoons using a rational and highly practical layout to make all the services immediately accessible along the walls. The choice of materials and subtly contemporary colours give a chic touch of elegance and design to the decor. The comfort and modernity are enhanced by the presence of large flat screen television with TNT and satellite, new bedding with quilt instead of the traditional bedspreads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libertel Canal Saint-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin Hotel Paris
Libertel Canal Saint Martin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing