We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin
Ranked #416 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rather average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Libertel Canal Saint-Martin for a couple of nights. The location is a bit out of the way but about 2 minutes from the Metro. Thus one can get to the main centers of Paris in about 20-25 minutes. I would be careful staying out too late since the metros shut down around 1 a.m. and getting a cab can take forever in Paris, especially if you are stranded in a metro area in the middle of nowhere.

We stayed in a double room which was smaller than the usual rooms, even for Paris. It was rather amusing that the bathroom was about the same size as the main room. :) The service is average. Overall, it wouldn't be my first choice for my next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita_Visvanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Anita_Visvanath,

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

We are sorry if the hotel Canal Saint Martin did not meet all your requierements.

For your next trip in Paris, we invite you to check our website to get informations about our four 3 stars hotel.

We hope that we can receive you again in our Libertel hotels for your next visit in Paris.

Best Regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal Saint Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    443
    154
    40
    33
See reviews for
79
517
65
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a couple of nights. The staff was friendly and helpful when it came down to directions and navigation. There's free wifi and the metro is walking distance which is a plus!! There's also a pretty cool bar around the corner if you would like to wrap up the night with a few drinks. Our room and bathroom was clean and tidy, but very small compared to what the pictures look like online. Either way, who stays in their hotel all day in Paris? not us -- we had a great time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahn-dees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear kahn-dees,

Thank you so much for this very positive feedback about our hotel.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the surroundings and Paris by night.

We are proud of our staff members who have made your stay special and was very helpful.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Libertel Canal St-Martin and do remain at your disposal.

Best Regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of Ocotber and after having searched for a room with as much space as possible, a good location etc I couldn't have been happier with our choice! At the time of booking we could upgrade our room to the Priviledge room for only 4 euros a night which seemed fair and resulted in us having a lovely big bright room - quite a surprise after pratically EVERY hotel review I had read about Paris! Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, wonderful new bathroom, good location as it's round the corner from the metro, great bakery and a supermarket next door - everything you could want, and at a good price! I would definately reccommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Definately request a room in the newly refurbished part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKelly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear RKelly09,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel. We are glad to have made you holiday special.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Libertel Canal Saint Martin for your next trip in Paris.

Best Regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Clean and well run .this hotel is a bit out of the way but the facilities are spacious and tasteful , the service is adequate but a bit limited ,( you couldn't get any wine glasses for the room )

Roberta & Keith

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Roberta T,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We have taken account of your comment about the service. We are sorry about the inconvenience and we are going to work on it.

However, we are glad to see that our facilities and the room pleased you.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Canal St-Martin and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The first thing that struck me about this hotel on arrival was how nice the foyer was and how helpful the staff were.

The second thing that struck me was the size of the room! Very small and really quite dated. We did, and still do, expect that we were just unlucky, being given a ground floor room in a corner of the courtyard. Looking at other travellers' photos, we look to have just been landed with a poor room. We asked if there was any room higher up in the hope of a nicer setting, however were told we'd have to come back the day after before 12:00, meaning if we could move we'd have to be back for midday. As we only had 2 days, we decided to make do.

On the whole the room was clean and the bed very comfortable but don't be expecting a romantic interlude! Just a basic, clean, safe place to sleep.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Ash7000,

First of all thank you very much to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are deeply sorry that you did not get a higher type of room as you have asked for, however we have to follow a strict policy in terms of reservation, that is why you had to come back at noon in case of a vacancy room due to overbook planning during the day. Otherwise, we could give you the room that you wanted to.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel Libertel Canal Saint Martin and we will make your stay unforgettable.

Best regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I only stayed at the Libertel St Martin for one night in September. Rooms are rather on the smaller size and so is the bathroom but they are neat, have double glazing and A/C which I really appreciated as it was exceptionnally hot The location is great, a minute away from the Metro station Jaures which is easyly accessible if travelling from/to Gare du Nord and the canal banks are very close too. The service was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spootnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Spootnik,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

Please accept our apologies if the size of the rooms did not meet your requierements but we have bigger rooms up to 3 adults.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Canal St-Martin and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Paris in mid August 2012. We had researched long and hard beforehand so we had a good idea of what we had booked. Upon arrival we were greeted by some of the best and most relaxed service while we were in Europe (from 1 young man in particular, quite the comedian!). The room was clean and quite small (but we knew this before arrival) but the bathroom was very small. The decor was quite dated and not quite how the photos looked, but that's always the case. The only downer was the lack of an AC, which in mid August, was rough, but we did however have a fan. The location was great, literally next to the 'Juares' line. It's only a few stops from most things, or at most, only one change away. There are a few supermarkets close by for vital supplies, and lots of decent bars and restaurants round the corner. For what we paid, it was decent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mat M,

Thank you for your review about your experience in Paris.

We are really proud to see how much our staff have been so helpful and friendly with you.

We are sorry that the room you have choosen did not meet your requirements. However, we have other type of rooms which are bigger and newer that the one you had.

We hope to see you again in our hotel Libertel Canal Saint-Martin for your next trip in Paris.

Best regards,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Canal St-Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#391 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terminus Orleans
#464 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#463 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#608 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Canal Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Property: Libertel Canal Saint-Martin
Address: 5 avenue Secretan, 75019 Paris, France (Formerly Libertel La Villette)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#363 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Canal Saint-Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's 69 rooms, entirely renovated and air-conditioned, are contained in 3 small typical Parisian buildings joined by a courtyard and a garden. The largest building has 38 rooms overlooking the main street. Some, named "Paris Comfort" offers a balcony with stunning views of the Butte Montmartre and the Sacre-Coeur. The 25 rooms of the second building, called "Privilege" as is peacefully located in the yard and garden. Warm tones married to white duvets give their charm and intimacy. The 6 remaining rooms, named "Villa Cosi", renovated in warm colors are located in a charming town house, surprisingly quiet for the middle of Paris. The approach of our architects was to rethink the rooms as comfortable cocoons using a rational and highly practical layout to make all the services immediately accessible along the walls. The choice of materials and subtly contemporary colours give a chic touch of elegance and design to the decor. The comfort and modernity are enhanced by the presence of large flat screen television with TNT and satellite, new bedding with quilt instead of the traditional bedspreads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Libertel Canal Saint-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Canal Saint-Martin Hotel Paris
Libertel Canal Saint Martin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing