We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Place des Alpes
Ranked #1,198 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We found this through TripAdvisor reviews and it truly was a gem.

Cons: Small elevator (didn't really bother us) and thin walls (which we only noticed one night when we had a noisy neighbor).

Pros: Great off-season price, friendly staff (though I spoke French to them), location next door to an amazing patisserie and a block or two from a mall (with grocery store) and the metro, bathroom with the room (small but that's Europe), and the quaintest small balcony off our room.

We would stay here again. *Our trip was actually November a few years back. Always wanted to review them, so I hope this information is still helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ArtemisInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is near Place d'Italie, which is at the end of metro Line 5 - so it is easy to get to from Gare du Nord, if you come by Eurostar.

It isn't near tourist sites, but there are buses nearby. You can walk from here to rue Mouffetard, where there are lots of restaurants and a good buzz in the evening - it takes about 20 minutes.

The rooms are cheap for Paris - about 65€ - they are clean, but very small. The shower/loo is small too. Our room had a small double bed and a single bed - not much other space. It's good if you are planning to spend a lot of time out, but if you wanted to spend time in the hotel, there isn't much room to move.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel - we went to thenbig shopping centre on the place d'Italie, and had coffee and delicious tarts de framboises

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is a nice budget hotel in a non-touristic, nice residential neighborhood of Paris. The elevator is tiny (read: one passenger and one suitcase max), the bathroom and shower are just two remodeled cupboards, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, and the price was right for a budget hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a 2-star hotel, situated near la Place d'Italie, which is a loction with many transportation links, restaurants, a mall and easy to get to from the airport or city center.
Internet wireless is free and works very well, the staff is friendly, the room is cleaner than I expected.
The hotel is very small (as in the spaces within the hotel - elevator, lobbies, stairs, rooms, bathrooms...). So if you're feeling claustrophobic, think again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank etour2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not very well located, plus if this is your first time in Paris you will have to ride a lot the subway.

If you are looking to sightseeing the traditional Paris by only Walking outside the hotel you won't be able to make it if you stay here.

The rooms are extremely small... I won't stay here for a second night...

3  Thank Leopoldo R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wouldn't let me choose a later date, i stayed here in march 2012, it was awesome! Went to Paris with my mum for 4 days 3 nights, and this little hotel was perfect!
Right in the heart of the Italian quarter, friendly english speaking staff, great room. We were on the top floor, great views (slightly leeky shower) sprial staircase made me dissy but it was fun! there is a lift too but i would not advise this one for people with mobility difficulties. Perfect french breakfast. Everything you need really! Shops, patisseries, and cafes all around as well as a close shopping centre. Metro line very close just a quick walk away. If i go back this is where i'll stay again, great value, just all good!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was awesome, hardly noisy at all, great views, If you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located near Place d'Italie, this hotel is very clean and quiet for a reasonable price ( single room : 65 Euros ). Breakfast is simple but tasty, staff is ok. Inconvenience : rooms are small with a poor phonic isolation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Celosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#1,268 of 1,802 in Paris
40 reviews
Gobelins
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
République
Alfa Hotel Nation
Alfa Hotel Nation
#1,081 of 1,802 in Paris
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,474 of 1,802 in Paris
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place des Alpes

Address: 2 Place des Alpes | 13 Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,198 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $73 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Place des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Place des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing